DEK Photography: The Soul of the City - SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry #12steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago

Here are my three photos for this week's Steemit Photo Challenge, "The Soul of the City", kindly hosted by @jamtaylor!

A Dancing Girl at the Fountain.

DEK Photography: The Soul of the City - SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry #12
You can click for a bigger image! Don't worry, you won't get wet!

This particular photo was taken at sunset - I watched a small girl caught up in her lovely dance, in the middle of the fountains, soaking wet, not a care in the world! I couldn't resist capturing this moment - a much dreamer version of what little boys do when they spot a puddle! Originally in color.


Beyond Our Comfortable Bubble

I've shot this photo on election day, last year. Politicians were spending millions on advertising campaigns, apparently fighting over that all important and glorious 1000 Euro monthly paycheck. People knew they were corrupt and simply ignored them. They ignored their lies on TV, they ignored their smug faces plastered around town, they ignored them everywhere.

They also ignored this woman.

DEK Photography: The Soul of the City - SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry #12
You can click for a bigger image!

In fact, they tried particularly hard to ignore this old woman, because it was their ignorance that brought her to the streets. But she refused to be ignored. She was there, every day, talking to herself, sometimes shouting at them, reminding them of what they did by simply doing nothing.

So here she is. Back against that classy jewelry store, wearing all her clothes, holding tight to an umbrella.

Don't dare to ignore her.


The Christmas Wish

DEK Photography: The Soul of the City - SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry #12
You can click for a bigger image!

It was right before Christmas, 2015. I and my girlfriend were walking on the city's main street, when suddenly she pointed me in the general direction of some shop and told me "Shoot, fast!".

It was two Roma girls, sharing a man's jacket, trying to keep warm. They didn't seem to care about the cold, as they kept pointing at different jewelry and talking to each other quietly.

I wonder if they got their Christmas wish?


Follow my photography on #dek-photography! Filter by "new", or you will see only my trending photos!


Check out my latest articles:


I offer Professional Translation and Editing Services in exchange for Steem.

Sort:  

Oh my word, the Dancing Girl is amazing! What a moment to capture!

Thank you! I prefer the color version (linked in the post), but the competition rules require a black and white submission - seems to look cool this way too!

It really does! Very cool indeed

Thank you! :)

That first pic is insanely cool

It's a good catch, indeed, thanks! Did you see the color version? I've linked it in the article.

Great photos. :) Definitely have a soul to them.

If it's the soul of the city, then I may have a chance at winning the photo contest! :) Thanks for the nice comment, I really appreciate it when someone takes a minute to express how they feel about any of my photos!

I like "the Christmas wish" photo because it reminds me of my sister and I doing window shopping.

I should post the color version soon, thank you! :) Followed you, you seem to post some interesting articles - liked the koala and the kangaroo one!

Excellent entries dek, I really love the innocence and atmosphere of the first one, and the great moment you captured in the last. As for the middle, it is poignant and all too common, well stated.

Thank you - I always fancy a good comment and yours is quite profound!

Ah, it seems that the cool dog photo, sitting in front of the cafe, which I upvoted yesterday, was yours! Good work! Followed you!

Congrats on the win this week !

I didn't realize until I saw your reply here! Thank you! I really like your entry as well - congrats on the honorable mention! Cheers!

thanks dek for the upvote and follow

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Keep going... showing to people that the gear is not the most important thing in photography... I'm astonished what you realized with an i phone

Where did you read that I shot these with an iPhone? I've never actually owned one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59