DEK Photography: Into the VoidsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago

Remember the Cool Dude photo I posted yesterday (a.k.a. Picasso's double), which you liked so much? Here's the same alley, accepting an innocent lady in its dark embrace.

DEK Photography: The Tomcat
You can click for a bigger image! Go on, it's just infinite darkness!

Negative space is a powerful tool in a photographer's arsenal. It can create eye pleasing geometry, and if used properly, can also invoke feelings - joy, happiness or expectation and insecurity, the latter of which you see in this shot.

It's important to remember that a photograph is but a reflection of the viewer's mind. Where one may see fear, others find tranquility. And if you are a vampire, this photo simply reads "Food."


Follow more of my photography work on #dek-photography!


Check out my latest articles:


I offer Professional Translation and Editing Services in exchange for Steem.

Sort:  

Nice shot. I hope the cool dude didn't rob her of her purse.

I think the photo would be even stronger if you darkened the light parts in the top left-hand corner a bit. They distract a little.

Hah, an experienced photographer like yourself can always spot an edit! :) I do agree with your points, but I don't like over-touching what was already in the photo. The lower left corner was darker, so I darkened it a bit more. The wall was brighter, so I didn't darken it as much as the ground.

I've no idea why, but I don't like introducing things which were not originally in the photo. I suppose the journalist in me doesn't like bending the truth too much :)

For adding things, I like that way of thinking, but taking away something can add focus ("cut it off and burn the edges", a brutal criticism I once got on one of my photos). And sometimes, when you want to be a novelist rather than a journalist, it's OK to embellish the story a little. Or lie, as some would call it 8-).

I agree, that's what cropping is for! I'm talking about serious photo retouching. I should probably post a photo of mine tonite, to illustrate what I mean.

It's funny I notice the cats more than the woman... (I think that, and the fact I have several cats, I should now self-diagnose as a cat lady.) Very cool photo!

It's actually normal - they occupy the center of the photo and create a distraction. But they also add to the atmosphere of the photo, which I like.

Thanks for commenting! :)

I saw the cats first too, and the woman second. A good photographer can steer your eyes across a photo and predict where you will look first and end up looking at.

That's true. Given more time, I would have tried to isolate the cats a bit more with a wider aperture - although at this distance, I doubt it would've made much a difference, considering that the cats and the lady close to each other.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64778.13
ETH 2531.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68