Professional Translation and Editing ServicessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

There are too many posts with iffy, questionable or plain horrible English. This results in a poor Steemit experience for both readers and authors - the latter not receiving due attention (and payment) for their otherwise interesting articles.


Image property of its respective author.

I offer my professional services as a translator and editor, with nine years of experience. I can translate from both Bulgarian and Russian to English, and edit already translated articles in English.

My rates are 7 SBD for translation to English and 3.5 SBD for editing. Payment in STEEM is also possible. The rates are per 1800 symbols, including spaces - smaller articles will cost proportionally less. Express orders (same day) cost 1.5x more.

Payment will be conducted in advance.

You can contact me on [email protected]

Sort:  

Cool, are you a freelancer? I have been a freelance translator for the past 11 years. For the last four years I have been doing it full time. Are you on Steemit Chat?

Nope, not using the Steemit Chat. I've been translating for roughly 10 years myself, but not full time recently, as I have other projects I'm working on. I suppose you translate online - which service do you use?

Hi, yeah mostly online. I have done work for about 40 diff clients in total, but my main clients are Transperfect, Spotzer, Idioma, and Elanex. How about you?

Hey there @dek! You should jump in on the #steemgigs initiative and create a new post showcasing your services.

I'm currently compiling a list of translation gigs, and this one is perfect!

One other idea, seeing as you have a very unique email address there, you may be able to either sell it, or use it to create a community around translating content. Just an idea

Your ideas are quite good. Sadly, no one seems to care that their articles were not written in proper English, and even if they did, with a payout of only a couple of dollars per post (if they are lucky), they wouldn't be able to afford professional translation or editing.

Hopefully this might change I'm the future. Thanks for the comment!

I'd suggest duplicating this post in Russian. Some of your potential clients might not be able to read it ;)

Hah, thanks for the kind suggestion! I've already considered it, but there are two reasons why I haven't done so. My verbal and written Russian are not on a professional level, so I would be doing myself a disservice if I post this text in Russian. Also, as a personal preference, I find it more rewarding to work with clients, who have a basic understanding of English or Bulgarian, especially when translating literary works (journalistic articles, fiction, poems, etc.) - most of what we have here on Streemit.

As far as editing is concerned, I can work on any poorly translated article, regardless of the original language. I can always contact the original author if I have doubts about the intended meaning of his sentence.

This is awesome! Have you considered offering this service on Peerhub.com? You can offer it under the "services" tab and get paid in SD.

I have and I will, I'll probably do so tomorrow! Thanks for the kind comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66