WOW! I HAD NO IDEA~ WHY REAL SILVERWARE WAS USED BY MY GRANDMOTHER TO KEEP THE FAMILY SAFE!

in #advice7 years ago (edited)

Copy of holistic corner 10.jpg

Holistic Health Series #1 It was common knowledge 75 years ago that Real Silverware was used not only because it was pretty, but because it kept the family safe from illness. Silver is antibacterial and antiviral and is used in medical practice even today. Germs can not live on silver for more than about 30 seconds!

0114102146-00.jpg

So mom and the kids can relax, because they don't have to be great dishwashers to keep the family safe!
In fact, with daily use, I never have to polish my silver. The frequent use keeps it clean with no polishing! (Serving dishes that are not used very often would probably be a different story.)

Pictured above is my everyday silverware, no polishing required!...In fact, I noticed just yesterday, when I was lazy and soaked the dishes overnight, my silver was especially shiny!

So dust off grandma's silver or pick up various pieces at garage sales and auctions. That is what I did, to make my cool, mix match set!

Many more "Wow, I had no idea!" in the series to come!
Love and Peace,
Melissa

Sort:  

I can remember my mom getting out the GOOD silver for holidays - that silver is now in the hands of my daughter !! (along with the gorgeous box)

Great memories...thank you for sharing... I just love all of the homesteaders and sweet women and men I have connected with this week...:
blessings,
melissa

My old German Granny always used sterling silverware. She had two sets, everyday ware and the fancy stuff. I'm lucky enough to have some of her silver. It's been a while since I've eaten with it. I think I'll break it out and let it do its thing while reminding me of all her love.

That makes me so happy that I inspired use....yippee! Wow that swells my heart...thanks for sharing!
love and peace,
Melissa

Great advice @joearnold :) I will be taking a look around and starting my hunt for the real deal Silverware.

Thank you much. Upvoted & Resteemed.

Thank you for your support! It is fun information...my favorite.
Blessings,
Melissa

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @joearnold. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @joearnold to be original material and upvoted it!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks is doing? Give it an upvote!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Great Job on the logo ...Mama!

Thank you precious! Getting it up was not easy ...my image was way to large initially and I was struggling! But it is Up! YEAH!

This post has received a 71.43 % upvote from @minnowhelper thanks to: @joearnold. For more information, click here!

What neat information! I have a set of family heirloom silver but I might start looking at yard sales and thrift stores to get a set to use without worry!

Glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for the upvote! We have much in common it seems from your blog...following you now! Many blessing,
Melissa

I grew up eating of silver and was given by my godparents one piece for a set every birthday and Christmas. I didn't appreciate it as a kid. Now, as an adult and after understanding the health benefits of using silver as cutlery, I am sure glad I have my set!

Thank you for reading and commenting...it appears we have a great deal in common based on your blog introduction...I will be following you, have a great day!
Melissa

Thank you Melissa. I am following you as well. Yes, I do think we have a lot in common!! Down to the silverware

Silver.... the MOST under valued asset on the planet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99