[Blog #5] Bike Training | Morning routine, 30 km ride & Small Accident

in #adventure6 years ago

Hooray Readers! How are you? Passing by to update you on the day in a bike, 30 km and a small accident.



Before you ask yourself if I'm dead and writing from the outer space, I'd like to say that I'm perfect, despite the fright it was.

So... If you've read my last blog I wrote about my bike training to keep my strength to endure the next bike travels I'm planning. The training also acts as a boost to work and give classes during the day/night.

Yesterday was the day off, so I wanted to ride today. I woke up super motivated and energetic, opened the window to let that amazing early sun enter. Today it dawned beautifuly, despite the heavy rain the night before. Then I took that massive breakfast, equipped my helmet/gloves and off we go!

And the accident you bastard?

Well... my training is 80% covered by bicycle lane, which is great! Hats off to my city for thinking about the cyclists. The cars generaly respect us as well. And I'm usually very attentive to traffic.

How could I hurt myself then? I did it in the most stupid way ever.

Since it rained yesterday, parts of the bike lane were a little flooded. For the most part it was not a problem I could just use a small part of the car's lane to avoid the water and come back to my space, no problem.

At one specific part the water was covering both lanes, but on the right there was a fence with a lawn in front, in which I could pass with the bike, in between the fence and an inflatable banner.

- Great - I though. I was coming in hot after a small descend, so I made that quick decision to pass through the lawn when I felt something hitting my face and a *Slaaaaaaaash* sound afterwards.

- What the fuck? Was that a freakin' rope? - I thought. Adrenaline was flowing and at first I thought I had broken the rope with my helmet or something, but my nose was hurting and bleeding. I stopped by a drug store, bought first aid and fixed it.

I came back to the store, whose banner almost killed me, to explain what happened. The shop owner was really worried and apologized by the incident. Shit happens you know? I'm not in this world to pick up fights, even though I had all the reasons to be pissed off.

Now... What the F* happened? 

In order to make sure his inflatable banner would not roll with the wind, the shop owner tied a small rope from the banner to the fence, right in my nose's height, almost a killing trap for cyclists. He was innocent of course, his lawn is no place for bikes, but come on!

At the end nothing serious happened, fortunately the rope was thin enough for me to cut it, so I ended up with a cut in my nose. Imagine if it was a cable or a stronger rope? Or if it hits my neck?

From all the obvious ways to get hurt with a bike, I had to choose the most stupid one hahahahh

With my nose patched I caried on with my training, the Strava app is indeed addictive and I wanted to beat my time.


The result


Lesson for Today

  • Wear a helmet, wear a helmet and wear a god dammit helmet!
  • Wear gloves
  • Wear protective glasses (that rope could've hit my eyes if it wasn't by the glasses)
  • Be more attentive
  • Believe in conversation (I could go back there and destroy that damn banner, but for what?)

As for the Training

I did the same path, but with a better time. I've been told, Strava is addictive!


After what happened I'm serious thinking about riding with a GoPro. Not only to bring you with me on the small journeys and show the beauties of my city, but for safety reasons as well.

Always remember: Caution on the way!

~ Love ya all, Arthur.

Hope you've enjoyed reading this small venture, don't forget to comment! I love talking to you all.



I'm Arthur. I blog about Brazil, Adventure Stories, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tunned for more info and tips.

YOU MAY ALSO WANT TO READ:

Live Outdoors: 10 REASONS TO TRY STAND UP PADDLE

Live Outdoors: 3 ESSENTIAL ITEMS TO GO CAMPING

Live Outdoors: HOW TO CHOOSE A TENT FOR CAMPING

Live Outdoors: 3 TIPS TO BUY A SLEEPING BAG

TRAVEL: 5 REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD HITCHHIKE

TRAVEL: PROS AND CONS OF BICYCLE TOURING

TRAVEL: HEALTHY NUTRITION ON THE ROAD | BACKPACKERS - BIKE TOURING - WILDERNESS

[PART 1] Travel Story: Coast of Uruguay by Bicycle | Planning

Travel Story: Exploring an Abandoned Mine | The Guard

Travel Story: Stuck in the middle of Patagonia with Sushi

[Blog #1] Adventure with Dad | Exploring day, Guards and Work

[Blog #2] Small Venture | Bike training, Lake & Funny Pic

[Blog #3] Small venture | Bicycle ride, Old bridge & Mud

[Blog #4] Bike Training | Beautiful day, 32 km ride & Strava

Sort:  

Oh man!! Also, what about a welding mask? That could help. Glad you are okay.

PS I TOLD YOU CYCLING WAS DANGEROUS. BUT NO, YOU DIDN'T LISTEN!!!

welding mask!!!! that would be perfect! UV protection+face protection+I can weld something if needed.

HAH cycling is quite safe, imagine.. from all the ways I have for killing myself in a bike, I never thought decapitation would be the choosen one giiihiihihihihi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85