Exploring Orcas Island in the San Juan’s | Photo Album

in #adventure6 years ago

The San Juan Islands are the crown jewel of the Pacific Northwest.


Over 172 “named” islands make up the beautiful area of the Puget Sound known as the San Juan Islands. This incredible archipelago is traversed by small boats and a network of ferries serving the main islands. Overall, it is remote, and a solid 5-hour excursion from Seattle to go on-island (to Orcas) depending on ferry time.

This year I was lucky to grab an early-season yurt and we got to head out to Orcas Island for the weekend!



In the summer, the ferries will book out several weeks in advance, so plan ahead! They do release some spots 48-hours in advance to help with last-minute planning, but those reservations are typically snagged within a few hours so be prepared to move fast!

This time around, we sailed with the NW Chelan.



I always forget to get good pictures when I’m on a ferry. To be honest, I’m usually so overcome with childlike excitement by the prospect of being on a boat that I’m too caught up in the moment.

But here’s one just to give a little taste of the open-air deck experience during travel!



And here, the ferry stop for Orcas Island!



Orcas Island is one of the larger islands in the archipelago and offers all of the wonderful things you could ever want: sea kayaking, hiking, beach combing, horseback riding, camping, mountain biking, and a peaceful retreat. Shaped like a horseshoe, the ferry drops you off on the Western arm and getting to our destination allowed us to drive around the horseshoe to Doe Bay on the Southeastern side (and put us in close proximity to Moran State Park--home of Mount Constitution--a destination that has been on my list for years!)

Here’s a map--sourced from Google, of course!



Next time we’re back I’d love to grab kayaks in Olga and take a 1/2 day to kayak out around Obstruction Island--I’m told it’s a worthwhile 5-hour trip and I’m itching to try it.

After 5 hours in the car getting to Doe Bay, the first order of business on arrival was relaxing at beach.



Some lovely sun and clear skies gave us the combined beauty of distant islands and bright blue water. No filters on any of these photos--because nature is her own best artist.

If you know me, you know there’s always at least one pic of “man and uke”.



We weren’t the only ones happy to be out of the car. Cash was also ready to kick back oceanside.



And here a little panorama of the water, islands, and sky. Every time I go here I’m struck by the natural “filtering” created by all the water and foliage. Everything on-island is just a littler richer and more saturated.

Ah, water. No filter.



Walking back to camp we stumbled across another little beach, so of course...

I snapped another quick beach pic!



The next morning we were up bright and early on the road to Mt. Constitution. Although we had originally planned to hike it (abut 7 miles up), we discovered that there’s a really accessible road to get there and decided to take a leisurely day and drive. ;)

Here a shot about halfway up the mountainside from an overlook.



At the very top, you can get a 360 degree perspective as Mount Constitution is the highest point in all 172 islands! From the watch tower on top you can see Mt. Baker and the Cascades all the way to Vancouver, BC on one side and the Olympic Mountains and southern tip of Vancouver Island on the other.

And here a view from the summit!



Climbing the watch tower is fun (I failed at getting good pictures), but if you like poking around in old stone towers and checking out little side rooms in relic-style monuments you’ll enjoy it.

At the very top you can get inside of a little, glass enclosed room and see all the way around!



A close-up--of Mount Baker!



And a close-up of Cash--with Mount Baker in the distance. Ha.



Before I close this post, I had to show you a picture of our little yurt at Doe Bay Retreat (more like a really awesome camp ground with a few sweet amenities).

Best part of this particular yurt were the windows overlooking the bay (and it being dog friendly)!



And of course you can’t go to Doe Bay without checking out their amazing outdoor, saltwater hot tubs on a big deck overlooking the beach and ocean. Here, I only snapped one tub because the others were occupied and it is clothing optional so be warned!

Best part: the tubs are free for guests camping onsite or staying in one of the yurts/cabins.



And lastly, a picture of me feeling at peace in the sunshine with someone I love (which is how I’d like to spend all my days off!). <3


IMG_8342.JPG



View more of my recent work

Janelle Monáe Just Released a New Visual Album!🔥
Steemit Self-Care | An argument against daily posting.
My Anger is a Factory | Entry for @TeamGirlPowa Feminist Fire Poetry Contest
Logo Contest | Design the ArtSearch Logo for @TheNewAlchemists!
Hikes of the Pacific Northwest | Photo Album
From Full Time to Freelance and How I Got Here
I just went to prison for 5 months. Again. | 07
Exploring the Big Four Ice Caves | Photo Album
Passing My 500 Followers Milestone and How I Got Here!
ART MIX-UP CONTEST | 04
The Art of Self Care | 5 Essential Tips
The Hero with a Thousand Faces: a monomyth
An Afternoon Jaunt to Wellington Ghost Town | Photo Album

Proud member of




SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Sort:  

Oh... serenity overload...

Haha, yessss...that’s a great way to put it. Thanks for stopping by!

Anytime Lily :P

Thank you so much, I really appreciate the support! :)

I love the San Juan Islands, I have some family and friends out there. I think I've spent the least time on Orcas out of all of them, but I did enjoy the time I was there. Nice photos, glad to see some PNW adventuring :) Makes me think I need to get out there soon.

It’s one of the best places to go in any season...so many possible islands to explore! Also, check out my artist collective, @thenewalchemists...it’s for creatives of all sorts including musicians. :) Followed you back as a fellow Pacific Northwester.

Agreed, and will do! Thanks! :)

I enjoy these posts immensely! That last picture is very very frameable by the way <3 Congrats on your well-deserved Curie!

Oh thank you so much, I really appreciate you coming by to check it out and thanks for saying that about the last shot. <3

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Such a great post . Beautifully presented . Thank you so much for sharing . @lilyraabe

Oh and thank you so much for stopping by to check it out, I really appreciate it!

Your pictures make me wanna go there too! If I ever happen to be in the vicinity, I'll definitely have to check this out. Especially the tub :-)

There are actually 3 TUBS all in a row and a sauna. I want to go back in the rainy season to really enjoy them!

Bagus sekali postingan kamu. Saya jadi pingin treveling @lilyraabe

<3 Thank you for stopping by!

very interesting scenery. if I could get there, I'd be glad.

If you ever get the chance you must!

Yeah right lily.

oh wow! this looks like heaven to me! I love Cash too! <3

He is my BEST adventure buddy for sure! Thank you so much for stopping by!

@lilyraabe wate and land..always been a perfect place for vacation like the photography...looks very serene and peace

It was absolutely beautiful...so peaceful, and the perfect “time away”. Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76