Rocky Road to Stitan and Surdup

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

Hello folks!

Long time no see....but ofc I have a good reason for that....some crazy adventure on a mountain and I've caught a cold again...:D As always I let a few days to pass, so I can sort the tetris pieces in my head....

DSC_0193.JPG

Well, this time I went to Montenegro. We call it the country of stone, cause there are mountains and sea and nothing more. The trip to our starting point lasted for about ten hours and 400km. But whenever and wherever I go and I'm tired as hell and when I see where I will be in a few hours, it feels like I have pushed the restart button. I didn't say that we went to Kucke mountains, which are located 40 km from Kolasin, smaller town in the middle of Montenegro.

Ok then, the starting point is Bukumirsko lake. It's a great place for camping, especially in this part of the year.

3.JPG

And now enjoy the views up to the mountains....Good Morning literally!!!

4.JPG

Our peaks were still in the fog. Name of the peak (in the middle) is Pasjak (2025m). I think is the hardest one to climb of all three. On the right is Stitan (2147m) and Surdup (2184m) you can't see from this perspective.

5.JPG

When we start to climb, I like to be at the end of the group for photographing and as the time goes by I increase my tempo and I'm just behind the guide. The benefit of it is that you have longer pauses for resting. xD

Soon we were in the forest. Leaves under our feet reminded me of all literary homework assignments...."Autumn in my city/street" and how it was hard back then and now I would have so much to tell... :)

6.JPG

Soon we were out of it, again in the fog....and after one hour, maybe more we had first pause and I never had a sweeter breakfast than that . Sometimes an ordinary sandwich with ham can taste like a steak in soy sauce. :D Full of cheese pie and chocolate we continue our route.

7.JPG

This is me trying to climb some strange shaped rock...

44585384_1837722162943780_21222185028812800_n.jpg

As soon as you think you are there, facepalm, bam....and Del Boy's "what a plonker". :D

DSC_0847.JPG

And Pasjak, our third peak we left behind with decision to climb it on our way back.

8.JPG

We needed a little bit more than three hours from the foot of the mountain to climb the first peak Stitan. And now tell me, was it worth it?

DSC_0914.JPG

You don't know where to look....

DSC_0857.JPG

In the background you can see the mountains named Komovi. I would call this photograph "Masters of the scene"

DSC_0930.JPG

We made a half hour long pause, enough for another bite and watching a million stones view....

9.jpg

and we were going there, to Surdup...here is the bigger and the last picture made from Stitan.

10.JPG

15 minutes later, one look over the shoulder and ta da......

11.JPG

And I put my camera in the backpack, cause I needed my hands so I can climb like a monkey....but the toooooop was amazing and the best break ever....

12.JPG

Sun was my best friend that day although I was there with one of them, but still....

13.JPG

This pic is my favorite one from this hiking

14.JPG

We spent one hour for sure there....it was perfect...I closed my eyes for 15 minutes and then I was still out of the Aladin's lamp.

I can keep posting photographs and it can last forever....but there are no words.....we were just sun catchers and nothing more on the ground until the moment came to go on.

Again Pasjak on our path....

and there comes the real adventure. Some guy fell during descending and his knee popped out. Luckily, we had a doctor so this turned out fine. My friend took the picture of that moment and I was like I'm a friend with a devil who captures everything on the crime scene. Finger in my ear!!! xD

On our way down was a glacier, but I don't have any pic to prove it. And Pasjak was off the topic. I was sad a little bit but we didn't have that time.

Three peaks in one phototraph

and still magnificent...eyes wide open and fixed on those peaks, but there is a long road in front of us...

one look ahead, one look back

and we are in woods.....that sound. I bet that you hate when you hear the sound of a plastic bag, but this is so simmilar but a pleasant sound.

and we were out

and lets finish this day with the pic at the lake where we started. Some people were there with a tent and camp fire....food, some barbicue smelled like the most beautiful parfume. :D

to be continued.....

Sort:  

Hi divisionbell,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I'm amazed with the panomarama that I just found in your post, very good your photographs, I really feel pleased to know new places through steemit. I am from Venezuela and live in a jungle state that ends with the oldest lands on the planet the Canaima National Park where the world's largest waterfall of more than 1 km of free fall.

back to the post, I love climbing, I imagine that the climate is temperate. likewise there is nothing more natural to go out on excursion, to contemplate nature individually is something unique that many people do not understand if they live in large cities, perhaps the only thing that can climb is in the elevator to your apartment.

always the funny or serious anecdotes will be part of the unique history of each crossing, like the friend who broke the leg, thank goodness they had a doctor, because being in an unsuspected place without first aid attention is pathetic.

thank you for sharing your publication I felt very identified with you. greetings <3 peace and love

thank you! that's true. That's what I like about this platform, cause steemit is better trip advisor than google....I hope someday I ll be able to see the whole world and also your county .
Yes, the smaller group is better or even better if you go with your friend who is mountain guide or you go with a mountain guide who is also a doctor...this mountaineering is the best way to know your country.
I'm glad that you enjoyed reading this, there will be another story about day 2...I hope i will get to know your country through your posts :) be well

greetings again.

of course you travel with few friends and passionate people who love mountaineering.

you can appreciate through my post, I have not recently gone to the great savannah (canaima national park) but if you can appreciate other things. follow me .. from now on I will be aware of your adventures. peace and love

Hi @divisionbell,

Thank your for sharing your adventure. One thing I really love about Steem is that we get to see so many great places we will likely never get to travel to.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12-24 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com . This personal addition to my article is always one of my favorite parts.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)

The photographs seem taken from a movie, they are spectacular! I can see that the trip you did and the adventure you lived was very fun. I liked how you told the anecdote of the climber who fell. My favorite photos are those of the forest and where those gigantic rocks are shown. I hope that one day I can travel to places like Montenegro. Greetings from Venezuela

I'm very glad that you like the story and photos and I wish you to see the whole world, not just Montenegro, which is beautiful, need to say that again. There will be part 2. :) be well!

This is a truly amazing experience.

I didn't know that Montenegro had such mountains. I thought it was beach and hills but not rocky mountains :) What was the altitude that you had to climb up? 3 hours doesn't sound that bad and it was absolutely worth every step that you took.

I'm sorry to hear about your friend who got the problem with knee and I hope it's fine by now.

I love mountains and this would be a perfect trip for me! Those views are breathtaking and the weather turned good at the end :)

I can't even choose my favorite picture! :)

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote! :)

Montenegro is full of mountains...and also there is a sea as you know....there is no better combination than mountain and sea in one :) that's ma plan for next summer...xD Surdup is the highest peak. We had a pretty fast tempo...usually you need about 4 hours, but that is also good result.

Thank you on those words, it meant a lot to me.

Spectacular report, @divisionbell :)

Још ниси нашла штап са навојем за монтажу фотоапарата? :)

hvala : )

hahaha, nisam jos, mislim da je upravo nadjena ideja za biznis. :D

Има већ таквих, али не могу да нађем неки озбиљно јак, на који бих могао да се ослоним пуном тежином. Сад Кинези продају стативе којима можеш да скинеш једну ногу и употребиш је као монопод и штап, али то делује као да ће пући чим на њега ставиш, на пример, Никон Д850 — кога срећом немам :)

hahah, ono je tesko za ruke a kamoli za stap. :) moram pogledati na stranom trzistu..mada bio bi me strah drzati aparat na stapu iako sjajno zvuci i oslobadja nas muka....ovi nasi mogu da podnesu standardnu tezinu....

Congratulations @divisionbell! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wow, the rocks are incredibly beautiful and rare. Your experience is a fantasy.

Each photograph has its own essence and life, I stay with all hahaha.

Congratulations and thank you very much for sharing your adventure.

thank you! i'm trying to be better in writing and in photography as well so this is encouraging. : )

Wow! What a wonderful experience! Thanks for sharing your climbing adventure at Montenegro! I never thought it was so spectacular. Every picture is beautiful!

oh, thank you so much, glad that you enjoyed! I hope that you 'l see someday too!

I'm really far away, but I hope so! Thanks!

Howdy from Texas divisionbell! wow this is such an impressive post! lol. it really is amazing to see you guys cover so much ground in one day and to get so many brilliant photos of the views, thank you for taking us on your climb, it was easy for us but I could feel how tiring it would be.

Do you guys travel all over or was this a one time type of trip?

greetings for Texas! thank you so much on those words. It wasn't so hard, specially when you reach the top....after resting it's like you can go further, it's like you were not tired 30 minutes ago, fresh and rested.
you can see my earlier posts, i travel over the country and abroad....i believe that each country has something to offer, just need to start without excuses. : )

howdy again divisionbell! That's very impressive but isn't it more of a young person's game? How old do you see people doing similar climbs?

I bet by the time a person gets to 40 it would get hard but I'm just guessing. lol.

you would not believe, you can find 70 years old person... in percent, let's say it's 50% -50% (older vs younger than 45 years)

oh my gosh divisionbell, that's amazing! well I don't feel so bad now, at 64 I could still climb. lol.

ofc you can... sounds like cliche, but you just need to buy good shoes, good hiking poles...company is desirable...so you can share those words at the top :"it's amazing" with someone. : )

howdy again divisionbell! yes I see, and I would want to go with someone special like you said, to share the experience!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44