#needleworkmonday :: Sewing a shawl vest (repurposing an old shawl)

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)


Happy July #NeedleWorkMonday everyone!


~ ~ ~🌼~🌷~🌼~🌷~🌼~ ~ ~

image.png

I have been wanting to get myself a vest for a long time, just to spruce up my wardrobe, especially when wearing plain Ts or blouses but I also realised it is not easy to find one. I played around with the idea crocheting or knitting one but it will take some time. Then, I surfed and saw some hits on a no sew vest from shawls. The idea seemed simple:

  1. Fold a rectangle shawl to half
  2. Measure shoulder, in my case, it is 12 inches.
  3. Measure 6 inches x 6 inches from the folded top edge and make a mark.
  4. From the mark, draw 10 inches line vertical and slit the fabric for arms.


image.png


I took one of my older shawls which had the frilly stuffs at the edges which I didn't want to be on my vest and cut the frilly edges.

image.png


But the shawl fabric started to fray. Using a needle, I removed some of the fabric threads...

image.png


and created a hairy edge:

image.png


Then, I folded the shawl and measured 6 by 6 inches from the top edge of the fold, made a mark and drew 10 inches from the mark vertically to the bottom:

image.png


I used a small sharp scissors to make an incision first before changing to the bigger scissors to cut through the 10 inches slit:

image.png


But the fabric frays all around the slit. Although it is a no sew vest, but unless you use a knit fabric, I guess, hemming will be needed. I did a 5mm double fold hemming using the sewing machine:

image.png


Ta-da!

image.png


~ ~ ~🌼~🌷~🌼~🌷~🌼~ ~ ~


Thank you again to @crosheille for starting this wonderful community and to the awesomely supportive #NeedleWorkMonday community!

If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday! You can also join us every other day at #NeedleWork.


~ ~ ~🌼~🌷~🌼~🌷~🌼~ ~ ~

tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.


My Actifit Today : July 1 2019


A day of walking around the kitchen, preparing breakfast, then walking to the office from the carpark and back, and walking around the mall while shopping for stuffs.


12433
Daily Activity,House Chores,Moving Around Office,Shopping,Walking

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Oo thank you @helpiecake and @vibesforlife!! Love the cake!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

😄 thank you @shanibeer!

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great idea!

Thank you @fiberfrau!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sweeeeeeet! I love how you made the edges “hairy”! Looks as if it was supposed to be that way. Nice revamp! I love that color too!

Hehe thank you @crosheille! But I made a mistake washing the shawl vest with my clothes. I absent mindedly added it into my machine and half my clothes turned pink, including my hubby’s 😖

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh Nooooooo! 🙈🙊 So sorry to hear that!!

I have never heard of hairy edges, and I visualised them in my head ...and I saw a kind of fury monster vest 🤪😂 But, no it’s a very clever technique you described, not a monster.
Your vest looks so nice and the process seems to be fairly uncomplicated (I always think this and then I try it myself ....) This is a perfect wardrobe addition.

Haha you are right! Hairy edges does sound like some furry monster, I imagine a cute one hehe. Thank you @neumannsalva! It was fun making and was very simple. But the bigger the shawl, the better the vest looks, especially the front where it flows nicely to the hips. Mine was a little short and not enough fabric to flow to the hips.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nicely done!

Thank you @lordvdr!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 67.625 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 12433 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 0.93% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Thank you @actifit!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @marblely! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this week's @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Posts! Thank you for your quality post and for being a part of the needlework community!

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us by visiting our FAQs.

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

Yay!! Thank you @needleworkmonday! Thank you @crosheille! 😘

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40