New Nvidia drivers, more algo benching - I should be studying - My Actifit Report Card: November 16 2018

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

Happy Friday Steemians!

What a busy day, feels plenty busy enough for me to glance at the clock and surprised that it's only moments to midnight. As soon as I got back from work, it was time to test the latest Nvidia drivers version 416.94 and see how well they perform with mining on my 2080 Founder's edition and my EVGA 2080.

I was delighted to see my EVGA with previous overclock settings it was Soo stable and there were only two algorithms it was not able to mine on Nicehash. For some reason neoscrypt was timing out and a version of daggerhash couldn't started.

20181115-EVGA.PNG

However my founder's card still had Soo much trouble with mining. In the beginning of my testing it was failing and crashing at every algorithm possible

20181116_203049.jpg

Until I noticed its failing at particular temperatures like 67C and would crash way before getting to 75C. Even the way power was being delivered to the FE based on GPUZ it was either on and wouldn't suggest I'm at my performance peak, operation stability, it's at the thermolimit. It would just supply power til it freaks out and crashes. My EVGA card is pretty verbose in comparison. Anyway, 65C is the lowest I can set my FE card and I was able to complete every algorithm except for neoscrypt and daggerhash probably for the same reason.

20181115-FE.PNG

Is this probably a waste of performance? Probably but it's stable and I can walk away and work on that homework I probably should have been doing XD

wip2.PNG

Hopefully it'll yield better profits with these new settings.

download_20181116_234123.jpg

It was also an opportunity to to update my Golem mining. I still have yet to try a gpu for image rendering on golem but it's nice it's possible. I can't believe I've mined over 97 Golem from passive CPU rendering. I hope a movie production or small business decides to use Golem Network for their product. It's really neat. The project hard forks often so it certainly can give someone the mining advantage if they update first to the new client.

Most of my activity was from work installing software on 30 machines. Hardly an elegant solution installing by hand but we were pressed for time and next week will be busy to even try. If I wasn't doing that, I was on the phones or trying to finish up red tape that has been pushed back long enough. The cool thing is it was a form of talent review and might help guide our careers to where we want to go. I was Soo pleased to hear there's a possibility to work at HQ with my boss putting in a reference or recommendation. I'm not expecting much but it would be awesome if it were considered.

And by the time I got this far in my post I hear the familiar sound of my 2080 FE crashing and going to 100% fan speed. Ugh… I wonder what triggered the crash.. I'm too cozy in bed to investigate just now..

Tomorrow is errands and the homework marathon begins. Gosh it's already getting to the point where I'm not going to the gym at all again.. it'll be Thanksgiving before we know it. I just have to hang in there and behave.. but comfort eating is Soo tempting and wonderful

Anywho, I hope everyone had time to enjoy their Friday and take care everyone~


5750
Daily Activity, Moving Around Office, Walking

Sort:  

You’re so cute, bench marking graphics cards with your actifit reports. I don’t get it, but I like your approach. :)

XD thank you miss. If i were to blog about about my adventures may as well put it all together. Most of my steps are from work being on the floor and school. But benchmarking algos is more exciting, especially when people at Nvidia say, 'ey! It's not you, your card is defective!~

I wish you well @linnyplant, thank you for visiting my blog ^o^

If i were to blog about about my adventures may as well put it all together.

❤️

@carn wake up! @kittysilhouette goes to school too and can blog with vigor and focus..😛

Always trying to guilt trip me :D First off, I don't have any excuses, I'm just lazy (said while laying in bed and listening to music). Second, I do need to study tonight and tomorrow, but after that I should have some time to upload some stuff. Did a little bit of doodling the other day I should upload, and I have a story that's about halfway done. You do have to admit I normally do stuff when you pressure me to XD

I'll be sure to check it our your blog! Good luck with your studies. I have quite a bit due tomorrow as well. It's a race against time to accomplish everything before midnight and post about it >=D there's no rolling over here to the next day.

lol. I’m your virtual mother stand in dealing with the unmotivated son. Glad to hear you’re working on drawing and writing still.

You should blog on steemmonster at least, since it’s your thing. Or post some @googlyeyes! That’s easy and fun.

In fact, I challenge you to a steemonster, googlyeyes and actifit combo post!! Do as @kittysilhouette does and get it all done together and get moving. 😛

lol, yes I need to do more, mother.

Not sure if I'll do anything on those subjects (not that into SM outside of investing, don't have any googly eyes rn but I'll try to get some, won't be walking that much tomorrow though maybe Wednesday) but I promise I'll do something.

Also wanna do a post on my dream Steem project that would actually keep me on here me more though, I don't have the know-how to make it myself. Basically would like somewhere I could write about my day, and what I did, but also let me log books, movies, and music. Rate them, sort them, and view other people's favorites. Gonna try to do a bigger post on it and maybe the impossible will happen and someone will decide to make something like it.

Anyway, have work in about 30 minutes, then after that I'll be studying for a history test (about WW2 at least, so i should do ok) and message with my friend till me or her falls asleep. Have Thursday and Friday off because of thanksgiving, so I'll try to do something then.

I'm really better at commenting then posting aren't I XD

Bows to @kittysilhouette and (kinda) apologizes for turning her comment section into a chat log. Promises to give a follow in return. :)

I appreciate the company @carn and @linnyplant ^0^ next time I'll brew us some tea and be a good host.

I'm expecting scandalous drama when you get back Carn ^o^ I want to be entertained ^o~

Gasp! is @carn making excuses?
Vegeta: Where's your sayian pride?! (idk lol)

@carn is probably playing and trading steemmonster cards. I like to poke him on occassion to let him I’m thinking of him (and his lack of steem productivity). :)

He’s might be pensive atm. He’s also kind and likes to read books.

$300 of SteemMonster cards rn. Haven't done that much lately with them, just daily quests and HODLing.

Pensive, kinda, on occasion. Made several new friends this semester and hang out with them quite a bit. One of them can get depressed about school and stuff, and I'm kinda pensive with her sometimes. I don't get along super well with my parents, but I also don't really get depressed (or if I do it's only for a bit), so yeah, maybe pensive is the right word.

@linnyplant came along after me on Steem (been about a year now for me) but passed me up like so many other people that actually post XD. We met on Discord, I think Isle of Write.

Haven't really read that much this year :P Only 36 books compared to the 170 I did last year. I have been reading a bit more lately though.

Those temps are a bit high. You might wsnt to rethink your cooling situation. Remember: heat rises and it's better to evacuate the heat than it is to pour more cold on it.
I remember seeing some video of a guy in glorida that had his rigs outside on the back patio and averaging 57° C. His design was awesome. Basically a large fan on top of the rig allowing for filtered cool air to come in on the sides at the bottom....

Wow I didn't think it could get that low with just fans, Especially in Florida. I still have some headroom on fans but i'm thinking there might still be some component of clockspeed and voltage draw. currently voltage on 2080s are locked by firmware but there's a way I can lock clockspeed to a narrow range. I'm still trying to learn the ins and outs of MSI Afterburner. Right now it fluctuates a lot based on temperature. If I have the AC running it detects a lot of headroom and attempts to self overclock. So when I'm cozy in bed I hear it crash

Right now these two cards are inside my computer case rather than an open bench. The side panel has a 200mm fan blowing over the cards and I have 140mm fans blowing across them. and fans on top of the case blowing out through radiator

Yes. That"s the point im trying to make... You can blow a lot of cold air on them but it is nowhere near as effective as taking the heat off of them.
I found the link. This guy has the right idea.


He states they are running pretty much outside temp, which is about 50-70° cooler than what yours are inside that case. Get them things in the air so they can breathe and I bet you'll sleep a bit better.
I'm currently building a new home for two of my rigs to tidy up a bit and improve my cooling situation too. What I hot works but it gets to dusty, I'm constantly have to clean my heat sinks and fans, so I'm borrowing some of that guys ideas but on a smaller scale using 4 case fans for each rig amd adding filtration

That is sooo cool! Hehe something like this is probably going to be one of the first few projects after I get my own place and a patio of my own. My room is soo crammed. I can't wait to spread out

Good luck on the job at your HQ. You definitely sound like you know what you're talking about in your constant battle to whip those miners in shape. Hope your homework goes smoothly and you can eek out a little bit of time for yourself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much @blueeyes8960! -glomps-
I still feel like a beginner with setting up these miners. These cards are certainly not plug and play and I'm trying to understand them and their unique quirks. I'm sure I'm handling these cards wrong and someone is doing something right. Like a moment ago I noticed my 1080 ti was mining an algorithm that was the same as the 2080 FE but had double the hashes.

Hopefully there will be some time for fun. Even if it is a glass of wine and under the blankets at the end of the day ^o^

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!
You have accordingly been rewarded 35.25 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 5750 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 3.18% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit reward structure has changed recently, and the new rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

@spozone and @blueeyes8960
I decided to try something different today. I hooked up a second monitor to the 2080 FE graphics card and tried to play Tomb Raider and run a unigen benchmark called super position. it crashes on 1080p medium. i thought enough was enough. I reached out to nvidia and showed them videos of the crashes and they started the RMA process. Lets hope the new replacement works out ^0^

Congratulations @kittysilhouette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies. Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98