Tale of an Unsuccessful Plagiarist on Steemit.

in #abuse6 years ago

90C479E6-4058-49AD-8F20-799B265B4DB5.jpeg

Hello Steemians

Background

Recently I made a post on alternative platforms to steemit.com and suffice to say that post was rather well received. I have always strived to contribute towards this platform for the betterment of community.

For a reader, the post might seem like a 4-5 minutes read but it actually takes 3-4 days to thoroughly research on a topic and then it takes another 4-5 hours to create that post so that my worthy fellow steemians can make full use of that information without having to doubt the credibility of the content.

Furthermore, my followers know me all too well that i always engage with them in the comment section and duly reward anyone who even make 0.01% effort to read the post and then give his/her insight on the subject.

The post has currently received 188$ worth of 84 upvotes, 326 views and 63 comments (including my own replies to various comments).
25992C0A-0B1D-48A5-B74D-241A36BA5A36.jpeg

Enters The Abuser / Plagiarist

I have always been more than forthcoming to help / guide people in the right direction even if it means them using my content (after taking due permission of course).

However Mr @yanisbreakers decided to take another course of action, which was to translate my post in another language without asking permission.

Here is the link to his post.

Intentional Plagiarism by @yanisbreakers

What concerns me the most that the user did not copy my content in a fit of laziness or innocence. Had he done that, i would have told him not to repeat this in future and would have introduced him to ethics of blogging and that could have been the end of it...

But his plagiarism did not reek of innocence at all. He intentionally copied the content without asking permission and totally striked out my name from the entire content such as to make it look like his own.

And this is criminal..

Let me share you a screenshot comparison to support my accusation against Mr. @yanisbreakers

Here is a screenshot that i used in my post as a visual aid to introduce the GUI of busy.org

8426996C-5CB0-4677-AEB4-B2F42C795242.jpeg

Pay close attention to the highlighted area. This was a screenshot of my blog that i took to demonstrate the GUI of busy.org.

Mr. @yanisbreakers used the same screenshot as mine but went to great lengths to omit my name from it. Take a look here at the same screenshot he edited :-

E0EFF7DC-A802-4220-8312-76A8A78B4BCF.jpeg

Did ya’ll see that? He removed the entire block and entered his own text that was the title of my immigrant crisis post (and that too with wrong spellings of analysis).

Credits

All thanks to @ilyastarar for notifying me of this abuse since @yanisbreakers forgot that when he copied my content, @ilyastarar would also get a notification of it because he was mentioned in the post.

Confrontation

After i was notified of this, I still kept my wits about me. I only flagged @yanisbreakers’ plagiarised post and scolded him in the comment section of his own post that he should not have done that.

I was actually expecting an explanation to all this and look at the reply the guy gave me..

71206855-F6CC-4F55-AE59-763BE5C999A4.jpeg

Brilliant... right? All he managed to do was write “sorry my friend” and inserted cheeky smiles and thought this would all go away..

This is a clear violation of blogging ethics. I believe that cheeta bot did not pay him a visit because his post was in a different language.

Hence, i invite all the people, @good-karma, @ekitcho, @vortac, @ilyastarar, @rycharde, @nairadaddy and everyone who upvoted me on my post to kindly pay this dude a visit and flag his post into the ground. This is a crime and since you all supported my content, his actions also violated the integrity of your worthy upvotes.

If we let incidents like these slide by, steemit will become a mad house infested with leechers and content copiers.

Conclusion

@yanisbreakers went through a lot of pain to make his copied content look original. Ironically, all he actually needed to do was to make a lousy comment on my post asking my permission to make a translation of my post with due credits to me being the original content creater and i would have upvoted his translation post and would have resteemed it as well.

I hope that @yanisbreakers will learn a valuable lesson here. Plagiarism is never a healthy practice and sooner or later, you will be picked up by the community and be thrown out for this horrendous habit.



Best regards
JBN



thumbnail image designed from free canva tool. Rest of the images are screenshot taken from my own device

Kindly consider to offer your valubale comments on matter and i would request everyone to resteem this so that others can benefit from this. Who knows your one resteem might stop a potential plagiarist from comitting this crime..



Sort:  

awww....this is so sad, sir. But I'm glad that @ilyastarar notified you & you did the very right thing towards @yanisbreakers. I am sure he learned his lesson & hoping that he will never do it again, ever. Upvoted & resteemed this for all my dear followers and readers to know. Thank you & God bless po :-)

Thank you very much po.. you have always stood by my side no matter what. And i shall never forget this gesture of kindness..

Thank you for the resteem.. blessings..

You're always welcome, sir and thank you for helping me and my fellow newbies here, your posts are helpful both you & sir @ilyastarar :-) God bless the both of you and praying that you will continue to share your insights on how we all can achieve success in this platform and to be able to stay here no matter what po :-)

Thank you.

Thanks to you sir and thank you for keeping us well informed about this platform, both you & sir @jbn have the heart to really help me & my fellow newbies here. Thank you and keep on guiding us here sir, God bless po :-)

🤔Yeah, that's something I was worried might happen to platform as without good copyright protection or bots that could detect it, there is quite a big incentive for some (unethical) people to just copy content and pretend it's their own.

Definitely gonna flag him. 👌
Good that Ilya informed you.

Sorry to hear about this. Unbelievable how rampant plagiarism is on Steemit.

Yeah.. but this needs to be stopped.. this is extremely bad for the platform..

Oh no... so maybe I need to check on something like this too? Oh my. I have just found out an article I wrote for another site was posted here by a plagiarizer: izanmangi

I flagged the post. That's all I know to do. Maybe I should check what else I can do. This person posted it here 8 months ago when I was not even on this site yet.

Its really sad to see this. You can always report the spammer to steemcleaners..doesn’t matter if you have spotted the post after 8 months. Go to steemcleaners.org and fill out a simple form to report it.. hopefully it will help you get some closure and it would also stop the person from ever doing plagiarism. If they do it again, they will already be on radar of steemcleaners.

Yeah i reported them as well. It doesn't feel very good to see it happen, especially on a platform that does not allow content older than 7 days to ever be deleted online. 😥 This is the only drawback of Steemit imho.

Sorry to hear about Plagiarism issue. This should be stopped by enforcing stringent action.
Keep sharing @jbn

Thank you brother.. your support is always appreciated.

Plagiarisma is a good alternative to CopyScape and lets you check plagiarized content online. The tool will detects copyright infringement in your articles, blog posts, research paper, coursework or any other dissertation. The service supports Google, Yahoo, Babylon, Google Scholar and Google Books. You can either enter a specific text or use the URL to check for plagiarism.

Does it identify plagiarism done through translation? I doubt it. Online checking tools look for the similar text but they cannot identify the same text in another language..

can not be friends.

That's great the content made the attention of a user you mentioned.
Were would I find a notification of my username being in a post?

Via @ginabot. Gina bot is a relatively a new service on steemit with tons of options where by it will notify you if you have been given an upvote, comment, mention, resteem etc.. you can customise these options that suit your needs.. here is a detailed guide on how to sign up and use ginabot by @ilyastarar
https://steemit.com/ginabot/@ilyastarar/how-to-use-ginabot-and-get-steemit-seamless-notifications-for-free

Good luck..

Thanks...checking it out now.

Yayy. Good luck ^_^

Plagiarism is a fraudulent act if I may say. It reduces your self esteem on steemit and other platforms, it brings about the spirit on inferiority. Underestimating one’s self to a conclusion of being unable to create good content. Ideas could be seeked , researches could be made but ideas are not allowed to be copied in the sense of mindless lifting ie copying ideas word for word . VERY BAD I SAY

Very well said. If only everyone think like that, we won’t have this nuisance on this amazing platform..

What a criminal activity! I wanted to flag but I had to send the information to you first to check if the translation was done with permission. Lately, I have been very actively spotting such activities and I am glad about the results so far. Your post serves a good warning to everyone and educates people about blogging ethics as well.

Yeah but i have firm belief in blockchain that it will push away the unwanted elements in due course of time. And we, as steemians, share the responsibility of upholding the integrity of our home. Steemit is our home..
thank you once again for informing me about this plagiarism.. bless you..

You can report that post to @steemcleaners, who handle this type of abuse cases.

Unfortunately, Steemit's reward system welcomes all kinds of abuse and must be changed before the whole system crashes.

Something must be done before the Steem token crashes due to abuse. I have already explained my solution proposal in my blog.

This is a topic that must be discussed on Steemit more, so thank you for raising this issue.

You can report that post to @steemcleaners, who handle this type of abuse cases.

Wonderful idea.. just did. I had almost forgotten about steemcleaners..

And as far as “doing something” goes, its us who have to take care of this. Blockchain is decentralized, which means its us who have to shoulder this responsibility of keeping it clean.

Thank you for the kind suggestion and thank you for the support..

... as far as “doing something” goes, its us who have to take care of this. Blockchain is decentralized, which means its us who have to shoulder this responsibility of keeping it clean.

Amen to that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55