Bid Bot Pizza Shitposter makes it to Rep 60 - Brought down to 59 Thanks to MB Unvotes and SteemSpeak Golos Peeps! Reinforcements requested!

in #abuse6 years ago (edited)

All that just for a Pizza! Pizza Shit! 🍕💩

Bot Owners, unfortunately, your services have been used to propel brazen shitposter @rabeelmanzoor very far.

Blacklisting on a few / unvoting is GREAT but has proven to not be enough. I am putting together a list of all bot owners responsible for this accounts rise and hope they will take action. Please, forego profit for a moment and take care of this with the best tool we have available! Hint Hint🚩🚩🚩


Here's a quick tutorial on how to flag as it seems some bot owners may have forgotten.


pizza_piece_of_shitpost.gif

No, I'm not merely trying to hop on the controversy bandwagon.



I've been around for a minute and, if you look into my history, you'll see that I have been an ardent advocate against bid bots because quite simply I believe they, in principle, undermine the efficacy and incentive for manual curation but that is a post for another day.

Now, these issues are coming to a head and the community appears polarized. I may jab a little at the other side but I understand there are a few compelling points which are used to rationalize this practice.

Now, being anti-bid bot may not necessarily be "cool" but it is certainly becoming an increasingly popular position as people begin to noticing the effect on post quality as many shitposts make it through the sieve of ever growing blacklists.

From a security professionals perspective, the blacklisting and whitelisting have proven to been ineffective mechanisms to defend against the broad attack vectors presenting by the myriad of bots. We need more sophisticated technical controls in place.



When you find the ULTIMATE shit post that makes you think about rage quitting Steem.




The other day, my righteous fury was kindled by a junk post bid bot user, @rabeelmanzoor, after noticing even after reporting him and his ring to various bot services and they appropriately being added to the blacklists, that he had gained another 2 rep with the same tricks. You can read more about that on a previous episode of the Shitpost slaying diaries below.

Check out this post because STONE COLD SAID SO!

Anyways, I noticed that asshat was successfully able to switch to OTHER bots and gain an additional 2 Reputation (58 to 60) in a few weeks yesterday. That got me hot real quick knowing that there really wasn't sufficient follow up action. I attempted reporting to @steemcleaners but voting abuse is, unfortunately, outside of their scope. Well, I have made you wait long enough. Here's the post linked in the image below. I notified @transisto and it's since been brought down to about $36 STU.

Are you ready for THIS?!


Just about my reaction after reading that post. Seriously..

Thankfully, I was able to inform some reputable member of the community once I noticed this crap and they helped out. @minnowbooster unvoted them which brought them down to 59.

Glorious DOWNVOTES! 🚩🚩🚩

downvotesaway.gif


It's still not enough. They ought to be stopped more decisively or they are going to just keep climbing up their shit mountain. Unless you want shitty pizza posts on Trending making an utter mockery of this platform. I advise the community to do something and do it now.


This is a joke... just not the funny kind.




Another thing

I think it is reasonable for bot owners should do the leg work of reporting to other bot owners by establishing automated communication channels rather than the abuse fighter having to report to every bot on the 155+ currently on SteemBotTracker.

There are just WAY too many bots for the end users to be expected to report to them all which is essentially a service to them. Why don't they pay like @steemcleaners does?


Either way, with the profits that are being made even off of these paid out abuse posts (as long as they unvote and don't refund audacious paid trash posters, I think more can be afforded to be done.

Perhaps, these bot owners could benefit from helping to establish some sort of community driven decentralized abuse fighting incentive projects.

Hmmmm. I feel like I have heard of something like that before. I just can't seem to recall...

Oh Wait! I know!

shameless plug

To put things into a better perspective

@steemflagrewards has completed 62 upvotes on 62 distinct abuse mentions submitted by various community members on our Discord server to incentivize flags and abuse marking. Each 75% upvote is approximately 0.08 STU and we hope to spread this out even further if we can achieve more support of community members flagging.

The upvote mechanism is good because it adds rshares to abuse fighters rep and allows them to take down the well entrenched higher rep scammers. I can't do a damn thing to affect @rabeelmanzoor's rep but would love the opportunity!

If you are serious about putting your SP to work, consider leveraging it through our people and Python powered abuse fighting initiatives!


The accounts are:
@steemflagrewards, @flagawhale and @neutralizer

I'll make it easy for any willing to help. Here's a link to @justyy's delegation tool here



Sort:  

The following bots are experiencing heavy abuse by a group called SMT:


@drdrotto
@wafrica
@minnowsupport
@photocontests3

8D25BB1A-A1A1-4B84-B428-E8C3A8E5F829.jpeg

This is a sample post from one of their members:
921EEE04-CE32-4C6F-A547-BAA13F5471F0.jpeg
https://steemit.com/artzone/@bokaung/-cba3667c5d06b

Resteemed and later when my voting power is up I will drop a couple downvotes. Not much, but every penny helps.

If all posts pending payout are dropped to zero you can pretty much count on this guy going broke and having to either leave steemit or change his ways.

Awesome work everyone, and way to be the change Anthony. It's only just the beginning and I really believe the future is bright with solutions like these!

Interesting post. There is certainly a lot to do to eliminate abuse.

@anthonyadavisii, it's funny. I checked out this guy and I noticed a few familiar names upvoting @rabeelmanzoor. I made a post about one of those upvoters before.

The specific user in question is @saleem12.

Theres just too much garbage. Everyday I could flag at least 20 posts, which are imho just abuse of bid bots: https://steemit.com/fish/@lpreap/fish-food

How do you get paid by steem cleaners? Or any clean up account for that matter? I will be all over that.

Here is their abuse reporting form

Let me know if you have any questions. They also have a discord and are very helpful. They do what they can but there is just so much abuse.

That's why the community needs to step their flag game up. I run projects to pay them for that very thing. Trying to get it more organized and automated.

hell yes. I am on it.

Join the @steemflagrewards discord over here: https://discord.gg/HU7Qe3

It's more of a "token reward", but it's the same as I would have received had I upvoted something else... so at least I'm not "wasting a vote" anymore.

I actually have no idea how @steemcleaners works and/or if there are any rewards... they do have a (slightly confusing) abuse report form which mentions something about rewards... but I generally just tag them in replies to spam comments.

GOOD POST. I like Pizza!!!

OMG, I looked at the guys post and it's just as you said, how depressing. I put in hours of work into my last post, I don't have enough hours in the day and can't even break a dollar and at this point I'm wondering if it's even worth it anymore and swim into the sunset. Thanks for catching this guy.

It's OK, I'm sure addressing scalability will solve this issue: https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/exploring-steem-scalability

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66