100 Word Story Contest Week Two Winners. Wilderness. 4 GREAT STORIES.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #100words7 years ago

img

Image: @homeartpictures

The Steemit 100 Word Contest.

Week 2 has produced some fantastic writing once more.

Congratulations to all who took part - it was a tough decision on the judging front.

Special thanks to @meesterboom for his generous sponsorship of this initiative.

The support of SteemTrail is a constant; huge thanks, guys. We hope that many more will be inspired to "take up the pen" in Week 3, which will be announced tomorrow, 27th March.

img

Yosemite National Park Image: arthistory327

The Winners of Week Two

'WILDERNESS'

⌘ ⌘

Special Mention. Receives 2 STEEM

Wilderness Monster by @krizia

It’s getting dark!
Still I haven’t seen the mark.
It should just be around here.
Quite impossible for that flag to disappear.
However, I can’t identify,
The uneasiness I feel
Something is awry
Or maybe it’s just my heel
Did you ever get a feeling…
Like someone walked over your grave?
Felt my body reeling
Only to find myself in a cave
I guess I wasn’t imagining
When I felt eyes that’re ogling
Broken compass, map torn
I dare not to wander, I felt forlorn
Suddenly, there he was.
Red eyes, sharp claws
Helpless, I couldn’t conquer
The wilderness monster

img

Third Place receives 100 TRAIL and 4 STEEM

The Wilderness Wins by @stephen.king989

As the sun began to set, he picked up his pace. The sky was a wonderful pink-orange, but the shadows in the forest blended with the trees. It became difficult to distinguish between the two.
He heard a coyote howling off in the distance; or was it a wolf?
"I should have headed back hours ago!"
Something brushed against his arm. He screamed in surprise.
"It's nothing, just a branch."
The howl again; closer this time.
"Am I going the right way?"
He walked faster.
A deafening howl right beside him.
Green eyes emerged from the shadows.
The wilderness wins.

img

Second Place receives 200 TRAIL and 6 STEEM

Reflection by @coloured-content

Trapped in my reflection
Onerously considering the perplexity of my souls procurement,
Falling deep into a state of trance-like bewilderment.
Hand reaching into the mirror,
That distorts into liquid at my touch.
My body penetrating its reality's concealment
Falling through an array of dreams,
That play themselves before my eyes; indefinitely.
As I tumble toward an eluding end point;
Conspiring to find myself.

img

First Place 1st place receives 400 TRAIL and 10 STEEM

My Wilderness by @whatageek

The passing beasts. Covered in shadows. Rushing.
All of us are hungry. But only one will get to eat.
Get to feast. A lion showed me his teeth.
Why didn't I back down?
Because I am an alpha. I showed my teeth back.
He'll return. The sun sets. Only the ambitious remain.
The carnivores.
The rest have returned home.To softer environments.
To their trees and roots.
While the rest of us are engulfed in glass and concrete.
The promotion went to someone else.
Why do I stay here? In this cold land of strangers.
Deadlines and desks.
My wilderness.

⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘

img

The winning stories will be announced each Sunday and published here on steemit and on other Social Media Platforms such as Twitter and Facebook.

img

The organisation of this contest has been given huge support by the guys at SteemTrail.

If you have not already done so, head over to the SteemTrail Discord server and check out what they’re up to.

You will need an Open Ledger Account which is free. Simply click the Trail Coin and follow the instructions. For a Streemian Account, click the Streemian logo.

imgimg

Thank you from your 100 Words Contest organiser, please follow, upvote, resteem, generally be terribly nice to @ebryans

img

Sort:  

excellent job, winners!

@gardenlady may I say how nice it is to see you support these authors. They really do produce some very good works of prose and poetry which certainly merit praise. I am very grateful to you for being a cheerleader for these creative artists. I hope you will submit a work of your own! Come on out of the stands and onto the playing field if you feel like it.
Thank you again.It is very rewarding to feel the community support.
Namaste.

thanks ebryans :-) I enjoy a good read...as for writing, we'll see ;-)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.63 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 26 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wonderful job competitors, I hope the 100- word challenge is taken up by even more people.

Thanks @henry-gant, some seriously good writing here.
I have also found some extra outlets to publish them on - Facebook Groups - and looking into more Twitter targets. There are some interesting contests around too but they tend to charge a fair bit! Like $30/entry!!
Thanks for your support - it is very much appreciated.

I would love to hear about these contests. I'm interested in a larger audience, and not so much about winning.

Here are three groups which I have joined on Facebook - by all means mention that I referred you to their pages. Never hurts. They are members only so you need to apply as it were. Through the posts on each you will find all sorts of contests both national and international
Twitter is harder of course but I think you will find a good selection here - they are all three proper writing groups. They seem to like our winners stories any way, you will find them in there! If you are looking for a larger audience, tell me what you want to write. You might have seen my post about The Steemian - it is a real pain that this month is going to be so crap as I plan to launch issue 1 at the end of April.
Wishing you a great weekend.
Tjhank you for supporting these contests - people like you make them really fun and worthwhile. Namaste.
True Short Short Story
Short Story America
Thresholds

The winning stories will be announced each Sunday and published here on steemit and on other Social Media Platforms such as Twitter and Facebook.
What are the names or links to these other Media Platforms?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99