My Wilderness - 100 Word ChallengesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #100words7 years ago

The passing beasts. Covered in shadows. Rushing.
All of us are hungry. But only one will get to eat.
Get to feast. A lion showed me his teeth.
Why didn't I back down? Because I am an alpha. I showed my teeth back.
He'll return. The sun sets. Only the ambitious remain.
The carnivores. The rest have returned home. To softer environments. To their trees
and roots. While the rest of us are engulfed in glass and concrete. The promotion went to
someone else. Why do I stay here? In this cold land of strangers. Deadlines and desks. My wilderness.

*my upvotes/rep disclaimer: https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatageek/my-steemit-account-where-i-stand-on-bots-self-votes-and-multiple-account

Sort:  

Very clever @whatageek, I enjoyed reading this very much, upped.

Many Congratulations, you have been awarded First place in this week's contest and 10 steem have been transferred to your account. Please contact the guys at Steem Trail to claIm your 400 Trail. They need your Open Ledger Account details.
Thank you for taking part and I hope that you will enter again next week.

Wooooooooooooooo. Thank you @ebryans :). And thank you for running this contest, it is right up my alley. I will defintely be entering more of these.

My Pleasure my friend - It was a tough contest but you did stand out. Very nice work and imagery in there. I look forward to more of your stories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49