Yoga 2.0 - How Can I Help You?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #yoga7 years ago (edited)

Good day, Steemians!


Yoga is not about touching your toes; it's about what you learn on the way down. -- Jigar Gor



In case you didn't know,


I.

Love.

Yoga!



10482933_10152509176580295_6017234427174133773_n.jpg



It's one of the very best things I've found in this life.
It makes EVERYTHING better.
If you feel bad, it can make you feel good;
if you feel good, it can make you feel great!


My yoga journey has taken me all over the world,





and one of my favorite things to do is to share yoga with other people!






I have practiced for many years,
and I have taught for most of them.






I even brought yoga to Steemfest the First!



I speak from experience when I tell you that yoga's healing powers are unlimited;
that's part of why I fell in love with it.
Yoga has been an absolute miracle in my life,
and it is part of my purpose to bring it to others.

I invite any questions, comments, or concerns you may have about yoga, beginning, or deepening your practice.

Yoga is an accessible path to health, relief, inner peace, acceptance, love, and much much more!


How can I help you along your way??















💛 Sara!

Sort:  

Hi @saramiller! I have a question about healing. I work at a desk / on a computer for most of my workday. I pretty consistently end up with stiff upper shoulders and neck by the end of the day which usually ends up with me having a bad headache. I usually drink plenty of water so I'm okay there. Can yoga help with my headaches and upper stress/tension? Is it something I would need to do daily?

Thanks for your help!

Hi there, @britt.the.ish! Yes, I definitely recommend stretching out every day that you work at a computer--"tech neck" is a real thing that strains the body quite a lot! But, it's quite easy to stretch out and get some relief to stop those headaches for good!

So one thing to do is neck rolls: drop your chin to your chest, then roll the head clockwise for several breaths, then counterclockwise for several breaths.

Then you can bring your ear towards your right shoulder. Gently grab the top of your head with your right hand to pull a little farther--just enough for a tasty stretch, not enough for real pain. I think it helps to extend through the left arm while you're doing that. Then you can switch sides: left ear to left shoulder, and help the stretch with your left hand while you extend through the right side.

I love to clasp my hands behind my back and see how far I can pull them up towards the sky. This helps roll the shoulders open. This one is nice to do while standing, and add in a bend from the waist while you're at it to bring the head towards the ground if you like.

There's one called eagle arms that also feels great for shoulders: extend both arms straight out. Bend elbows, hands up towards the sky. Bring your right arm towards the left, and left arm towards the right--upper arms cross here (right over left or left over right doesn't matter, because you will do one side and then switch to do the other side). Slightly draw your elbows together towards the body's midline, and wrap the hand of your bottom arm around the forearm of your upper arm--you want your palms to meet. Now you can continue to squeeze your arms together towards the midline if that feels good, and/or you can keep the arms together and lift the arms straight up from the shoulders, so your fingers are stretching up to the sky. That feels really great, so breathe into it for a moment or two.

One more for now, I'll share a link that's a really fantastic stretch for the back:
https://steemit.com/health/@saramiller/how-to-yoga-cobra

I hope that helps you a lot!

I do these things too! I've had pretty bad tech neck (great name for it too, btw) for a couple years, all because my first job had me working on a laptop for just a few months. Crazy what impact months can have on years.

But one other thing I HIGHLY recommend is getting a standing desk. That's brought my body much relief. I have a chair that I can switch to if my feet get sore, but I'll switch back to standing after not too long.

That is a great recommendation, @ytho! It definitely helps to be able to go from sitting to standing. The human body just wasn't designed to be all crunched down over a computer all day.

hi Sara!! I'm excited to find you here! I have a question...do you ever wrestle with having the motivation to get started? Or to do the yoga things you want to do?

Absolutely! If I'm practicing daily, it's easy to keep it up. But if I'm not doing a physical practice every day, it's also easy to keep not doing it :) Getting on the mat is sometimes the hardest part...whatever resistance I had almost always melts away as soon as I get to getting it.

I have observed that I feel way better on every level when I do asanas, and I even get kinda negative when I skip it. Honestly life is just a little suckier if I'm not taking at least a few minutes a day to do some stretching, conscious breathing, and meditation! It all comes down to priorities, and I prefer to be healthy and happy so it's worth investing a little time every day in doing some yoga.

Do you struggle with motivation too, @itchykitten?

Hahaha, goat yoga! I hear that's a thing now...

i wish i was as nimble as a goat :)

Hi @saramiller :)

Yoga ​and Breathwork​ specifically have​ also changed my life.

Providing this knowledge for others is my goal.

Hi @kingtate! That's a great goal, so many people can benefit from yoga and breathwork. How are you working towards your goal?

Learning through experience and over consuming CEUs.

I would like to get into yoga more, Tai Chi is my main method along with Weightlifting.

Cool, breathwork can benefit your weightlifting and tai chi as well. Hope you're enjoying the learning @kingtate!

@saramiller Thanks for this awesome post! I love to take the time to relax in the morning with yoga. I wish I could live next to a waterfall to combine some yoga/meditation time :P

Oh man, @rootsoflife, living next to a waterfall is my dream! 😍
I too love to take some nice yoga in the mornings. It helps me get open, centered, focused, and grateful, and it really sets the tone for the rest of my day.

Yoga and Meditation are great for the body and mind!

Oh yes, @cryptosight--so so so so so so great!! I don't know any other exercise that brings such great balance to the body, mind, and soul all at once.

Just got back into practice. That first photo is definitely inspiring.

Woohoo, congratulations for returning @thatgrlbeth!!! That pose is surprisingly more about balance than strength. Keys for me are starting with the chest down, bringing the weight into the fingertips, locking the ankles together to anchor it, extending through the legs, and lifting up the upper body. It's really awesome and fun when you get the hang of it!!

I don't think that Yoga can make one slim.

Hmmm...If you're sitting in meditation all day, then maybe not. But if you're doing a few hours of physical postures in a 105 degree room, then yoga may make one slim. It depends on what style or focus you make your practice.

I see, will try Yoga and gonna see if it does works.

Yoga has helped with my chronic pain. I recommend it to and one that has neuropathy and or back pain.

That is really exciting and wonderful to hear, @chrisrelihan! I had chronic hip pain when I started, and within a month it was gone. I also know people who turned to yoga as an alternative to surgery for scoliosis, and they fully healed as well. #legit #miracle

Hey Sara <3
Second one is Taj Mahal right? Thanks for sharing your life :)

Hey @inviter! Yes it is :)
You're welcome, and thanks for swinging by! 💛

My pleasure dear, followed you! Will look forward for more content in future :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45