W.W.'s Top 5 Photos Of Steemit :: 007 :: March 11, 2018

in #wwtop5pix6 years ago (edited)

To learn more about W.W.'s Top 5 Photos of Steemit, visit this post.

If you want to increase the visibility of your photography to be considered for W.W.'s Top 5 Photos of Steemit, be sure to use this tag:

#wwtop5pix

:: REMINDER ::

This is not a contest. It is merely my own subjective opinion; a collection of images that speak to me the loudest. The only requirement I have is that they must be original photographs that you created. Please also post the gear & settings that were used.

Also, there is no set schedule for when these will be posted, because it all depends on how long it takes me to find 5 of what I consider to be the best of the best photos on Steemit at any given moment. Considering that photos get posted to all the different photography-related tags literally about 5 to 10 per second, it can take a while to wade through everything to find the gems, and then to confirm their authenticity.

100% of all liquid SBD earnings for these posts
will be split among the featured photographers.

Today's Top 5 Photos of Steemit

1. "Dusk in Pacific Rim National Park" by @circa1983

I actually wanted to include this in the post for #006, but I already had my 5 photos picked out, and the post expires tomorrow evening so I wanted to hurry and post this so there was time left to give circa1983 some upvote love. I love the gradients in the different layers of the distant landscape. And the color is just awesome. The warm tones in the sky and the water blend perfectly here. I'm also fond of the positioning of the person, in the upper-right quadrant for a slam dunk with the rule of thirds, as well as facing inward to lead the viewer into the environment, rather than off the frame. Very well done.

2. "SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry: Night Violin" by @derekkind

This portrait is straight up awesome. There are a couple of exposures at play here, which were then composited later. The violinist is located in the exact right spot in the lower-right quadtrant in accordance with the rule of thirds, and the exposure for the Milky Way background is perfect.

3. "Truly Sacred Mountain II" by @gotravel

The sun rays drew me to this one. I love the layering going on here, with the foreground sloping downward to the right at the bottom, the perpendicular sun rays just beyond that, and the mountain peak reaching up right in the center at the top. I like the conversion to black & white here, although it makes me curious to know what this scene looked like in color.

4. "Chasing Shadows" by @adriansky

The camera's position in this image is very unique. It makes me wonder where exactly he was - up in a building, perhaps. Maybe in a pedestrian overpass of some kind. In either case, the timing couldn't have been better, both in day AND in season. According to the EXIF data in the image, the date was March 14, 2016, which would've put it about a week before Spring equinox, explaining how the shadows could be reaching straight up the road, rather than diagonally, as the sun set almost perfectly due west. Perfect execution.

5. "Slacker Hill, San Francisco" by @joleenwillis

As a portrait/engagement/wedding photographer myself, I can't help but appreciate this image. It mostly speaks for itself, but one thing it definitely attests to is that you don't need clouds in the sky to make for a great sunset photo. Honestly, this would look fantastic hung on a wall as either a wrapped canvas, or perhaps either a large, ultra-high gloss metal print, or even a large acrylic print. The color reproduction would be amazing.

Thanks for tuning into 007!
Be on the lookout for 008 soon!
Also be sure to follow @photomatic and @photofeed to see more fantastic and honest photo curation.

Now go follow and/or vote on the aforementioned photographers! They deserve it!

Also be sure to join the W.W.'s Top 5 Photos of Steemit Discord Channel!

If you're interested in helping with this initiative,
please consider giving delegation.
Click here to learn more.

Sort:  

That is a fine collection. Beautiful choices all round. I particularly love the second one with the starry sky and violin. Gorgeous shot.

Thank you so much for the share Winston! It's so nice to be noticed by another photographer. I can't wait to check out the others on the list!

Thank you, @winstonwolfe!!! And I'm looking forward to checking out the other photographers on this list - some of them are new to me. :)

Hi there! I really appreciate you sharing my image, glad you like it. I enjoyed redding you comment, to answer your question here is the same mountain, a bit different shot as it was taken one day later from another location but light conditions were almost the same :) Thanks again! https://steemit.com/photofeed/@gotravel/truly-sacred-mountain

I hope My works will be selected one day...

Keep trying, for sure! I like your work.
When I look for images for the top 5, I literally just scroll down with my eyes on the images, totally disregarding names.

nice photography and steemit information are very beautiful choices all round in the post.

Great choices, great photographers. thanks for these elections

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43