COMING UP: The Return Of "W.W.'s TOP 5 PHOTOS OF STEEMIT"

in #wwtop5pix6 years ago (edited)


I wanted to go ahead and make a post outlining the initiative I'm starting back up. The wheels need to be turning before landing if you want to hit the ground moving, right? And if I manage to get a sizable delegation, the impact this initiative could have would be much greater. So, resuming with an upcoming post (probably either tonight or tomorrow), I'm going to be posting the "W.W.'s Top 5 Photos of Steemit" photo curation series again, featuring images from talented photographers I find in the photography tag who seem to be getting lost in the shuffle.

Aside from the standard "photography" tag, no special tags are required when posting your image. Just post as you normally would, and I will peruse the photography tag personally and curate my favorites. HOWEVER, you're welcome to add the tag #wwtop5pix if you want to increase your visibility with me. ;-)

THIS IS NOT A CONTEST.

It is merely my own subjective opinion; a collection of images that speak to me the loudest. The only requirement I have is that they must be original photographs that you created, and you must include the camera gear and settings used to create it. Measures will be taken to validate the authenticity of each image as carefully as possible, as there still seems to be a lot of plagiarism - in fact more than ever.

My choices will be backed by 20 years experience in photography, Photoshop, videography, and graphic design. I started in high school in the mid/late 90's, I worked for about 2 1/2 years in sales in a pro camera specialty store between 1999 and 2001, then as a graphic technician at a pro imaging lab for over 5 years, and I've been a photography business owner since 2004.

Please Keep In Mind:

This curation series will NOT actually show any images in any of the posts. My job will be to provide links to the posts by the original authors which contain the pics. This way they get the biggest chance at getting the upvote love by giving incentive to the reader to go there and see it. In addition, however, 100% of the liquid SBD that the wwtop5pix posts earn will be divvied up among the photographers featured in them. I will keep none of it aside from the non-liquid SP.

This is also THE ONLY post I will self-upvote so as to maximize payouts for those photographers - and that's true with or without delegation, even if it means I'm only handing out 2 cents per photographer. And for those who may be concerned about it, my own photos are disqualified from being included, although I may still include the tag on them to increase visibility.

I love this place, but it really does need some TLC. The platform has done so much for me in the past almost 2 years, and I feel it's time to give back. This initiative is what I have to offer our community, and I hope for it to be one of the most recognizable (that's me aiming high and, frankly, not necessarily expecting to get there). Aside from hoping to be successful on Steemit in general (like anyone else here), my mission since I joined was to become a positive figure that this community can look up to.

Of course, there are other photography curation iniatives, such as @photofeed and @photomatic, and they have their own way of doing their curation, but I'm ready to throw my hat in the ring and do my part - because, let's face it, the photography section is enormous. It's one of (if not THE) busiest sections on the entire site, and it's easy for one's image to get lost literally in a matter of seconds or minutes. The more of us who are doing honest curation there, the quicker we can clean this place up and make it look at least halfway like a place talented photographers would want to post their work.

If you're interested in helping with this initiative,
please consider giving delegation.
Click here to learn more.

Sort:  

Man, i am so glad to see more and more initiatives like this. I am a curator and co-founder for @photomatic and i know that there is so much place here for many curation posts that help photographers.

Good luck and may the best photos be featured!

I'll help you guys if you help me. I'm tired of seeing the best stuff at the bottom.
I should have my first post sometime in the next 24 hours.

I will talk with the team about this, but how do you see this collaboration? I personally always like to get along with everybody and help as much as i can :)

So far, the photos I've seen you guys feature are top-shelf (or as close as you can get here on Steemit), so I have no problem upvoting your posts because I consider what you're doing to be honest curation. I'm particular about the photos I choose - they really have to stick out to catch my attention, so it's nice to see others doing similar initiatives with similar tastes. Frankly, I see us as parallel initiatives rather than ones that could be merged, so I don't necessarily mean something like that. But if you like what I'm presenting, by all means feel free to upvote.

We can help each other every time we like what we see on our posts. And beside the upvote, we can also resteem good features for more visibility. I like the idea of an alliance between curation pages, in the end it really helps the photographers that are featured there.

As you can see, i am new here and i was helped so much by @photofeed and @ocd with their features. The idea for @photomatic was to help others that need it.

I spoke with the whole team, and they are on board with what i said above. So, let's start helping good and quality content get the visibility it needs!

What I like about this, @winstonwolfe, is that you're going to be pulling images from the #photography feed. A noble and time-consuming task, maybe! :)

Perhaps, but as I've said, I'm particular about the images I choose. I know immediately if it's an image I want to feature. The time consuming part is actually trying to finding out if it's stolen or not.

Hello,
i have two questions
Quote:
they must be original photographs that you created
what exactly means that? Is it about metatags, copyrightinfos?

include the camera gear and settings used to create it.
This infos can be seen in the exif, right?
Nonetheless it should be writtem in the post too?

Regrards
e.

  1. This should be pretty self-explanatory. It must be YOUR photograph that YOU created. Some people here like to post the photography of other people, which disqualifies the image(s) from being chosen.

  2. Including your settings - even if that info is embedded in the image - shows me you know what you're doing. Some people don't even know what EXIF info is. And no, not all images contain complete EXIF information depending on how it was saved, where it was uploaded to, etc. For example, images on websites like Facebook or Imgur are completely stripped of their EXIF data. So if someone is copy/pasting an image from there, no EXIF data will show up.

good to see this will try to use the #Wwtop5pix but we are already limited to 5 tags it's hard to pick sometimes what to use and not

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54953.89
ETH 2913.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03