They Burned - Writing Prompts Week 4

in #writingprompts6 years ago (edited)

This post is a submission to @themarkymark's Writing Prompts (Week 4)

The theme is: “The first time I realized I was a wizard.”

———

# They Burned

# By @dirge

It took thirty-three years. A rotten childhood of hustling street corners, slinging dope followed by a lifetime of mistakes, till I discovered who I was. A wizard. But it was a hell of thing to find out while thrown away in maximum security. Worse, still, while being on death’s door.

Sort:  

I enjoyed reading this story, great job!

Hi dirge,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

thanks for the consideration and vote. This was a nice thing to wake up to

Great story. Even though the premise was revealed you still kept some elements of surprise.
Great narrator. We can see his voice reflect his changes and experience.

His body was burned had and black and the police later called me a monster for it.

Interesting point, revealing the double standards of the time. Black men and women were lynched in the most horrible ways and no white person who participated, even as observer, thought of themselves as such.
The end itself felt like lighting!

Hi. Thanks for reading. I think I should have spent more time editing some minor points on this story (going to do that now). Happy you enjoyed it. I wanted to show that the narrator was far from innocent, but still not guilty

I love how you did write your story. It has a bit of suspense in there and you were able to get one looking forward to what's gonna happen next. It is a pretty good narration.

Thank God he was able to save himself, I guess they should have known from the start that it won't be an easy one with him.

Great story.

Posted using Partiko Android

Shooting lighting from your hand is one of the coolest powers I can think of, I love how you put this story and how now with all the influx of superhero material this could pass as a darker origin story for some Static alternate universe.


This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 to 24 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in a reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@elfranz#3985). A personal perspective from the author add great value and makes it so much fun!

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Franz (@curie curator)

Hi. Thanks for the invitation to be showcased again. @curie remains the paragon of supporting creative works on the platform.

I'm happy to continue posting material on the platform. It's been almost a year since joining, and although the 2018 turned out to be quite the crash, I came for some STEEM and stayed for the community.

Steemit has been a great way to connect with other fiction writers and polish the craft through a number of contests. "Finish the Story", through @bananafish is one of those contests. Through this network, after a year I've written more in 2018 then my entire life. It's helped me work towards a consistent writing routine, and reignited my interest in completing novel-length work. So STEEM has become a second, if not consequential, to my primary use of the platform.

Its history makes us think about hiw an event in our youth can change our whole life history

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80