Plain Mike's Writing Prompt Challenge - Nostalgia

in #writingprompt7 years ago

Why does it always seem life was easier in the past? We have never truly been able to shake nostalgia as a race, no matter how much we evolve. Amara made me wish it was 2035 again, back when we were still human.

We were not supposed to have emotions anymore, they were shackles that had held down our race, and we had evolved to get rid of that defect –and much more. I had forgotten what it meant for something to be beautiful; she reminded me when she walked into my charging station. As androids we had to recharge our batteries, and I run a charging station in an area that used to be Kenya, now known as Area 7.

I became an android in 2036 after we were thrust into nuclear winter. A certain doctor had developed the android technology to help save the human race, and –in his words –perfect it. He shared his technology with the survivors, who had converged in Africa after most of the world was destroyed. We no longer needed to eat or sleep; we only hibernated out of the need to feel human. Slowly our emotions disappeared too, we also didn’t have to die, if your body gets worn out you just request for new parts.

In our rebuilt society of zombies everyone had a role and no one went against the established order. Not until she walked into my charging station. She made me remember what it was like to feel, to be alive. Amara was my wife and my first love. I lost her in 2035 after she left for Europe and never made it back. It had been a hundred years and there she was again, as beautiful as ever.

She did remember me but felt nothing. What we were doing wasn’t living, the love I had in my heart had brought me back, and I felt alone in the world. I would do everything to bring her back and make her remember our love. I would do everything to make her feel the nostalgia.


This is my entry for plain Mike's creative writing challenge. The image prompt was made by @svdsdragunov. Thank you for reading.

You might also like:
Marvelous Tales Contest #12: My Dad's Rumor
Art Prompt Writing Contest: A God's Wrath

Sort:  

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occassionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

image.png

Interested in joining us? Come join our Discord server at:

https://discord.gg/7kYYrw9

#TheUnmentionables

Please upvote this comment to help us pass out higher dollar value upvotes in the future!

loved it. becoming a bit of a fan...

Excellent entry @lordmok! Well done!

I can tell the judging panel is going to have a tough time selecting a winner from the group of authors who have taken part this week!!

Thank you so much. You gave a very cool prompt.

Great entry I wish it was a happier ending =/ lol makes you think how it would be though machine operated humans... I feel like the feelings were there though and maybe they can be awakened??? .. awaiting next entry =]

Maybe they were, maybe they weren't, who knows. Thanks for reading

Sounds like something out of the Terminator story, by 2036 it might be closer to non-fiction than fiction. Good piece

That it does, I can't even imagine how advanced technology would be by then, the rate of improvement is becoming exponential as compared to the thousands of years before the internet. Thank you for reading.

It is scary how fast technology is improving. AI in no time

Hopefully we don't get blown to smithereens before we get flying cars and jetpacks

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lordmok from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

awesome entry...

you own this

Thanks bro

Good work Lordmok - the fact the your story took place in Africa reminded me of a post-apocalyptic sci-fi novel I read recently called Who Fears Death by Nigerian-American writer Nnedi Okorafor. It' was awesome, and well worth the read. Good luck on the challenge!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52