Plain Mike's Creative Writing Challenge - 20SBD Pot - Picture Prompt #1

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Greetings Fellow Steemians!

As a celebration of my early post being spotted by #curie and paying me out better than I ever expected, I want to share the wealth by offering up my first Writing Prompt Challenge!

absorbed-2409314_1280.png
Image Credit: mohamed1982eg on Pixabay

So here's what we are going to do. Each week I will be featuring the artwork of one of our fellow citizens of Steem whose art might inspire one to write. Submissions can be in the form of a short story, a poem, your own piece of art inspired by the prompt piece.

For the first iteration I am putting up a prize pool of $20sbd to be distributed as follows:

Winner - $10 SBD
Runner Up - $5 SBD
Third Place - $3 SBD
Honorable mentions - Remaining $2 Split at the judges discretion

An additional prize pool may become available should the proceeds from this post exceed the pot needed to ensure our ability to run another challenge next week.

Rules and considerations:

-There is no minimum or maximum word count to the challenge.
-Submissions must contain in the title - Plain Mike's Writing Prompt Challenge - (Entry Name)
-First tag on the post must be #writingprompt
-Once your post is up, please come back to this post and comment with a link to your entry. Entries that do not follow this step risk being overlooked.
-Each round will have a panel of three judges picking the winners. For the first round, I will be one of the judges, along with the generous @hopehuggs and another judge to be named later, stay tuned.

  • Submissions will be due in no later than Thursday, September 7, 18:00 Central Daylight Time.
    -Once the submission period ends, judges will go over the entries and a winner will be announced and payouts sent from my account no later than Sunday September 10.

If you have any questions at all, do not hesitate to post a comment below for answers.

Are you ready to get to this week's prompt??

Our prompt is brought to us by a new friend @svdsdragunov. Please give his blog a visit and check out some of the incredible pieces he has shared with us over there. Send him some follows and upvotes too! This guy has talent! The Piece is called "The Forgotten One".
https://steemit.com/art/@svdsdragunov/the-forgotten-one
DQmRH9HcXbihg57TMa1nAq9FAhtVgbsS2Y6WKCpKyF4N1sX_1680x8400.jpg

What do you think? Come up with a few ideas? Then get started!! We look forward to your entries! Please share this post around so that we can make this a weekly occurance and spark the creativity of Steem while highlighting some of the terrific art that is being done around the platform!

If you want to keep up with the progress of this and any other contests I am working on, don't forget to:

Follow
Upvote
Resteem

And join in the chat. You can usually find me one of two places:

The Unmentionables!
https://discord.gg/4UqNjs2
PAL - MSP (Peace, Abundance, Liberty - Minnow Support Project)
https://discordapp.com/invite/HYj4yvw

Interested in having your art featured in a Writing Prompt Challenge? Feel free to tell us so in comments, We will visit your blog and take a look at what you're doing and get in touch!

Thanks everyone! Keep on Steemin on!!

Sort:  

I love your idea so much I may start doing my own writing challenge and mention you as my inspiration! Thanks for the tip!

I appreciate that Jerry! I think anything that inspires creativity and cooperation is a great thing!

With your reach, I am sure you will find a plethora of creative people to make your contest thrive. Hell, I'll be entering for sure!!

Have a great one! Hope your home is doing well surviving the storm.

I really enjoyed this contest - thanks for setting it up!
Here's my entry: https://steemit.com/writingprompt/@decimus/plain-mike-s-writing-prompt-challenge-next

This is fucking Epic! I can't wait to read the stories!!! I WISH YOU ALL LUCK!
If you like the art, as Mike said please follow me, more is on the way. And as always, i will put my story up when the contest is over :)
CHEERS!

No No.. Thank you for letting me use your wonderful piece of art for the challenge. I love it! And I can't wait to see what people come up with!!

I can't wait too. I can only imagine where this will go... Pretty dark spaces to be explored tho :D
PS- Please don't kill my robot :)

OMGSH, You drew this master piece? That is amazing work!

Yes sir, i did after the contest i will upload the full color version! Thank you! Good job on the contest so far. :)

Thank you very much. Let me know when it is done. I want to give you credit on my post.

I will :P no problem!

Always following greatness I see!

Always following greatness I see!

This was fun to write and l love the art! Thank you for the prompt. Here is my entry: https://steemit.com/writingprompt/@wandrnrose7/plain-mike-s-writing-prompt-challenge-a-femmebot-scorned

Hi there! Here's my entry https://steemit.com/writingprompt/@agsttne/plain-mike-s-writing-prompt-challenge-the-forgotten-one

@svdsdragunov did an amazing job creating this original character and I hope the story is up to it.

Cheers!

Love it! Thanks for playing @agsttne!

Best of luck!!

I gave this one a go. Here is my entry called Robo Girl :D

Yes, I am going to enter this one. You named her "Robo Girl".
Thanks for the heads up. I am nearly finished and will have it up soon.
Btw did you send me a link for discord? Got to step up my game if I want to be involved with the writers here. Lol. Thanks 🐓🐓

This was a great entry! Thanks for participating @authorofthings! and best of luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52