Writing Impact Challenge - Darkness, Passion, and Madness / An Original Poem

in #writingimpact7 years ago (edited)

So I know we were only supposed to pick 2-3 words, but I uh...Used all 50.
It was fun.

My Entry for @rensoul17's Writing Impact Challenge, you can check it out here;
https://steemit.com/writingimpact/@rensoul17/the-writing-impact-challenge-1

Sitting at a lovely 101 words, with 50/50 used from the contest selection!

dark-emotions-mother-nature.jpg

Image Source

Mother Darkness
Captive Passion Warms
As Rhythmic Breathe Touches,

Thirsty Vision seeks
Autumn Dream's Fire,

A Chocolate Beauty's Gratitude
Gives Father Happiness

Yet Dare he Care when
A Yellowed Photograph

His Sun and his Moon
As Leaves in the Wind

Leaving a bitter madness...

Purple Incense Epiphany
Father's Reflections,
Dark Ocean without Horizon

Listen
Violin Echoes,
As Red Snow Rains

Father's Star, his Light in the Darkness
A dying Swan, a Vision of decay

Sometimes her Music saves
Tainted Pearls of Wisdom

Too little too late
The Waters are rising now

On the table,
The last mug of Coffee

It's Cold

.
.
.
-Themadrunnah

If you like what you've read, feel free to comment, upvote, and follow!
I'll be posting daily!

Sort:  

Strong ending! I like! A little disjointed, but beautiful.

Glad you liked it! I was caught between using more words and improving the flow, or less words to preserve the fun/challenge part of what I was doing.

Dear @themadrunnah,
I'm so glad the breadcrumbs on Steemit led me to @rensoul17, which led me to this decadent poem, spare enough to allow space for my mind to roam around with imagined possibilities and meanings.

I'm glad I was able to let your mind drift through the myriad thoughts and feelings of Darkness, Passion, and Madness!
This was my first time trying to imbue a certain atmosphere through limited words and I'm so blessed that its something that's been accepted and given value by the many talented writers on steemit.
Thank you for your time and your words @eyedreemit!

Oh and you may enjoy Shards Of Madness if you have enjoyed this poem. cough shameless plug cough Where this one was more fanciful and drifting, Shards is relentless

How can I resist relentlessness?

It is really beautiful.
I did a few of the poetry dice challenge with minimal words. It is very challenging.
I think the ending is lovely, and considering you deleted half and had to rewrite, I think you did well. I probably would have cried and given up.
Resteemed.

It was actually the entire thing that was deleted ahaha! Was definitely a good 6 seconds of disbelief followed by frantically typing in random lines that I was remembering. It was good though, I'm exceedingly lazy so it was good practice!
You wont believe how hard it was to fit coffee in, I was just sitting there looking at a completed poem going Where the bloody hell am I going to put coffee!

I'm very glad you enjoyed it! And bless you for that resteem, means a lot! :)

Boo yah! I evoked emotion! Mission accomplished!
Glad you enjoyed it!

That was an unexpected ending, but truly left a powerful impact. Very nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66822.94
ETH 3490.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90