Poetry Dice Entry - Shards Of Madness / An Original Poem

in #poetrydice7 years ago (edited)

Memory's. Sometimes they're better left buried...

ghost_tree_by_chriscold-d75l8ne.jpg

Image Source

Shards Of Madness

With a ragged sigh I sink to the moist earth
A harsh cacophony of crows rings out
As I lay amongst my friends beneath the hanging tree

The scent of death wafts into my nostrils
As I stare blankly at the snapped noose
Swaying gently in the breeze above me

Mouth working soundlessly
Empty words spewing forth in a wretched gurgle
A call for help goes unanswered…

My mind is drawn irresistibly towards those years past
Of incessant tortures, nails hammered into every joint
Terrified eyes as the magnets are brought out, Creativity unsurpassed

When did it begin, the Change
The seed planted within me

Awakened

Flashes of pain, of horrors
A dark dirt hut with a guttering flame
A forceful desperate muttering

A sudden numbing spike of agony
The final memory

It Burns

Flickers of Eldritch might
An Ancient tome Rising
Then darkness…

My Eyes slowly come into focus
Amongst the death filled clearing sprouts a lone flower
It’s Wilting

Veins bulge out as a herculean effort erupts
An open hand desperately reaches for the noose
With my last strength I twist it

Once…twice...thri…

.
.
.

  • Hey people! This is my first attempt at the poetry dice challenge hosted by the lovely @robyneggs!
    Just started off thinking of the phrase moist earth and then went from there!
    Hope you enjoyed it and good luck to all the entrants!

-Themadrunnah
If you like what you've read, feel free to comment, upvote, and follow!
I'll be posting daily!

Sort:  

Visiting the depths of darkness from the light that is my gratefully joyous life can be so satisfying.

A refreshing dip into the depths!

This IS desperatley good!!!

Thank you for your support!

"My Eyes slowly come into focus
Amongst the death filled clearing sprouts a lone flower
It’s Wilting"
Oh, that's a Zinger, love it. I do have a thing for the macabre and you deliver. :)

Thank you kindly my good lady! Glad you dropped by for a read!
The dice this week were kind to me, except for magnets. I wasn't quite sure if "drawn irresistibly" was a firm enough reference so I had to slap down magnets as part of the tortures.

Fear not! For I shall continue to twist most contests/challenges in a strange, macabre way. ;)

Yes, I hear you on that, however, I think"drawn irresistibly" covers it, yet, I too did the same thing.. lol
;)

This is great poetry.... I hope you win the poetry dice.. I can say you've got a good shot at it

Thank you so much for the support!

You're welcome

Great write. I found the whole story gripping, and I loved the final lines. Great effect. Nice write.

Glad you enjoyed it! I always strive for a strong end!

Gripping!!! Exactly!!

Yes I enjoyed the beginning. This demands a second read. The memories you are hinting at sound unearthing, for sure, lol. Please DON'T share, lol.

It makes me oh so happy that it drew you back in!
They shall remain Buried...

i'm a huge advocate of your unique brand of horror storytelling with your prosetry (poetry + prose!) you do a great job of revealing the turn and conflict to the reader right as the narrator is experiencing it, rather than revealing the hand too soon.

this piece in particular has a nice way of almost luring the reader into a sense of peace and complacency with your opening, making the turn hit that much harder later.

Love it, mate, keep it up!

I'm glad you like the style! It's something that I started playing with and it turned out great!
I was hoping people would feel themselves being lured on-wards into the story, glad to see it worked!

Thank you for the support!

Awesome poem! Those bold lines make a special impression and the ending is chilling.

Thanks! Chilling is good! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87