Write a story using a newspaper article headline. Day 6. Extinctions happen.

in #writingexercise6 years ago

This is a new writing exercise for all of us aspiring fiction writers. Every day for the next week I will be posting a newspaper article without any context behind it.

The point of this exercise is to create a short fiction story based on the headline of the article regardless of what content originally followed it.

Let's use the tag #writingexercise

Every day during the next week I will upvote my favorite story at 100% which is currently about $1.10.

Together we can continue to make fiction a big part of Steemit.

DAY 6.

Extinctions happen.

  • View the headline that I provide each day

  • Come up with a story for that headline. It can be either a short fiction story or a newspaper article

  • Write a short piece. Take all the time you want.

  • Publish your piece using the title "Writing Exercise", the Day, and the title of the headline. IE.... Writing Exercise - Day 6: Extinctions happen.

Each day I will go through and upvote my favorite story at 100% which is currently $1.10.

If this exercise gains traction then it may become a permanent thing. If you have any ideas, comments, or concerns please let me know.

Please upvote and RESTEEM this to give it better exposure.

I'm only going to run this exercise for a couple more days.

じゃあね

Sort:  

Hey @jeezzle! Your exercise looks like a nice challenge. This is my submit https://steemit.com/writingexcercise/@aleli/writing-excercise-day-6-extinctions-happen
I had a confusion with the tag and posted in "writingexcercise" haha, but anyway I would like to know your opinion about my story.
Have a nice day :)


Quick Update:

I noticed right now the contest had alredy passed, sorry D: but still, nice challenge :)

I'll be running another contest soon in probably about a week.

Oh great! I'll be attentive :D

Once upon a time there was a hungry dog, He got a bone and now He is not hungry, story finished :D

Writing Exercise - Day 6: Extinctions happen
Extinction is a word that is mostly synonymous with the complete wipe-out of a species. However, I believe we are not realizing how today's fast paced world has been instrumental in the wipe-out of a lot things that once used to be the norm. There used to be a time where people shared hand-written letters. When pen and pencils used to be common modes of communication not QWERTY keyboards or touch-screen. There used to be a time when real time interactions were valued highly. Now social media has reduced it. So far the extinction is done with the stuff we use or rely upon. But I fear a future with AI or human itself getting advanced enough that may make "us" the extinct ones.

It's pretty good and definitely qualifies as what type of story I'm looking for. However, when I say publish I mean publish it as your own post in order to enter. I've upvoted this post.... good story.

I have also published as my own post. Do I need to add a tag?

Also do follow me and check my posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87