Rhino Rules Contest #2: Animal Stories -- Quick Silver

in #writingcontest7 years ago (edited)

SilverGoodFisher.jpg


Silver Good-Fisher shot across the tops of the waves.

Land was close and she was fast approaching the place where the breakers pounded themselves into spray and foam. Here at the surface where the Great Deep met the sky, the water was warm and pleasant. Joy and water blended in a symphony of wind and wave. The scents of salt, weed, fish, crab and mollusk--both the living and the dead--were a heady mixture. It was almost enough for her to forget the loss of her pod, of her mother. Her adopted pod members were fun, but they were not yet family.


This story has been removed by the author.

If you are a writer, come and join us at @ink-ubator

Sort:  

Lovely story! But I guess I say that about everything you write. :-)

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thank you @gmuxx. I am honored and humbled to accept.

I'm late to the reading party, but this was very good. It felt effortless to read, and of course the visual thoughts of the dolphin were superb. Great story!

Thank you @negativer. I really do appreciate the kind words.

I liked how you described the boats, trees, etc. from things a dolphin would understand, instead of just calling them boats and trees. But I think Silver should have gotten a fish in the end :D

Oooh you are so right! How did I not think of that? The old guy could have thrown her a fish. sigh...maybe I'll do a quick "director's cut" version one day with the fish for Silver at the end. Thanks for reading and for the excellent editorial suggestion too. I really appreciate it.

What a wonderful piece - so many perfect lines and glistening images here. I worked around dolphins at Discovery Cove. I used to watch the babies play in the nursery, and they are every bit as smart and people-like as you portray.

I really love dolphins. I've never had the experience of working around them so I'm super jealous. Thanks for the kind words @geke!

Beautifully told. I am officially a fan.

Thank you Jon. Don't forget I've read your stuff too, so that's right back at you.

As always, you are a joy to edit and work with. Poor Carol is going to have a horrible time picking winners with what the workshop is pouring out!

Bex, you got that right!
There's this Clueless Collie, and
a Border Collie vs The Beast in the Bathroom,
A rottweiler vs a raging bull,
A busy bee vs a crow-like bird (Aussie name is Tui?),
and more to come.
Hey! I can post in week 3, "Readers, cast your votes" - to help sway me if I need help choosing :-)

if you need help choosing you can find a guest judge to help you if she hasn't made an entry herself by then.

Thank you @bex-dk. I appreciate your editing and care very much.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thinknzombie to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks writing contest!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Is it not enough to know the evil to shun it? If not, we should be sincere enough to admit that we love evil too well to give it up.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39