What is Friendship? | A Life Lesson on Friendship | The Truth About Friendship

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians!

Today I would like to share an event that has happened in my life and what I have learned from it.

A few years ago, at the most unexpected moment I received a news. It was from my best friend about the passing of her beloved father. So I attended the funeral on the following day which was on Christmas Eve. I knew the uncle personally and we have had meals together in their home like a family. It was shocking and I never thought I will see him in such a state. I was sad and couldn’t come to terms with reality. I took part in the ceremony of paying the last respects along with my other friend although usually it’s only the family members that do. The uncle was like our father.

My friend was beyond inconsolable because she has lost one of the pillars of her life, her father. Now on top of that, she was also upset that a substantial number of our friends never turned up although they lived in the same area. She sent the news about his passing to everyone especially the ones nearby. However, only a small number of us were there for her as friends. We could count the ones who showed up with our fingers on our single palm. At that point of time, we learned who our real friends were.

Friends are not the ones who chat us up daily, share jokes, gossips, good morning texts or even the ones who wish us birthdays. Friends are the ones who are there for us at the time of need. On that day, my friend hit the rock bottom of her life and she expressed how sad she felt when a majority of our friends never turned up although their homes were just a stepping stone away. Nevertheless, she was grateful to the ones who did show up. I can’t help but recall this memory every time it is Christmas Eve. I know it is important to focus on positivity. But life is made of both extremes. Rest in peace, uncle. Your sufferings and battles have ended and you are in a much better place now.

P.S. I would like to thank my mom, dad and brother for being there for me and helping me to take me to pay my last respects to uncle. Also, thank you mom for attending the funeral with me.

DSC01204 gimp photoscape (1280x960).jpg
A sweet memory captured with my friends during our outing

My recent posts:

Happy Women’s Day
We learn more about someone at the end of the relationship than in the beginning
Mobile Mandala Art/Digital Colouring
AN OPEN REPLY TO MY ABUSIVE EX’S THREATENING EMAIL
An Open Letter to My Ex
My Toxic Love Story

Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny

About me: I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48