CV advice needed, please HELP!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone,

Today I was going to do a post about my plans for the future since my resignation, however this will have to wait a bit longer until I have some stuff sorted out. I am currently re-writing my CV so any advice (especially in Switzerland) would be appreciated.

cv-696x464.jpg
Image Source: legacymagazine.com

It's been a year since my last update and I am going to focus on a different industry, so I have one question for you, could you give me some Buzzwords when you think about a Business Analyst.

Think about skills required, education, experience, anything that you can think off. If you know someone you don't like that is a Business Analyst, what don't you like about him or her. If you envy someone who's a BA, what is it you like about him/her or what is it that they enjoy about it? If you're someone who hires Business Analysts, would you prefer to see a CV like I have in my image above or do you prefer something more like the ones below:

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-28 um 19.54.58.png
Image Source: interviewme.pl

dc66a37e-df00-4616-9a6c-bd53289457da.jpeg
Image Source enevato.com

Let me know which one you like or which one you think is total crap! I want to know it all, so that I have inspiration to build my new CV from scratch and I know the right people are here on steemit.com to help me out.

This is my current CV picture, if you compare it to my latest pictures here, you know that it looks different from what I look like now, shall I use it or shall I make a new one? What is your advice, shall I use a casual one or a professional one?

Unbenannt.png

Even if you can't help yourself, please share my post and ask your friends. You know I never ask for favours, but this time I'm asking as I'm at a crucial stage in my life and I know that your feedback will be more essential than ever.

Thank you, I really appreciate it.

Doron

Sort:  

From a Business Analyst I would imagine to see a CV that is well structured and concise. Avoid pictures and symbols. Keep it clean and tidy. I wouldn't expect a business analyst to be using creative design and colors...

I would take the time to take a new formal picture with a neutral background.

In terms of content I would start with a paragraph that describes your main competences and strengths before starting with your former work experiences.

Hope this helps, good luck

That helps a lot, thank you very much! Very good analysis and it always helps to get a different perspective on things. I really appreciate it.

Hey, I like if u create your individual CV. But if I had to choose I said the first one. It looks very professional. :-)

And of course... A new picture is very needed. I‘ve a photostudio in lucerne if u interested. ;-) Hit me up on Dischord. :D You invited me in the swisssteem chat some days ago. :)

Thanks for the advice, the Cv's are just an idea of what I'm contemplating, I will do my own CV in the end, but it gives me an idea what I should aim for. I'd love to come to Luzern, unfortunately it's a bit out of my way, thanks for the offer. If I'm in the neighboorhood and still need a picture I'll let you know.

Honestly...
The last one looks like crap :p I was never an employee, but I would probably think it was taken from some coloring book.
I like the second one (except those little icons )

If I can give any advise - keep it clean and professional. Simple, to the point, important parts highlighted and easy to find.
Not sure what a future boss will like. Maybe some like to read all the sweet stuff (that most id exaggerated anyway most of the time)

Thank you for your PoV, it really helps a lot to get a different opinion and it re-affirms my thoughts as well.

Hi Doron, i know little of BA profiling but i would think of a BA as a procedure liking type of professional, hence a more neat and structural cv may be more recommended. I have to say though the creative CVs you shown are pretty nice, more fitting a digital role with creativity that is. Re the pic id suggest a mono-colour background and recent picture. Good luck dear wolfje. If any help needed i'll be happy to help. Bests

Thank you, this helps me a lot already and gives me some ideas on how to start off. Most people tend to stick with one CV, but I want to switch to increase me potential and seriousness on the market.

I have no idea about business analysts, however if I had to choose from a resume I would choose the middle one. It is very appealing and modern to me. Also I suggest you do a professional picture from a photographer.

Here in Ticino I have seen the worst resumes in my life. Selfies (both male and female), pictures at the beach or in the restaurant, men with kissing lips, ladies in front of palm trees, bad resolution and I can go on and on.

The level here in Ticino is very low and then the Ticinesi wonder why they don’t get a job...

LOL, I've heard about this and even gotten some CV's like that when I was a Hotelmanager. Thank you for your feedback!

I used to work as somebody who was reading CVs and hiring Business Analysts.

  • My view is that CV has to look structured, professional, well written and to the point. I also think that using a template from the web as a starting point is totally fine, just later add a personal touch in form.
  • I also recommend that you add one paragraph in which you describe your strong point or two that you have and add the concrete case of how you used it in certain situtation(s) (think around your biggest success from working history... which of your personal traits was the most important in achieving it?). So do not describe this in bragging manner but only to give the potential employer sense of what you are proud of (and what are your strong points).
  • Be sincere and open.
  • Conclude with few open sentences about what are your values and hobbies and attitudes towards work. (it is great if you check vision and values of the company and show that you have a match at least on one or some of them).
  • A photo has to be the pro one and it has to match your current look. I believe that is best to go with business casual (tie not necessary anymore).
    Lots of luck!

WOW, I appreciate your thorough feedback and it really helps coming from someone who has experience hiring BA's that adds more value to your opinion. I will take these points to heart. Thank you very much!

You are very welcome! Fingers crossed for your next great job!

@Wolfje, You are making the most vital steps by presenting yourself as someone available and well suited for desired career. A Girl will share to gather more views, my kind gentleman.

(P.S. technology is amazing these days... Simply take a wonderful picture of your kind face and present that to the new world. Genuine is always better.)

Thank you! You're making me blush

On google you can get some good samples of CV popular in your country. Another way is asking a job agency to take a look at your CV, they should tweek it for you.

Thank you for the advice, I have not been to see any so far, as I'm still employed and it's only started recently, but I'll take your advice to heart.

I dont mind looking at it for you. I do find that putting a picture on a cv is too personal. I have to update my Cv regular as Im always studying further. Plus if you dont update it, you forget or it just piles up.

I've taken a CV from the internet to use, however a picture in Switzerland is kind of a must! Not really something that I can do something about.

Aww okay, I do hope you manage to get it sorted.

very interesting post, I really enjoy when reading it ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60209.30
ETH 2627.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55