Typewriters: The Ultimate Writing MachinessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

Do you find it hard to stay focused when you're doing work on the Internet? I sure do. Especially if what I'm trying to write involves a bit of research, or videos I want to share from YouTube, or responses to things other folks wrote which I need to track down and properly link and attribute. Within a few minutes after sitting down at the computer I find I've got a dozen tabs open with stuff I want to watch or read or reply to, and that's without even considering all the time I can spend fussing around with Spotify playlists.

There are lots of tools out there to help. Scrivener writing software has an elegant full-screen mode that gives you a blank page to look at, blocking out everything else on your desktop (including its suite of useful organizational tools). FocusWriter is a free Windows application that gives you the same single-minded experience, and it turns out there's a lot of paid versions that do the same thing.

Even with a single-minded application in your face, though, the temptation to toggle over Google or social media, or to pick up the old smart-phone can be too great. So how about cutting off the problem at the source? A program called Freedom can, for $6.99 a month, block your access to these resources for the periods you specify.

That starts to seem a little crazy. Now we're spending money to block access to the services we spent money to obtain. These addictions are strong, and it's no surprise they can drive us to extreme measures. But talk about first-world problems!

I'm pleased to report that I've found an even better distraction-free writing tool for the modern author. The manual typewriter.

SmithCoronaSuperSterlingTypewriter.jpg

Consider the advantages:

Manual typewriters operate without electricity. If you're survivalist-minded, you can use them in the apocalypse. They are fairly straightforward to maintain. A couple of screwdrivers and a bit of patience and curious prodding can get to the root of most of their mechanical problems, and if that's not enough, there are still dedicated servicemen around who can restore the more neglected and abused machines. Some of these typewriters have lasted 100 years and will likely make it 100 more. Their only consumables are paper and ribbons, both of which (believe it or not) are still available at office supply stores.

Best of all, they serve a single purpose: putting words on paper. They can't stream music. They can't play videos. They can't show you all the cool stuff your friends are doing while you're sitting in a dim room putting words on paper. They don't interrupt you to install updates or run anti-virus checks. They don't get viruses! It's just you, your hand-muscles, and your head-muscle.

Granted, it can take some getting used to. Pressing the keys takes a bit more effort, and when you reach the end of the line and hear that satisfying "ding", you've got to reach out and slide the carriage back to the beginning again. Typing at speed becomes a full upper body experience, more akin to playing the piano than tapping a laptop, or thumbing a tablet. As with hand-writing, I find this stimulates the imagination in ways I don't experience with more "advanced" technology.

The other big challenge is the lack of a "delete" key. There's no going back once you've made a mark. This slows me down a bit in the short term, as I tend to sit and think for a few seconds more before I'll put down a sentence. I'm okay with the fact that these are rough-draft machines. There's nothing wrong with trying the same sentence a few different ways and crossing out the ones that don't work, and winding up with an indelible record of the thought-process that brought me there. Surprisingly enough, I usually end up with better-reading copy when I start this way, probably because of the extra thought that goes into the first draft. When I start at the computer, there's a lot more cutting, pasting, and rearranging before I've produced the final product.

I've collected a couple dozen typewriters over the years, but more recently, on a minimalism kick, I've given away all but six. Give a typewriter to a kid and watch their eyes light up. There's something about the physicality of these machines that they really respond to. Kids these days don't often get to interact directly with devices that react directly to their input, and they find it fascinating. I gave one to the daughter of a co-worker a while back. It weighed over 25 pounds and she insisted on lugging it with her to school every day for the next week.

Here's a "kids react" video that shows some of this fascination.

The Smith Corona Super Sterling in the picture above is probably the best performing typewriter I've got, and it came to me for free from our local dump swap-shop. Miracle of miracles, it was in like-new condition, barely used and well maintained. I've gotten others at thrift stores, antique shops, and yard sales, and even received a few as gifts. Because typewriters were manufactured for over 100 years, once you start looking out for them, it's amazing how often they turn up.

Tom Hanks is a dedicated typewriter collector. Historians David McCullough and Robert Caro work almost exclusively on manual machines. So does Cormac McCarthy - he used a heavily worn but still stylish Olivetti Lettera until selling it at auction for a quarter million dollars and giving the proceeds to charity. They've become a lot more popular in the general population as well of late. A community of enthusiasts calling themselves the Typosphere have gotten into the habit of collecting and restoring typewriters, then sharing their experiences on typewritten pages which they scan and upload to their blogs. An inefficient exercise, to be sure, but one I've enjoyed myself in the past.

Richard Polt is perhaps the foremost authority in manual typewriters at the moment, and I'm happy to see that his book The Typewriter Revolution is doing so well. I'm also looking forward to catching California Typewriter when it plays at a local film-festival. The preview is below. But be careful - it's all too easy to burn hours watching typewriter videos when you could be writing!

Sort:  

Excellent article, I wish I could be half as good at writing as you are.

I've always enjoyed the look, sound, and feel of a typewriter. When I was younger my mother had an electric one that I used to love loading up with paper and just writing on. I can't remember what it was that I used to write but I'd love to see some of those old pieces of paper, haha. And speaking of the paper, that was something else I loved about using a typewriter, you could feel the words on the page, it wasn't just flat ink, there was real depth caused by the letter stamping into the paper.

When it comes to writing my thoughts or working out ideas I tend to go the pen and paper route but pretty much everything else I do is on a computer, and it really can be very distracting. Having said that I also think being able to access a world of information when you're writing something can be extremely useful, especially when you're a dunce like me who can barely spell even simple words, haha.

You mention Freedom as a paid program that blocks access to the wonderful world wide web of distractions but if I remember correctly there used to be a free google chrome extension that did the same thing, you would set a timer and the internet was inaccessible for the duration.

Oh, and that's a nice looking meerschaum next to that Smith Corona too.

Pen and paper is a great route too - I'll probably write something about my fountain pens in the near future! (Neal Stephenson writes his 1500 page door-stoppers with a fountain pen!)

I know what you mean - for access to information, not to mention spell-check, the computer can't be beat. That's why I'm glad to have both tools at my disposal. (And of course where would we be without photo editing.)

You know that meerschaum has taken 15 years to get that dark. Slow going...

Thanks again for sharing my stuff!

Fountain pens are the jam. My Metropolitan Pilot, only $20 at the store, has lasted me 1.5 years and counting with no problems. I can't even use ballpoint pens anymore.

No access to a typewriter right now though... I did play a show at a community arts space in a tiny town in Indiana, where they had several typewriters, and it was a completely different experience from writing on a laptop. It would be fun to have one around the house.

Like I said, keep your eyes open - it's surprising how often they turn up!

I think I used a super cheap fountain pen years ago when I was in school, I couldn't imagine writing a whole book with one.

Wow, 15 years? That's crazy. It must take generations for some meerschaums to get that full colouration. I wouldn't mind picking myself up a nice meerschaum, maybe I'll eventually be able to buy one with my earnings from steemit. After that I'll start saving for a typewriter, haha.

This meer has pretty thick walls. I'm pretty sure a smaller one would color up a lot faster. I've been working on this one too long, though - it's too late to start over! (To be honest, with 30 pipes in the collection I don't smoke this one all that often.)

Treat yourself to a nice fountain pen someday and you'll be surprised what a pleasure they are to write with. The Lamy Safari pens available on Amazon are very satisfying for a reasonable price, actually.

Thirty pipes is a lot to choose from, it's not surprising you wouldn't smoke any one of them all that often. So far I have one decent Peterson, two cheap, no-name basket pipes, and a couple Missouri Meerschaum corn cobs.

It was only the other day I was thinking about making a post to see if there were many pipe smokers on here. I know youtube and instagram have a fairly active pipe community and thought maybe we could get one going on steemit too.

I might check out that pen. My only worry is that my handwriting is so bad that a fountain pen might be wasted on me, haha. Oh, well, only one way to find out.

I spent about a dozen years working in a couple of tobacco shops, so I tended to accumulate a few briars. Actually I got that meerschaum from a sales rep for free when the shop took on a dozen CAO pipes for its inventory.

Funny, no one has used the "pipe" or "pipes" tag yet. There are just a few "cigar" and "cigars" posts, though, and only handful of "smoking". Maybe we can lead the charge!

Wow, well you really can't go wrong with a free meerschaum, or any free pipe to be fair.

Well, there's no time like the present to try and populate those tags. If you're feeling up to it I think you should be the one to lead the charge, not only because your writing is far better and more engaging than mine, but also because you have more experience. I only started my little pipe smoking hobby at the start of this year whereas you've worked in the industry to some degree, haha.

Either way, I do have a tobacco related post in the works, I just have to get around to actually doing some research on the subject.

Thanks for the compliments. I think your writing is just fine, and the thing about writing is it gets better the more you do it. Like breaking in a pipe!

I will probably have some smoking posts coming up soon. Welcome to the hobby!

That starts to seem a little crazy. Now we're spending money to block access to the services we spent money to obtain.

Yess, isn't that just the epitome of CRAZY?? Good point! Makes me shake my head and wonder what we are becoming. Great post, of course brings back memories of working on typewriters...there really was nothing so satisfying as hearing that ding! I want to find one for our kids, they need to know, feel, and understand, they will LOVE it I'm certain.

And I totally agree 100%, I write way better pen on paper, I cannot song write at all on the computer, it just doesn't happen! Also, I can't read books on the computer, or kindle or what have you either. It's strange...

Well, if we ever take a trip up your way I'll bring along a typewriter to trade for some produce. ;-)

I really do enjoy analog for a lot of things but I've got to admit I like digital reading. Knowing I've got my whole library in the palm of my hand and the biggest bookstore in the history of mankind a click away and that I can read without switching on a light when I can't sleep in the middle of the night. It may also have to do with the fact that we've moved on average every two years and that big library was getting heavier and heavier.

HAHAAHA Yes, books are a large burden to carry around! I remember one time, when I gave away most my possessions to go hitchhiking around, I didn't want to get rid of my books...and then I thought, these are my heaviest material possession...I have to let them go to prove to myself I can do this, to really "drop the weight" of my attachments. I still friggin miss some of them won't lie!! AHHAHAHAHAAA

Would LOVE to take you up on that offer!! OMG would be AMAZING to meet you and your lovely wife!!

I immediately thought of California Typewriter when I started reading this, cos I saw the trailer a couple days back. But since you embedded it at the end your post, lemme give you another one I watched just today:

Yeah, who knew typewriters aren't that boring after all. Turns out you can get into real trouble using them. You can become a veritable action hero!

Cool - that's going to the top of my watch list. Points for a first generation IBM Selectric typewriter with the narrow carriage, and in white, no less!

But damn, I can't seem to find the movie anywhere. And that trailer only has 26 views?!?!?

Points for a first generation IBM Selectric typewriter with the narrow carriage, and in white, no less!

😄 👍

Yeah couldn't find it either. Sad emoji...

Maybe in the future, since the trailer went up on IMDb only yesterday, maybe they're planning a re-release or something.

Or maybe I should search by the French title, and then look for separate English subs.

Yes, so much this! I can't focus for beans on a computer writing a first draft. First draft is typed on my typewriter (bought off Craigslist, btw), then I pen edit it, then I type it into Word (which naturally leads to more editing), then I print it out and pen edit it again, then I read it on a Kindle and make notes of more edits. Then I get the first copy from the printer and cuss a lot about formatting... lol.
I'm a pretty fast typist (on a computer, 100wpm; haven't timed it on my typewriter), but since Amergin (I named my typewriter) is from the 40s the keyboard layout is different, so when I switch from one to the other, there is a bit of muscle memory pause as I recall which machine I'm on!

I know what you mean about the muscle memory. It takes me a while to stop reaching for the carriage return lever, and I pound the hell out of my computer keyboards thinking I need the strength to make clear copy.

But nothing beats it for shutting out the distractions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65100.88
ETH 3526.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36