You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Typewriters: The Ultimate Writing Machines

in #writing7 years ago

Yes, so much this! I can't focus for beans on a computer writing a first draft. First draft is typed on my typewriter (bought off Craigslist, btw), then I pen edit it, then I type it into Word (which naturally leads to more editing), then I print it out and pen edit it again, then I read it on a Kindle and make notes of more edits. Then I get the first copy from the printer and cuss a lot about formatting... lol.
I'm a pretty fast typist (on a computer, 100wpm; haven't timed it on my typewriter), but since Amergin (I named my typewriter) is from the 40s the keyboard layout is different, so when I switch from one to the other, there is a bit of muscle memory pause as I recall which machine I'm on!

Sort:  

I know what you mean about the muscle memory. It takes me a while to stop reaching for the carriage return lever, and I pound the hell out of my computer keyboards thinking I need the strength to make clear copy.

But nothing beats it for shutting out the distractions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61265.20
ETH 3320.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48