Curation With Style: The Best of the Unmentionables Ep. 22 (19/10/17)

in #writing7 years ago

Warning: This curation list may cause an insatiable desire to join The Unmentionables and improve your writing -- reader beware.

Cover_22.png

The best of The Unmentionables content (18/10/17) -- curated with love.

(Huge thanks to @enchantedspirit for becoming our group curator!
Be sure to give her a follow and some love!)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Editorial Notes

I'm going to start doing a little something different with the Curation Posts from time to time. We're getting some important and welcome new members -- and more people are looking at us because of our promotional posts. This is exactly what we're looking for!

So I want to say a few words in my introductions about why I chose each particular selection -- to give comments on what I see as the "virtues" of an article (because I want to encourage more quality submissions like it), so that you can begin to understand what the "editorial eye" of this group looks for, and so you can either focus your own posts toward better quality or make more appropriate choices of your work for me to consider.

I see an awful lot of posts here and outside the group that don't really go anywhere. They don't make a point. They really don't say much or contain information of value. It's like the authors decided, "I want to write a post about such-and-such." So they wandered around in Markdown a while, managed to come up with 300 - 500 words, pushed "post" and abandoned the effort.

Sorry, guys, but that kind of writing just isn't going to impress me. If I feel I wasted my time by stopping by, you're apt to get passed over when I see you again ... especially if I'm in a hurry. Give me a reason to stop and stay ... and give me a something to take away with me when I leave, even if it's only an emotional response to your topic.

When people complain bitterly about the lack of quality posts on Steemit, they're not just talking about spam. What I've described is part of the problem, too. If you want people to be engaged with you, give them something interesting, complete and well-written to work with. As a rule, your rambling, unedited thoughts aren't good enough.

Good writers say something memorable ... or entertaining ... or informative. They leave their readers eager to see what they decide to write about next. People remember who they are. And if these readers are like me, they start to make it a point to check in and see what they've written lately. In that way, I doubt my reading tastes are that much different from yours. Think about what you're doing and work with your material from that perspective.

unmentionables-s.png

The Curator's Choices

This is an important topic. People need to know about this. The fact that it's been done before (maybe a lot) elsewhere is, in many ways, irrelevant. Repetition is an important factor in memory and learning. (This is why the same stupid ads play over and over and over on television.) Psychologists have discovered it takes about 7 exposures to a topic or piece of material before much of it really starts to stick.

People who see it here may very well not have seen it somewhere else -- so you bring something valuable to their attention, either for the first time ... or again. Also, there are often odd and coincidental reasons why something came to your attention here ... but not elsewhere. Timing itself is a fascinating thing. I won't try to go into all the metaphysics behind this, but it exists.

This article is well-written. It's well-illustrated. It says something important ... and maybe it has meaning beyond what you or anyone else realize at the moment. So here it is -- from @holbein81, one of our frequently featured writers who also works on completely different topics.

U5dt9XP7c9zsykr4GgvQGmJbNjkRK7B_1680x8400.jpg
Image Source

Cardiovascular Risk Reduction
Do We have a way of preventing Heart Attacks?

@holbein81

unmentionables-s.png

This post describes a fascinating real-life, first-hand experiment that proves an extremely important point. Words can hurt -- horribly. But more important, the emotion behind the words can injure even more. (Think about this the next time you read an ugly, name-calling rant against someone in the comments section of a blog ... or worse still, are doing that yourself.)

The metaphysics behind this also fascinates me. This post said something to me. It's a topic I've come across before. I know Dr. Masaru Emoto's work. It also made me look at my own recent behavior -- probably not what you think -- and reset some of my intentions. I came away informed, inspired and possessing something of value. So ... this well-written, well-presented and highly original-and-creative post is here.

DQmbt1PvJVCSueEf8XYi3w3oZ8PNvEVfANvMaRYXDbZiq9M.png

Words Hurt ~ an Experiment
@arbitrarykitten

unmentionables-s.png

@mountainwashere is one of those writers who could make a piece of used toilet paper interesting. He writes well. He chooses fascinating topics in fields where he himself is an expert and which clearly reflect his passions. I learn something from this man every time he posts. He's one of those writers I mentioned in the beginning that I seek out specifically. Do your level best to be like him.

U5dtJeTSae4Pr6Ls9Fdauqd5Xx3fe9w_1680x8400.jpg
Image Source

When Hell Freezes Over
Snowball Earth and the Dawn of Life

@mountainwashere

unmentionables-s.png

Yes, to the English-speaking ear, this English isn't perfect, but it's certainly good enough that I'm willing to roll with it. (We accept different accents in spoken English, and that's sort of what I see here -- in writing. The Nigerian members have a lovely and lilting way of using language ... which is part of their "style" for me. I quite enjoy several of them.)

Beyond that, I chose this article because it addresses an important and contemporary topic. The writer clearly cares about her subject. She presents questions and a point of view that really make you think. I could relate to it from my own real-life experiences. I got something from this article. Perhaps you will also. (If so, you know what to do next. UV, RS, comment. Don't be stingy.)

DQmTR3RLHXsYjDYXyyzgBxTKefvQ2p5UJ7rr9PWzgKTaHKb.jpg
Image Source

VICTIMS OF SEXUAL HARRASSMENT
THE HOLLYWOOD SAGA AND THE TWO SIDES OF A COIN

@tolarnee

unmentionables-s.png

I admit it, I'm biased. Interesting stuff about food gets my attention. (That's probably why I put up with Duro. The man wouldn't have won my heart with basketball. Food though ... and the fact he can cook ... and I kiss the ground he walks on.) Also, I've been in @apanamamama's situation myself before. I need some soup base for dinner ... and the store is an hour's drive away. Damn. Now what?

I also love DYI solutions ... and recipes where I put in the ingredients so I know what went in there. We eat very little processed food at our house. I love to cook, and I do it a lot. (I can't believe what some people take out of the freezer, stick in the microwave, put in their mouths, and call "dinner.")

This is a post with helpful information I will use. It's short, but it's well-written and it has value. What it doesn't have is a link to that tasty Italian cream cheese chicken recipe!! So I asked for that in the comments section. Extra Brownie points are waiting if she shows up with it. (See how this works?)

DQmXMjEdmUqfcpRdzC4eRJExEsFvA4Q6AqQfUkyDgmScXTF.jpg

Recipe for Cream Soup Substitute
Wellness Wednesday

@apanamamama

unmentionables-s.png

Again, we have some English issues here, but part of that's my fault because I've meant to get back to @codingdefined for a couple of days ... and haven't found the time (or gotten good cooperation from Steemit itself, frankly.) But I chose this because it has a certain ... well, charm. It's interesting. It's honest. It's a little sassy. And it confirms what I've long suspected: coders are weasels. Every single stinking one. Here is one culprit's true confession. You're welcome!

DQmdHEetQfnQJtYcPWecmtNogc5XZyMFjehpV3RaXsdq4PX.png
Image Source

Life of a Software Engineer
@codingdefined

unmentionables-s.png

Visit our past posts!

Curation With Style No. 21
Curation With Style No. 20
Curation With Style No. 19
Curation With Style No. 18

unmentionables-s.png

The Marines are looking for a few good men, but we at The Unmentionables are looking for a bunch of good writers, artists and other creative souls on Steemit. If you know you produce good content, and you know it's undervalued, and you really want more exposure to and from other great folks like you, following their passion and doing fine work ... check us out.

The Unmentionables is a fun-and-friendly writing, creating and curating group. We love to see good stuff from ourselves and others who are making a positive contribution to the quality on Steemit. We love to show off what we do ... and support the treasures we've found.

Would you like the chance to see one of your posts featured here? You can join us by filling out a simple form with a few quick questions. Find us here: @unmentionable. Apply to join us here. It's quick. It's easy. And you'll be glad you did. Three of the best reasons I can think of off the top of my head! One of our existing members will have a look at the work on your blog ... or if you know an existing member, get them to vouch for you. (That saves everyone a lot of time!)

Fill out an application if you're interested in joining us. Once again, it's quick. It's easy. Maybe we'll discover we have a new family member and you'll discover you've found a new home. Everybody wins ... 'cause that's what we're about.

unmentionables-s.png

The author of this list of curated posts by members of The Unmentionables is @enchantedspirit whose mostly metaphysical writing can be found on her own blog.

unmentionables-s.png

Sort:  

I love the new, expanded intros to the selections. They make your curations even more interesting.

(Also, I'm hoping they take a little longer to write, so I get more peace and quiet.)

Oh yea! I'm glad my hook caught someone. ;) Looks like some good posts. I need to go check out a few of these that I missed the first go around. Thanks for your hard work in putting all these together @enchantedspirit.

Now I feel like you've challenged me to write a piece about used toilet paper...

(I actually need to- have a toilet related writing gig now.)

Well, I did mention the fascinating metaphysics of timing in this post. So consider the gauntlet thrown @mountainwashere. GO, MOUNTAIN!!!

!cheetah whitelist

Bless you @patrice ....and bless you, too, @cheetah

Yes, bless you both.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Oct 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $28.45 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congratulations @unmentionable! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@unmentionable I just applied to join but I don´t understand what to do next. What do I do? :)

We'll contact you once we go through your application (and everyone else's) - thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56