Recipe for Cream Soup Substitute - Wellness Wednesday by A Panama Mama

in #recipe7 years ago

IMG_5380.JPG

A few weeks ago I was in need of a couple of cream of chicken soup cans for a tasty Italian cream cheese chicken recipe. Panama sometimes is weird when it comes to groceries. I was able to find things like cream of asparagus, cream of broccoli and chicken noodle soup, but cream of chicken was harder to come by. I had to search the internet for alternatives and I was glad I did! The recipe I found didn't use many ingredients, tasted great and was relatively easy to make. You can use this substitute in any recipe that calls for cream soup.

I found this recipe at Center Cut Cook and it really does taste great. I actually doubled the recipe since I needed 2 cans and it worked out great.

Here are the ingredients to make the equivalent of one can:

2 tablespoons butter
3 tablespoons flour
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup milk
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper

The directions were easy to follow as well:

  1. Whisk together the melted butter and flour and let it cook for a little bit, being careful not to burn it.
  2. Stir in chicken broth, and then milk. Whisk together for a few minutes.
  3. As it sits, it will begin to thicken, but keep stirring every little bit - low heat!
  4. Add salt and pepper. Voila!

She says you can freeze it for a few months. I can never work that far in advance! I added tiny bits of chicken to mine as I needed cream of chicken soup. It had a nice flavor and cost me way less than $2 a can to make it this way. Plus I knew every ingredient in my soup. I didn't have to wonder what "monosodium glutamate" or "flavoring" were, like I do with the name brand one.

IMG_5381.JPG

Simple, simple, simple! Try it!
<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Wellness Wednesday will be brought to you here every Wednesday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week for ideas to improve your health and wellness through recipes, exercise, natural health and so much more!
If you would like to share your thoughts, feel free to in the comments.
Thanks for visiting!
recipe healthy wellnesswednesday cooking soup

Sort:  

Now what we need is a link to that tasty Italian cream cheese chicken recipe!! I'm always in the market for something like that! Marvelous post here, too. Look for it in another encore presentation of our CP @apanamamama. And keep on cookin'.

from #theunmentionables

But of course! I can't mention that yummy recipe and not post about it. ;) It's super easy and can be made in the crock pot. Yum! I'll post the recipe soon! Thanks for including it in the curation post! Always nice to be included.

I didn't know if you'd catch it, but I just posted the recipe for Italian cream cheese chicken. :)


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

I found that to be true when I visited the grocery stores on my visit. The recipe you found is a lot healthier for you too.

Near PTY, there are way more choices than where we live. Even if we go to David, there are better options, but they still don't carry everything we need so having some substitute recipes are really helpful! And thankfully I usually have all of those supplies on hand. :) Thanks for the comment.

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by apanamamama from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

So much healthier, too! Love it!

Yep! :) It was slightly easier than the one you were telling me about. I'm all about easy recipes. :)

thanks for sharing this!

@originalworks

Sure thing! It works well! :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @apanamamama to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Thanks! Will try this when I need a can of cream soup.

Good deal! I've used it a few times! It works well!

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Actually a lot of 'additives' are fairly innocuous - like ascorbic acid which is just vitamin c. But a few, like MSG, are problematic to those of us with intolerances to them. I've been dying for a simple canned mushroom soup that I don't have to make from scratch! I kind of envy people who can get away with not having to make everything from scratch in order to avoid things they're allergic to. Just thought I'd show how conflicted I am over something as simple as canned soup ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72