Fear of Ostracism Causes Loss of My Voice

in #writing6 years ago

I fear rejection, so I kept quiet

I have been living in this way for many, many years. The fear of rejection is so strong but subtle to the point it's been controlling my beliefs and behaviors but I don't realize it.


Image Source

Fear of ostracism is the fear of rejection, isolation and criticism. It's the source of fear of public speaking.

Rejection comes in many, many forms. In my life, I've been isolated by my university course mates, I've been rejected in interviews, I've been rejected in love & relationship and I've been rejected for being myself.

However, that's not all. There are more beneath the surface of rejection. It's not just someone said "NO!" to you.

There's something deeper.

Where does the fear of rejection comes from?

Fundamentally, I just want to belong but what does it even mean?

I just wanted a place, a community, a partner that accepts me as a person. Accepts my opinions, my interests and my way of life.

And when I want to belong, I tend to conform

Conform to the majority point of view.
Conform to norm.
Conform to the process.

Just because it's something everyone else is doing. But that doesn't mean it's right, or it's "you".

What is it that you, yourself really wanted to do?

Question, don't conform
Think, don't react

This is where I lost my voice. At times, I wanted to say "No, I disagree" but I kept quiet.

So that I can avoid these responses like,

Why do you disagree? We're already late.
Majority wins, you lose.
Then what is it you want?

Each sentence directed at me is like a sharp sword that pierces through my heart. I take them personally, instinctively. But my friends meant no harm. It's my own judgement saying I have been rejected.

In the past, I have tried to disagree but I was ignored or rejected. Perhaps at that time, deep down inside me, I was telling myself "There's something wrong with me. Why did I said I disagreed? I should've kept quiet and follow them."

"Judgements are what we create, not receive" - Tifa Ong

My past has created a belief that "Behaving out of norm is Rejection, so be Mediocre".

Then, the workforce has taught me the word "politically correct". I learned it the hard way though especially dealing with clients and bosses. In order for clients and bosses to accept my opinions, I have to be "politically correct" so that I don't hurt their ego. But being "politically correct" is not my voice. It's plainly my defence system for rejection.

I just wanted to belong and be accepted.


Image Source

I can't believe I have been living this way for 27 years, not voicing out my true voice.

“Personal incongruency is what causes so much of our pain. Not being you will destroy you.” - Tim Denning

I've been avoiding pain, but I'm in pain.

I've been avoiding suffering, but I am suffering.

For not being me, for not daring to speak up for myself. It's not about "It's okay, it's no big deal. I can just follow them." but every time my opinion and behavior is incongruent, I feel like a piece of the "real" me turns into ashes.

I've got to regain my voice back.

In order for me to do that, I have to shatter my own belief - Behaving out of norm is Rejection, so be Mediocre. And replace with,

My voice matters.

Be myself for I am enough.

It's not whether you like me or not, It's about I like you or not.

Do what I believe is right.

I know this is tough and takes time, but it's simple. It's not as complicated as it sounds.

But How Am I Supposed to Conquer Fear of Ostracism?

You don't cope, you don't lose, you thrive over fear of ostracism. What I'm about to write is scary but simple. It takes DISCIPLINE and A LOT OF EFFORT but it's always this,


Made in Canva.com

As always, I believe you hold the answer, and only you can tell yourself what to do. My way is asking the right questions to yourself and you'll figure out the rest. Same goes to me.

  1. How would I behave if I have conquered my fear of ostracism?
  2. How would I behave if I voice out my true voice every single time?
  3. What my role model would do to conquer fear of ostracism?
  4. What would I do now?

Paint a picture in your imagination. If you said "Confident", how does "confident" look to you, are you standing straight, speaking clearly, hands on the sides, eyes looking into the other person's eyes?

This is an activity for you and me. If you're facing the same problem as I am, share your answers in a post and comment here. I will share my answers in the next post.


@tifaong writes simple and positive practices and ideas that you can learn (or re-learn) and apply in your life immediately. She covers life lessons, self-help, relationships, and motivational contents. Her mission is to spread positivity so that we can live a happier, fulfilling life.

Click the banner to check out her profile 😁

She is also a proud member of,

#TeamMalaysia

#Newbieresteemday

#Greetersguild


Follow @greetersguild and join us on discord to learn more (newbies and non newbies welcome). We are always looking for more Greeters to join our team! https://discord.gg/3jYNPUx

Qurator

SmartSteem

Sort:  
Loading...

Wow thanks so much for sharing - listening to you talk at the moment right now - so just thought I leave a comment. Brave of you to step out and talk about this - YOUR voice matter girl!!! @tifaong

Thank you very much @jassicania! Thank you for acknowledging my voice T_T (tears of touched)

This is definitely not easy for me to write and post. But I'm just gonna do it. The first step of not giving a f*ck anymore hehehe

Hey @tifaong this is such a courageous post. The fact that you've taken this first step, shows just how brave you are.

Much love

Thank you very much @kchitrah, it wasn't easy for me to write this but I'm glad I wrote it. Miracles happened after I wrote it, hahahaha. Like knowing you're a really kind person :)

Oooh! I love miracles! Do share :) :)

Hehehe one of the miracles are knowing how kind you and the rest of #teammalaysia are. Also writing my fears down allowed me to see how it has been controlling me, affecting me. When I can see it, I gain confidence that I reign over it :)

Awwww. Yeah we are a loveable bunch.

Just reading it gave me goosebumps, must have been such a special moment, to feel and taste that freedom and sense of empowerment. What an awesome experience. Looking forward to seeing you on Saturday !

Hehehe, yeah man! Finally feel like I'm more powderful than my fear XD
I'm not going this Saturday, my dear. I'm going back to Seremban for reunion dinner hehehe

Enjoy and Live your Purpose!
Maybe it's good to write a post about this Saturday's event so that I can catch up XD
Just an idea

Awwww, that's too bad.

Enjoy your reunion dinner though.

Hmmm, yeah...there's a suggestion, will surely consider. Lol, aiyo, so many topics piling up in my idea list....let's see which one makes it off the list next.

You are enough and your voice is important, @tifaong. Thank you so much for stepping out and sharing this. You are brave :) you have progressed one step from yesterday.

By the way, I'm a new fan of you, have been doing some reading of your posts recently. You have so much to contribute!

Thank you for reading and encouraging me @happycrazycon. I sure did, and I will keep on going!

Hehe thank you so much for investing your time reading my writings. I will keep up and write better posts!

Voted you already @tifaong. Way to go!

Btw, I can help you remove you Fear... if you are ready.

Live. BR⭐️VE

Mel @coachmelleow

Hi @coachmelleow, Thank you!

Yes, I want to remove this burden off me right now so I will be me and be free. What's next?

Let's meet up. Will take you through a process. And also do come for the program this Saturday. Cheers! Mel

My voice matters.
Be myself for I am enough.
It's not whether you like me or not, It's about I like you or not.
Do what I believe is right.

These are extremely powerful declarations that you have make and it is certainly the first step towards freedom from fear. Keep pushing the boundaries and keep sharing your story with the world

Hey @karinzdailygrind, thank you for reading and encouraging me.

Yes, when I write those new self-beliefs, I am scared, so scared that I deleted them a few times before finally decided to put it there. It scares me because change of belief means change of way of life. It scares me because I'm not sure if I can do it. But I'll still do it.

Thank you so much Karin :)
Yes, I will

Yes, do something every day that scares you and pretty soon you will realised that it is not so scary anymore..And that's when you have leap past that fear and turn it into courage

Very true Karin :)
I've read about this. It's a scientifically proven method to get out of fear. Maybe I should write more about it ^^

Most speakers fear in loss of voice. I do have similar fear too.
How to overcome it varies from person to person. For me, I do the following Precautions:-

  • Get a good night sleep
  • Avoid food that irritate your throat

The I would ask my question is what would be the worst thing could happen if you really lost you voice at the most important moment?

If you can have an answer this question and get prepare for it, then your mental fear will disappear soon
Cheers

Thank you @digitalmind for reading and encouraging me :)
I've come to know that my loss in voice is fear of rejection. If I don't tackle rejection, which is the root cause, I won't get anywhere :)

Your post has been featured in TeamMalaysia - TehTarik Sunday , keep on steeming and here is a little tip!

Hi @tifaong! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @myach!

@myach wrote lately about: Feel free to follow @myach if you like it :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators: pays out 100% of profit to all investors - more info here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66544.05
ETH 3487.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72