Sort:  

@talltim you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Thanks, its funny how people disagree with me and immediately go to my last post, which was MONTHS ago to downvote it, lol.

I guess Cashies and other trolls aren't too bright ;)

I thought about making a separate post for this, but you know what -- this is just as good. The final denouement of my Steemit adventure.

After watching everyone game the platform hard, like grifters shaking a cup in the subway, watching as people posted content from elsewhere and called it their own, watching as bots took over and paid campaigns and other shennanigans -- like the entire steemit blockchain seizing up like a suburban dad shoveling too much snow from his driveway -- the final straw happened.

The big announcement that the Steemit team was going to be reduced by 70%, and no doubt applauded and hailed as the "best thing for Steemit" ever by the promoting-cheerleader squad, I knew in my heart that this platform is fucked.

It may languish in some form here and there, but ultimately staked platforms are only as good as the tech behind it, and this pile of gated tokens (THREE of them, really? what the fuck people. Probably more with the other changes) just tells me what I was denying all along -- that its designed to slow down real market forces.

The only reason it takes forever and a day to convert the Steem token (and its many bastard step-children) is that the very real fear people will do a "run on the bank" and push the unit price towards zero. And you know what? Maybe that is exactly what its worth.

I don't need it to trade down into irrelevance to be "right". I just know that when nearly the entire team gets sacked there's a little more wrong than just the need to "pivot" to something else.

For those of you staying, good luck, but luck doesn't make a market - buyers and sellers do. And I'm dumping all of mine, because I don't see the utility in this bot-farmed-pirating-text-haven anymore.

Have a good one.

If any of you want to follow to another oasis, I recommend checking me out on Mastodon, the non-corporate version of Twitter -- https://bitcoinhackers.org/web/accounts/622 - That's my profile with my posts.

Not so much stories, but I may be persuaded to post some here and there if such demand exists.

"The future is here, just unevenly distributed." - William Gibson

Hmm .. quite a creative narrative and story. congratulations dear friend. I loved!

Thank you, I appreciate it.

Perhaps you'd like this one as well - Deadlock

Its a lovers spat between Death and Life. Better resolution, though :)

Congratulations @talltim! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

That is a very dark picture of a future. Though not impossible.

Did you read "LoveStar" from the Icelandic author Andri Snær Magnason? Your story reminds me of this work but also I can relate it to Aldous Huxley's brave new world. A bit of Startrek I can also see because the term nanites I know from there. Well, that only shows that I am full of influences by what I so far read and saw. I hope you don't mind me mentioning that. I find Magnason, Huxley and Startrek brilliant!

It makes me sad though. And that is, of course, the best compliment a writer can get. It also makes me upset. I don't want that world.

Why did you stop blogging?

Your first commentator @reinhard-schmid made me coming here. He mentioned you in one of his comments to me. We became friends as he was one of the first people I got in close touch with.

Hope, you are well.

A stranger from Germany
:)

Loading...

I'll have a more elaborate answer later as I've been out with friends and quite tired :)

But thank you for your comment and insight. I appreciate it, very much.

That was very kind of you to let me know that you take your time. I appreciated it.

So here we are, amidst the remnants of another blogger who bit the dust.
Tiddly-pom.
I felt his story was describing the present, to be honest. I can see it all coming to pass. I was reminded of the Matrix and the Machine World. You know, I think the Matrix was one of the most sophisticated films to have come out of Hollywood -thanks to the brothers-now-sisters directors who seem to be highly hermetically-gnostically inspired. That coming from an Arthouse buff.
I too won't be around here for much longer, since quality writing like this is doomed to go insufficiently noticed. Even if it's not about needing to earn a living, a writer must have a steady amount of subscribers. It is how it works even for a journalist. Otherwise the writer will run out of real steam. (They usually don't want to be here for any other reason, like casual friends or recipes or lists of government conspiracies.)
But before you know it you get dragged in by irritations, because that is the name of the game. (As Tim has popped back in to tell you himself).
I can appreciate your more patient promise to yourself to learn as much as you can - for this too one must do while one is here, like it or not - but the cost can be quite high, with the picture of social side of man sometimes glum and often artificial while nobody much sees in which subtle ways this is so.
Here till 31 May, hope to read more from (either of) you soon.

I missed this somehow, because Steemit really isn't good at notifying you of replies unless you're specifically searching for them.

Further writings would be forthcoming if I believed in this platform - but I do not.

That could change, but I'm not holding my breath.

Love the creativity in your stories and the surreal, slightly irritating (I mean that as a compliment) mood.

Thank you my creative friend.

Appreciate the comment.

Congratulations @talltim! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

give me an email or just send me a invite for discord thanks buddy

Your post is great. :)

Comment removed

Thanks steemitboard, my dream of doing nothing for 6 months and have bots follow me until I mysteriously got to "minnow" status has been fulfilled.

I suppose in the spirit of Steemit I should up-vote myself, get a bid-bot, and generally try to rip off the reward pool like every other grifter around here.

Ridiculous.

Congratulations @talltim! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85