When people plagiarize your ideas - Ramblings on Life #15

in #writing6 years ago

When people steal your ideas or concepts, when they still your original story or music, you feel dejected, don't you? You feel angry and you want to come out all guns blazing and beat the shit out of the thief.

plagiarism
Image Credit

That's how most of us react and that's the natural thing to do, isn't it?

I also do the same thing.

But why don't we all take a step back and actually think about it? Is it all really so bad? Is it really so detrimental to me if someone steals my ideas and shares them as their own?

Well, in some cases it obviously is. No doubts.

But I think that's not the case always.

So here are some positives of a seemingly negative thing.

divider-red

inspire
Image Credit

You inspire people

No one steals a bad idea. There's enough BS out there which no one cares about, so if someone tries to pass of your creation as their own, it means your idea was liked.

It was found to be claim-worthy. People copy great ideas.

Fan fiction is created for great books, not the shitty ones. Think about it.

divider-red

spread.jpg
Image Credit

Your idea spreads

Even though HBO is apparently not happy with Game of Thrones becoming the most pirated show in history with each season crossing the previous season's illegal download records, the actual primetime or legal view records are also being broken every year, often multiple times in the same season.

I am sure GoT would not have become the global phenomenon it has become today had it not been for torrents. It was not even available in many countries in the first few seasons, so how did it become popular in those countries for HBO to now make a killing business in virtually all markets in the last few seasons?

Because stolen ideas spread like wildfire.

You may not always make a killing out of it, but boy what would I not give to be the creator of "an idea whose time has come." An idea which catches on.

All things in life are not for monetary gain, some of it is for social and cultural change as well, and stolen ideas can become powerful forces which can bring about that change.

Look at all the copy-cat blockchains out there, some of them will surely change the world in the coming years.

divider-red

Goodies: Benefits for You (Referral Links)

Sell Votes on SmartSteem

Get Followers and Upvotes on SteemFollower

Get Free Crypto Coins

free-crypto2.jpg

Image Credit

divider-red

steem-engine.png

crypto-empire

Click on the banners to learn more about each community

leave-comment.png

Sort:  

But what if the copier gets paid like crazy and you don't see a dime? In the end it's always about the $$$$

all my hard worked articles are still paying a site owner - knoji.com because he stopped giving us writers, the permission to edit or delete and the articles are still live and giving him huge returns from his adsense account. It is really painful

That's really bad... That is something which is not likely to happen in a decentralised platform like this.

yes, that is why steemit gives us all great hopes. Google and adsense seems so lame now

As I said,

Is it all really so bad? Is it really so detrimental to me if someone steals my ideas and shares them as their own?
Well, in some cases it obviously is. No doubts.

Congratulations @svkrulze! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

As Picasso used to say...Great artist steal.He meant that if you wanna be good at sth you need to take positives from others

They call it inspiration, lolz

Lol!! That's the reason why my friends are able to watch all Netflix originals.

Maybe sometimes we get advantages when our idea is copied but it doesn't hold good for everything. Every human psychologically craves for getting noticed, one would go ballistic if it comes into notice that copycats are getting into limelight rather than him. Btw I like your optimistic search on the pessimistic topic.

the same thing @eonwarped said... but I had that caveat... I knew this was my weakest point, lolz

I remember having a similar conversation about this with @eaglespirit a little while back.

Yes, I don't like it when I see an absolute rip-off of my work, but I do kinda see it as a compliment when someone's inspired by something I created. I get a feeling of pride combined with a feeling of wanting to punch that person :P

My idea or writing must've been good enough, at least for that person.

I remember seeing an artist who sold his work on the streets. He said the greatest compliment he ever had was having someone steal one of his pieces. They risked prosecution just to own it. Awesome!

Like @eonwarped says: it does sting a bit when you see them make money from it though :P

cheers

SIGNATURE.png

so you wanted to punch me when I started my contest?? :P

Hahahahahahaha!! If she won't do it I will ... we have each other's back like that. :p

Lolz no. I've never wanted to punch you. I don't own the copyright on contests :P

I've seen it more than once, someone swoop in a day before the contest is due and have mimicked a scene from my writing and win! WTF!!!???

You are copy-worthy lolz

Noooooooo noooooo copiezzzzzzz

OMG devastating! That's very naughty of them. I hope you punched them for it :P

Buahahah ... you need to punch some people according to the above!? :p

Lol... I'm in punching mood today. Must be the tablets :P

oh snappzzzzz ... :p

Resteem bot Service! Boost Your Post. Send 0.200 SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 6200+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

Delegate STEEM POWER 1000 SP Or Any Amount Through v2.steemconncet.

Good writings.

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts, reply with STOP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63