Creative Writing Challenge: Addiction (vol. 2, task 9)

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Hello guys,

It's still pretty and sunny October. An inspiring time for writing.

Here we are at the end of the Second Creative Writing Challenge!

To me it was another great exercise for my own writing skills. I've also enjoyed the opportunity to develop this small community of writers and writing fans.

There's a lot to be said and I will continue this inspiring speech at the next post.

Let's now see what are the current submissions from the last task here in a table:

ChallengerEntry
@negativerRestaurant at the End of the World - original short fiction story
@mitchelljaworskiOur Will Love Conquer
@neiraurdanetaSara's letter
@morodieneTo a Girl of Another Time
@edurleyHope for Love

We have a 75 SBD reward provided by our sponsors.


Sponsors


Dear sponsors!

Thank you for supporting the second edition of the unique Creative Writing Challenge!


Let's see who are these 11 brave Steemians sponsoring our challenge:

@kubbyelizabeth | @juliakponsford | @oleg326756 | @eturnerx | @scrooger | @flemingfarm | @crimsonclad | @sircork | @scaredycatguide | @therovingreader | @em3

This is a list with our sponsors , their contributions and the total amount of the prize pool.

SponsorContribution
@kubbyelizabeth8 SBD
@juliakponsford5 SBD
@oleg3267565 SBD
@eturnerx5 SBD
@scrooger5 SBD
@flemingfarm10 SBD
@crimsonclad5 SBD
@sircork10 SBD
@scaredycatguide5 SBD
@therovingreader5 SBD
@em32 SBD
TOTAL75 SBD (+10 SBD from me)

The total amount of the prize pool is 75 SBD.


Now,

Take a deep breath.

You will be writing about

Addiction.

Task #9: Addiction



Image Source

Take a look at the table below. Write a story of a man or a woman fighting an addiction.

NameAddictionSolution
RobertCigarretesUnexpected circumstances
ArinaGamblingTherapist
NoahDrugDramatic event
JamesSexTravelling
MikeAlcoholBooks
NancyNetflixFriends
TomGamingAnother addiction

You are free to change the name, the addiction and the solution.
If you'd like you could include more than one addiction.

Also, I've used the word fighting, but you might be willing to make it different and describe another type of attitude towards the addiction. There are various stages and circumstances and the scenarios to go after are literally countless.

Think of spicing up your story with details about:

  • Stage of addiction
  • Social status
  • Marital status
  • Profession
  • Location
  • Time
  • Age

Optional:
Include a second character, a whole family, a group of friends or whatever you'd like so you can involve them in various dramatic events with any negative consequences.

Deadline:

The deadline is this Monday, October 16 by Midnight EST.

Enjoy it and do not hesitate to ask if you have questions!


Final words


Enjoy the last task of the Second Creative Writing Challenge. I'm thankful to Steemit for the chance we have to meet and get to know our virtual personalities a bit. I would love drinking a tea on a rainy day with any of you. I wish everyone a lot of successful writing prompts that will soon result in at least few wonderful novels.

Love,
@steemfluencer

Sort:  

here is my final entry for homework #9, I have really enjoyed this great writing challenge, I hope you like it.

https://steemit.com/creativecomp/@edurley/creative-writing-challenge-addiction-vol-2-task-9-the-story-of-noah

Excellent the last challenge, I will put my mind to work, thank you so much for the coffee would be great to share it with you.

Sure. I believe one would't be enough :)

Hello, there.

Thank you for making these challenges, I really had fun doing all of them and I'm glad I could finish this even when I thought I would not be able to finish some of the tasks on time due to personal circumstances... But somehow I did. Maybe not always with the quality I'd like, but at least I was able to deliver.

Here is my entry for this task:
https://steemit.com/creativecomp/@rnunez09/second-creative-writing-challenge-task-9-second-chance

In case you haven't read my entry for the task 8: https://steemit.com/creativecomp/@rnunez09/second-creative-writing-challenge-task-8-dear-rose

Thank you very much! This really helped me improve my writing and I had a lot of fun doing it.

Ooo, I can see this one going in many different directions! This ought to be a fun one to write :D

@steemfluencer: Thank you for the new invitation and the implied challenge. I want to know if my publication referring to task 8 submitted during yesterday was timely.

I don't know your time zone, but if it was submitted by midnight EST, it's fine.

This is my entry to the contest and I want to thank the opportunity to allow me to explore and create new characters with stories in each of the tasks. It was a wonderful trip.
https://steemit.com/creativecomp/@neiraurdaneta/creative-writing-challenge-addiction-vol-2-task-9-tom-s-bet

Amazing platform indeed i love you guys have decided to give back.

My question is what tag am i to use for
submission.

we don't have any requirements for the tag in this challenge if we don't count task #4 where participants were asked to write a #payitforward post.

Great task #9! Thanks for putting this together!

Happy to see you like it :)

This was a wonderful challenge to participate in, thank you for running it.

Here is my final submission:

https://steemit.com/fiction/@ellievallie/creative-writing-challenge-2-9-game-over

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47