How Shadow People From My Dreams Taught Me The Power of Fear and Improved My Writing

in #writing7 years ago

blue-sky-1851298_1920.jpg
The phrase “Do one thing every day that scares you," lifted from Eleanor Roosevelt to populate the fancy boarders of Pinterest memes and personal quotes to live by on OKcupid, is almost laughable. It's quite Buddhist in its intention, our emotions don't need to rule us, we can walk through them and quietly observe them, and if applied properly you can make your life quite interesting

Of course, if you live with anxiety disorder just waking up and going to the shower to get ready for work can be a terrifying experience. "Do one thing a day that scares you?" Well, what the hell DOESN'T scare me? I'm scared of conversations at Subway, at the gruff people outside the mental clinic, by missing keys and Passports, by children, by movies that remind me of my childhood, by failure, by weight gain, by sideway glances.

I used to be terrified of those "write about yourself" projects in school because I couldn't actually write about myself. I could only write about the fear surrounding writing about myself. "I'm terrified of people. I'm shy and awkward." I feared that I was misrepresenting myself. Now, I don't think I was. My early memories are ruled by fear - the chair thrown across the room, the hippo at the Oklahoma City zoo opening its mouth wide, the first day of school, a birthday party in which I had to smile and be social for more than a few hours.

Once I slept on a couch at my dad's house and woke in the middle of the night. A second passed, and then a shadow-like being rushed past me in the hallway. Probably just a remnant of a dream, my brain not fully awake. But I couldn't go to sleep after that. And for years afterward, I feared its return. I thought it watched me while I closed my eyes. I had sleeping problems for years. Fear of the dark. Fear of my own shadow. I'd seen it once and I didn't want to see it again.

What is a shadow person? Depends on who you're talking to. Some believe they're beings from another dimension, glimpsed in brief glances. Either beings of pure evil from lower planes, or guardian spirits. The concept has been around for a while. According to Cherokee legend, a witch called the Raven Mocker comes to sick people as they sleep, transforming into a shadow-person like being and tormenting them until they die. And then they eat the hearts. Why? Because there's a tradition to uphold, I suppose, or hearts are tasty.

Many meth addicts report seeing shadow people because of lack of deep sleep. So perhaps insomnia and sleep deprivation play a factor. Others say the shadow person is a result of hallucinations developed by sleep paralysis. There's an archive of personal accounts of shadow people on the Internet you can browse through if you're looking for a timesuck.

Lucid dreaming. I learned the technique young, from my dad, who was big into meeting up in dreams, dream manipulation, and keeping journals of the places we went when we slept. I had these horrible nightmares as a child, and he taught me how to beat up the monsters and stop running.

Lucid dreaming can be an exhausting process. Once you realize you're dreaming, your brain will do anything it can to lull you back into ignorance - including forcing you to wake, "false awakenings", and blackouts. It's an ability that I still have yet to master, but if I want to lucid dream that night often all I'll have to do is set a timer or reminder and ask myself every half hour, "Am I dreaming?" This will often carry over into the sleeping world and force me into a lucid dream.

Ever notice how the dream warps to your feelings and thoughts? If you get into a car with a strange man and the stray thought passes that he's a serial killer, the car will swerve and he'll start pointing a gun at your head. The external becomes a direct reflection of the internal. So when I found myself running through an abandoned warehouse, weeping in the darkness, unable to turn on a lightswitch (Lightswitches, they NEVER work in dreams. Try it out for yourself.) while demons from the netherworld chased and tormented me, I, well, I woke up.

It's like bursting through a membrane.

I started laughing. Dancing. The monsters that were chasing me started dancing too. The darkness was no longer a terrifying place, but a beautiful one. As long as I kept dancing, as long as I kept making light of the situation, the monsters couldn't hurt me. Because in my experience - no horrible apparition can survive laughter. Frivolity is our weapon against the darkness, against fear. Fear can only survive in a moment of dark consequence. When there is no consequence, the fear dissipates, and the monsters dance.

I've come across dinosaurs who breathed steam as I hid in ventilators. When they knocked down the grate I hooked my hands into their nostrils and breathed laughter back at them.

Shadow children have held hands and ran circles around me, growing teeth when I was afraid, and laughing when I smiled, their consequence shrinking as my fear of them dissipated.

I've come across women who threw me in front of a mirror and dared me to see how ugly I was. At the fake reflection I laughed, grabbed the woman, and kissed her. We rolled down together in red velvet.

There are dreams I have yet to conquer - dreams that are such reflections of real life I can't yet wake myself up. I have a lot to learn. But I've pulled through some of the worst parts of me, and come out laughing.

What does this have to do with the writing life? We're going to be faced with threats and doubt. The demons in dreams are a direct reflection of the kind of negative thoughts that can destroy us if we're not careful. As a writer, you sometimes must thrive in darkness, but you don't allow yourself to become mired in it. (And do I have a problem with miring!) The monsters can only destroy those who are willing, and those who forget that the only destruction comes from not reminding yourself to laugh. Even someone with extreme anxiety disorder, in the days when the mundane seem terrifying, can go deep into the well of lucid dreaming and pull up humor to get through the day.

12795346_10208939373385283_2439419767817878919_n.jpg
Follow me on twitter, facebook, or on my website. You can also buy my books here
Stock photo from Pixabay
Self portrait by me canon t51

Some of my other posts you may be interested in:
At the San Diego Dog Beach // PTSD // Recovery Journal
[Short Story] Letter to The Girl That Ate My Skin
[Flash Fiction] A Letter to My Imaginary Husband
What It's Like To Go From Ugly To Pretty
Notes For A Young Horror Writer [Writer's Journal]
[Short Story] Job Requirements For The Destroyer of Worlds
What Separates A Good Writer From An Excellent One?

Sort:  

I enjoyed your story of transforming a scary dream with monsters into... Well... Something else. I don't think I ever managed to exert this kind of influence on any of the lucid dreams that I have had.

Every time I start lucidly dreaming, I just have to try to fly. It is too much fun, and the temptation is nearly overwhelming. It is not exactly flying, but more like hugely exaggerated jumping like in the film "Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon."

I first began to pursue it as a youth after reading Castaneda. After some time, I put much less weight on it as a tool for concretely affecting my everday, waking life.

I still think it could be a very interesting tool for writers to explore the furthest bounds of their imagination.

I used to think that dreams had a lot more significance than they actually do. I think they're interesting to explore now but not much more beyond that. The things you learn from dreams can only come from within yourself, which can be a serious barrier to learning.

I disagree with you. The greatest understandings of wisdom come from within, not out. We hold the Universe inside of ourselves.

That's totally fine to disagree. I do agree that wisdom is knowing yourself, but within the context of knowing how it interacts with the greater universe.

What techniques did you use for lucid dreaming? Does Castaneda discuss them in his books? Thanks.

It has been a LONG time since I read Castaneda, but as a first step, he stressed executing a simple command, specifically, looking at your hands. As a second step, he emphasized identifying an anomalous object in a dream, focusing on it, and then transitioning to a new dream while retaining lucidity.

I do not want this to seem like I am endorsing Castaneda. There were a lot of things about him that were very sketchy.

Castaneda's descriptions of further steps in lucid dreaming get VERY far out, and it is far from clear that what he was describing corresponded either to his actual experiences or to what is the actual potential as lucid dreaming as some kind of tool.

For me, lucidly dreaming regularly came about from what you mentioned already: regular reminders throughout the day by asking, "Am I dreaming?"

I do not pursue lucid dreaming at the moment.

Thank you for the detailed response. I have heard good and bad about Castaneda so I understand. I have not read his material. I have never managed to lucid dream so I was curious. I will try the technique mentioned, see what happens :)

Sorry to be a downer... I do NOT strongly suggest seeking lucid dreaming unless you are strongly aware of why you are doing so. I do not mean that in a condescending way. It is more that I have met more than a few people who seek something like that as some kind clear path to... Well... To what?

I do not want to seem like I am endorsing that as some kind of concrete direction for fulfilling some kind of goal.

Buyer beware!!!

I hear you. I would have looked into it further before attempting anything. But thanks for the heads up. It goes on the list of curios, but I would need to read up more indepth before I went any further with it. Thanks again.

Hi Autumn, @therovingreader turned me onto your page. Anxiety sucks... I feel like I just want to drop the mic and walk away right there. But I'll keep going. Sometimes I feel like I'm playing chess with anxiety and I'm a novice whereas anxiety is a level above me and knows how to sacrifice a knight to fuck me over. I've only lucid dreamed, dreamt? haphazardly and it's fun... You know what's not fun? Shadow people. Thank you for that, I will now have nightmares tonight... But it will be an opportunity to take control of it, Yay.

Glad you found me, I gave you a follow. Anxiety is clever and tricky, and since it works on the subconscious level can find ways to outsmart your conscious brain.

Just remember the shadow people are your friends. :)

<3 Beautiful. Thank you!

I've had sleep paralysis several times. Such a frightening experience. Thanks for your story. :-)

When I had my first lucid dreams, I almost exclusively used them to conquer nightmares before I realized how many more wondrous things I could do (like fly to all the places or eat all the sugary things).

But that damn sleep paralysis when I force myself awake prematurely still gets to me sometimes. I could do without the shadowy figures looming over me or the crazy vibrations or the auditory hallucinations of babies crying * shudder *.

At least it is easier to get through knowing it's all in your head and you only have to relax into it. Still trying to figure out how to do the same with other anxieties.

It's fascinating to read about other people and their dreams... I see my friend who committed suicide in my dreams often, and feel like he is communicating with me. I had a conversation with my estranged brother about our estrangement, and even though we didn't come to a solution, I felt better. I don't talk about it very much, because I feel like it might be a superstition, but I feel like dreams have weight and consequence in our waking lives. Your writing is beautiful and tugs at things in my heart.

Thank you @sunravelme. Sometimes dreams can feel like closure that our real lives don't grant us, and we can have those moments and conversations that we always wanted.

I've noticed that too, that expectations play a huge role in dreams. I use it in my lucid dreams sometimes. I can change the environment just by expecting it to be different, but my focus isn't always good enough for this to go as planned.

I've also found that talking to monsters tends to disarm and change them. I've never tried laughter, though! Sometimes, even when I know I'm dreaming, I'm too panicked to deal with the scary stuff and just fly away. But sticking around at least long enough for a good laugh might be doable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 55817.20
ETH 2966.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17