[Journal] How I Broke Through The Barrier of Dreams // Cognitive and Disassociation Techniques

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

sillouette-702178_1920.jpg

We're well into 2017, but this marks an anniversary of sorts for me.

Summer 2016 had been without a doubt, the best summer of my life up until that point. And it’s not because I went to Cancun, took a cruise, had sex with a bunch of unavailable hotties, saw cool live music, or any other external factor. The way my mental state has been for the past few years, none of that would have really made me happy anyway. If anything it would’ve served as more fuel for how alienated and alone I felt. I could take anything that happened to me and twist it into a self-serving narrative to further this idea of how miserable I’d always be.

Partly because I am such a good writer, good at fitting patterns and pieces into mental tapestries.

The reason it was the best summer of my life is because I decided I wanted to make my life better, and I started taking the steps to do so.

I was seeing this therapist to try and deal with my trauma, whose specialization was somatic experiencing. She gave me this exercise to do - it involved trying to make yourself aware of two different things at once. The first, was internal - a heartbeat or a headache, or the way your fingers felt. The second, was something external. A leaf, or a piece of grass, or a beam of light. Then you tried to hold those two feelings at the same time.

The reason for this is because trauma doesn’t exist in reality. The only way for trauma to affect you is for it to exist outside of chronology. The exercise was an attempt to re-calibrate your senses, to stop disassociation.

I had been practicing that for about a week.

I remembered that I was feeling panicked and lonely and like everything was impossible - sitting on the bed with Robert. And he was telling me that I could get through this, that I didn’t have any choice to get through this. I was holding this 8 lb exercise ball that I’d been using as a way to try to connect to reality, and with my other hand I was touching Robert on the chest and feeling his heartbeat.

It was something about the heartbeat, and my hand against the ball, and the realization - hmm - I didn’t want to do this shit anymore. I was tired of living a life in perpetual crisis. I wanted to live, and I wanted to live the way I wanted to.

Then I broke through.

At first I thought I was having a panic attack - it came on like that, a loud noise that blocked all other noise, a blood rush, heaviness flowing outward. Breathing heavy. And then reality exploded. It’s difficult to describe, the sheer NOISE of existence. But it was so heavy, and so overwhelming, that for several moments I thought that I’d gone insane. Everything felt fast, even though it was staying still. It was like up until that moment I had been living in this dull, empty void of a house and someone RIPPED THE CURTAIN AWAY SO THAT ALL THE COLORS COULD SHINE THROUGH.

Robert opened the window and told me to look outside. It was like the sky was a river of static. Each leaf on the tree was glittering, so that everytime the wind blow it revealed a new dimensionality. “That’s been there the whole time?” I remembered saying, crying because it was so beautiful, whole, and it’d been there the whole time.

Existing alongside me.

You get used to living with the hole inside of you. To the part where maybe you feel like it makes you a better person, to feel pain, that the particular composition of your chemicals synergizes well with that sucking feeling that tears at your chest. The feeling of the world falling apart. You get used to waking up and falling because you’ve forgotten gravity exists.

But it’s not working with you, it’s actively destroying you. Because in order for it to exist, you need to be small. And you need to have your eyes closed, your back turned to the cliffside, so that it can take your hands and move them for you, take your heartbeat and twist it so that it pops out on your tongue.

I saw the city that weekend. Rushing and alive. I was dancing at a club several stories up and drinking whiskey, but I was more interested in leaning over the balcony and staring at the way that cars moved along the grid of downtown as if I’d never seen them before. Never seen glass stacked on top of glass.

I didn’t know what it meant to stop disassociating until that night. I had seen glimmers of it, but never knew the sheer amount of unrelenting waves of reality that I had been missing.

For weeks at a time I was crushed. I’d take the puppies for a walk and feel miserable, surrounded by flowers and sunshine. I had recurrent, compulsive thoughts of killing myself. Finding a nice comfortable hole and drowning myself in dirt. Masturbatory fantasies. Didn’t do me any good, but to provide me some kind of relief. Some way out, without getting out.

I had always gotten to this point in my life before, and time and time again I had self-destructed. Become withdrawn, blew up my relationships, staying out all night finding new ways to hurt myself, cheated on whoever I was with, lashed out in anger, cut myself, ended up shivering in the office of a mental health facility desperate for relief.

But there was a whisper, a thread. I could feel it in the sunshine that made its way down to my skin. A soft gloss of a promise. It hadn’t been there before, but I felt it now. There is something here, it said, if you just keep going. I know that you can’t see it now, because your patterns won’t let you, but there is something here.

So I didn’t self-destruct. I wouldn’t let myself. Not this time.

I kept going.

And I knew that I’d been right - when not a few months later reality exploded outwards and I was able to see for the first time.

For the first time in years, to breathe without a heaviness in my chest.

In the summer of 2016, I made a promise to myself. I would not run from the things I was afraid of anymore. I would try to build a life for myself instead of tearing it apart. I would challenge every bad thought, every fear, every shiver, every dissonant image, every dream, every desire.

In the summer of 2016 I have felt some of the greatest pain that I have ever experienced. Emotional pain so heavy and intense that it felt like it was tearing my skull out of my head, tearing my insides to ash. It left me paralyzed with such engulfing, overwhelming fear. I could viscerally TASTE what abandonment felt like. It was WARM. It was made out of gray fire and it was flaking off of the inside of my damn skull.

I was not letting the hole inside of me rule my life anymore, I was not side-stepping my fears, taking little sips of pain, going through the comfortable routes that I’d become accustomed to. It was so bad that at times, I was paralyzed with terror when I tried to leave a room and felt like I “shouldn’t.”

I began to really examine all the things I had done that were wrong, why I had gotten to that point... with a lot of help from Robert. I had been blocking out the knowledge that I had been hurting people for a long time, and once the guilt hit me I wanted to do really extreme things - images of setting myself on fire, chopping my fingers off.

Like the images of suicide - they were self indulgent. I couldn’t take back what I had done. I could never make up for the things that I had done. It was scientifically, literally impossible.

Robert kept saying that I didn’t need to punish myself, that I should do things that make me happy. So I pushed myself to go out - to swim with the puppies, to go running, to walk through the forest, to watch movies. To eat ramen, or go to parties, to meditate or drink bubble tea or write or read a book. Sometimes doing things that I knew would make me happy was more painful than being self-indulgent in my misery. I wanted to lay in bed all day, but I’d force myself to go take the puppies for a long walk, or take a run.

My mind does not control my body, my body and my mind work in synergy. If I make my body do those things, the mind adjusts. I can use my body to change my mental state.

I began to meditate. It allowed me to see how my thoughts influenced each other. How I could go back to the origin of a thought and see how it changed form. Control it.

My focus was coming back. My will. I saw how much anxiety was shattering my focus and making me ineffective.

I tripped on acid for the first time at a party. It allowed me to have an emotional connection with some thoughts that I felt I understood only intellectually, especially on what love meant, and I was able to act more thoroughly and decisively on those thoughts. I began taking more (1plsd, ald-52) about a month later. That too, allowed me to see how much my thoughts affected my perspective. How a bad thought set off a chain reaction of chemicals and if left unchecked could eradicate everything else. And I was just having fun again - like staring at the patterns on the bed. Or playing video games. Listening to music. And that carried over when I was sober.

I began to enjoy music again. I stopped drinking so much, because I was enjoying reality more than escaping from it. I had trouble sleeping, because I often felt just excited to be alive, my mind racing with all the possibilities of existence - something that had not happened to me since I was very young.

I am a burnt out damaged husk but there is something growing inside of me, and every day I nurture it it gets bigger. So I feel like a child and an old person simultaneously. A thing on the inside, and a thing on the outside. One is grown and accustomed to the world, but moves through it like reality is a burden. The other is new, and fragile, and trembles with eyes uncovered, but with a lot of work has become strongly rooted.

The old thing... so burnt, so damaged, that even the idea of getting tequila and making margaritas frightened me. Like it was this huge monumental affront to the universe itself to do something that I enjoyed, something that would cause harm to no one.

But I did it. I made margaritas and I woke up the next morning with most of my skin still intact. And so the new thing grows, just a little bit.

I grow. Sometimes I breathe, and it feels like I’m breathing sideways, but still I grow. This last summer was the best of my life, not because I waited for external factors to shift around me, because I made it so. And no matters what happens next - I will carry that with me for the rest of my life.

In 2015, I could not have imagined what I was capable of now. The only possible momentum is forward. I went to school, I moved to California, I joined steemit, I’m working on my book. I’m reading more. Listening to the universe more. The other day I sat outside at the park listening to Chopin, and when I realized I was happy I did not feel like the bottom was going to fall out from underneath everything.

I’m not sure how to end this except...

I used to imagine the inside of my body as a dark place. Cold. Organs inert. Like if someone cut me I would spill out like an already dead lamb, collapse into cooling skin like meat refrigerated for too long.

But now when I think of my body, it’s bursting with momentum and color. Nerve wires sizzle through blood, catching fire. Even in the dark, it’s vibrant, organs inside a forest of patterned, shivering life. It touches the world in spasms of electricity. It builds cities made of molecules and tears them down, second by second, so that I can look through my eyes, feel with my fingers.

It is not only an alive thing, it is everything.

12795346_10208939373385283_2439419767817878919_n.jpg
Follow me on twitter, facebook, or on my website. You can also buy my books here
Stock photo from Pixabay

Some of my other posts you may be interested in:
[Short Story] You Don't Get to Fall In Love: A Gamer's Guide
The Sunlight Hurts My Eyes // Writing Into New Worlds // Personal
My Rules for Writing // Personal // Writer's Journal
[Flash Fiction] The Astronaut in the Interstellar Museum of Sentient Species
Taking a Break From Writing // Known Unknowns, Epiphanies, and Invisible Processes // Writing Journal

Stock photo from pixabay
Self portrait by me canon t51

Sort:  

This is without a doubt, the best thing I've read on Steemit. You are an incredible writer and sharing your experience with trauma felt incredibly intimate, visceral and raw. I know what it's like to deal with long-term trauma and while I haven't used this specific technique, I've been lucky enough to work with some amazing people who have taught me a lot about how to deal with it. That being said, I realized that the big ones -- the trauma that we carry for a lifetime doesn't go away, but it doesn't have to rule me. I had an experience this summer when I was hiking alone in New Zealand and cried so much I was convinced I could die of dehyradation and heartbreak. But I didnt.

These words "I am a burnt out damaged husk but there is something growing inside of me, and every day I nurture it it gets bigger. So I feel like a child and an old person simultaneously" ring so true I shuddered and read the lines twice.

I look forward to reading more.

Thanks so much @sassysandg, trauma can make us do some really strange and terrifying things - like cry so many tears or have the emotional pain hurt so bad that indeed, we do feel like we're going to die or that death would be a relieving alternative.

I am lucky to have a person in my life who helps me with this sort of thing. I am frustrated with myself that I am still functionally "broken" but I know I can't dwell on that if I want to get better. I'm glad you found me.

Don't be frustrated with yourself. We are all broken and find ways to patch, heal, break, and patch again. You're a talented writer. My therapist told me there's a lot of healing that happens through the process of writing. I've found my love of writing again as well.

Deep and beautiful writing. I could pick many words, but these resonated a lot:

I grow. Sometimes I breathe, and it feels like I’m breathing sideways, but still I grow.

The technique is an interesting one. I had not come across that, but makes sense. Thanks for sharing.

The true form of reality is chemical-physical, and you are too.

How you choose to embrace it is your choice, and that's why I advocate for choosing happiness and hope, instead of fear or despair.

Life is so precious, and with only one, you must cherish it.

Yes. Damn woman, you go. You've reached the other side of something I've only been able to dance around, like following the wall, looking for the gate. I've been trying to find a somatic therapist on and off for a while, to no avail. I've learned resourcing though, which is what I think you've described with the two different focuses. Only, the way I learned it was slightly different, and your way seems more powerful. So glad I'm following you...your writing, your experiences, they are good for me to read. Thank you for sharing.

Thanks @uniwhisp. I recently moved to California and have yet to find another somatic therapist that I feel like I'd jive with. I'm still looking though.

I'm glad this writing is helpful to you. Honestly I wish someone had shared an experience like this with me before, because this is a legitimate thing that can happen with our perceptions as human beings, but at the same time might sound like some totally crazy esoteric nonsense. As someone who tries to shy away from "Feel good" nonsense, I have never experienced anything more real and gratifying.

What part of California? I might be able to get you some names. I know folks in the Petaluma-ish area. I'm glad you were able to make this break through, and thanks again for sharing!

snowmachine..what an amazing heartfelt story. I too have had similar experiences. It took a good friend of mine coming from London to pull me out of my depressions and feelings of being alone. Just remember, the past in gone, the future hasn't happened yet, therefore all we have is the here and now. When I feel those feelings creeping back, I simply call my dog, we get in my car and go for a ride to either the beach or simply to town. Exercise and meditation techniques where you learn to simply let go of thoughts and connect with source has really helped me make giant leaps in my progression. Also, friends that truly care are God's gifts! They kick our butts and bring us back to a state of joy and gratitude. Sounds like you have an amazing councilor. Keep doing what yo are doing. ALOHA

Thanks @thethreehugs. I actually just took my dogs out today (We go to the park about 6-7 days out of the week.) Just exploring the simple and vast wonders of the universe is one of the best cures for sadness.

I take my dog Black Bear to the beaches where there are no tourists and let her run her heart out. Getting out helps me and her...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64927.71
ETH 3517.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36