Taking a Break From Writing // Known Unknowns, Epiphanies, and Invisible Processes // Writing Journal

in #writing7 years ago

IMG_1580.GIF

Today was one of those days when I sat down to write and my brain felt like it's fizzling, on the verge of an explosion. I needed to take a break, but sometimes even when I feel like I don’t have the energy to write the engines keep burning. It makes it difficult to accomplish the goal of relaxation when you’re ready to spring at any time. I could sit down with a beer and a pizza and watch “Rich Kids of Instagram” on youtube to try to relax, but my shoulders would feel the tension of work unfinished and when I pressed my thighs together I’d feel the roughness of a match ready to ignite. Then I’d dream of upheaval, the hours would go by as I “relaxed” and then I’d haul my body as it smoked to my computer, to feel I was even more tired than I was before.

For one of my essays I wrote for my UT admissions (I did get accepted, by the way, but California called to me instead) I wrote about how important it was to have playtime, not just in a philosophical sense, or that it’s “nice to take care of yourself”, but because of mental processes that are taking place when the brain is disengaged from its task. Something called the default mode network, which is only active when you’re not focused, solidifies memory and enhances creativity. It’s not noble to work yourself to death, it’s inherently foolish. Think of the brain as bicameral, bifurcated. It needs dreams and waking, night and day, elation and sadness, stress and relaxation.

It’s easy to forget, that every process is purposeful.

Even the ones we don’t want.

Sometimes I wake and cling to a cup of coffee because I feel like if I don’t have something to hold onto, I’ll be thrown off the Earth.

Some days there is no center to me.

I drink gin and brush my hair and I try to force the Californian sunlight to make me into something better than myself.

Donald Rumsfeld, former secretary of state, coined the phrase “Unknown unknowns.” There are known unknowns, things we don’t know, and unknown unknowns, things we don’t even know that we don’t know.

I know that I could improve upon my Spanish, I know that I write too much about crazy mothers and small-town prophets, I know that I panic and freeze in moments of crisis, I can snap at people I love when I feel irritable, I don’t take enough time to appreciate consciousness.

I can work on these things, because I know that they’re there.

But I also know there’s a dark side I can’t yet comprehend just behind me, something mysterious, a void glinting in the shape of my shadow.

And that -thing- whatever it is, might be crucial to the years coming forward.

Except, I don’t know what it is.

That’s where the default mode network becomes crucial. It fills in blank gaps, makes connections that you cannot while you’re stuck staring intensely at a problem.

I know that once I started actually searching for the answers then I found them – epiphany upon epiphany unearthed themselves, like a shower of rainbows that came bursting from my dirty clawing fingernails. Even when I’m not working, the subconsciousness is set upon the answers. There are things I know now that a year ago would have been incomprehensible to me, that if someone had explained them to me I wouldn’t have understood, not until I felt their shape.

I think one of the most difficult things to write about is a character experiencing epiphany. Knowing something you didn’t know before, because all the pieces that you’ve acquired throughout the time before have suddenly converged into a full understanding. Written poorly, it can seem like magic, like the writer trying to force a plot point forward, shoving the character through a hole in the pages. That’s because epiphany isn’t really a conscious process. It’s something underwater and deep, but still, crucial to our understanding.

But oftentimes, it’s really the only way to learn – great effort yielding nothing but dirt and more dirt, and then suddenly-

Jewels and blood, showering you with resplendence, gnosis.

I want to learn how to write about that moment. I think it’s one of the most beautiful human experiences.

And I want more of it for myself.

To turn the unknown unknowns at least into known unknowns. That’s all I’m asking for now.

Tomorrow I go back to write, back to the page with all its mysterious terrors, turning over stones. The perpetual questing machine. Maybe it will yield nothing – but searching always has a way of turning up more answers than inertia – doesn’t it?

Follow me on twitter, facebook, or on my website. You can also buy my books here
gif by me iphone SE

Sort:  

I love your photo. Smart. Creative. Beautiful. Hot. Love your thoughts. I love pizza. My dad drinks beer. Instagram is funny. I love the light bulb effect. Sometimes, we need something or someone strong to hold onto. Thanks for writing. You are great.

Activating this "default mode network" is not something I experienced, not that I noticed anyway, until after I was out of school.

I was a math student, and I kept math as a hobby. I found that a pre-requisite for me is really getting immersed in a problem. In school, I was in too much of a hurry.

As a hobby, I could take the time to get really "frustrated" by a problem. I could look at it long enough to where I no longer needed paper. I could think about it meaningfully even while taking a walk. With this kind of immersion, I started having those sorts of epiphanies.

If you could figure out what kinds of rhythms and activities you need to get that kind of spontaneous illumination of something, I can see how it could be a great advantage in getting tough things done.

I think school encourages rushing through problems, which is how you miss those epiphanies - I went back to college at the age of 26 and started doing my homework well in advance, which was the only time I was really able to ruminate and come up with new solutions. I wish this was more "standardized", there's an assumption that intelligence will yield automatic results.

I suppose universities have their hands full trying to push students through the body of knowledge that is considered the foundation of a certain area.

Still, quite some time later, I was shocked to realize that I had not done very much thinking during most of my schooling. That is of course my own experience. I am sure there is a fair amount of folks who get to that place while they are still in the formal program.

The most exciting thing about writing is a blank page and uncovering what's on it.

Do what you can and let it come to you naturally. No need to stress.

Dr. Goat prescribes that you get some mushrooms and spend the night in a field. It'll tie up all those mental loose ends.

It has been a while

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62274.69
ETH 3366.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43