You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Journal] How I Broke Through The Barrier of Dreams // Cognitive and Disassociation Techniques

in #writing7 years ago

This is without a doubt, the best thing I've read on Steemit. You are an incredible writer and sharing your experience with trauma felt incredibly intimate, visceral and raw. I know what it's like to deal with long-term trauma and while I haven't used this specific technique, I've been lucky enough to work with some amazing people who have taught me a lot about how to deal with it. That being said, I realized that the big ones -- the trauma that we carry for a lifetime doesn't go away, but it doesn't have to rule me. I had an experience this summer when I was hiking alone in New Zealand and cried so much I was convinced I could die of dehyradation and heartbreak. But I didnt.

These words "I am a burnt out damaged husk but there is something growing inside of me, and every day I nurture it it gets bigger. So I feel like a child and an old person simultaneously" ring so true I shuddered and read the lines twice.

I look forward to reading more.

Sort:  

Thanks so much @sassysandg, trauma can make us do some really strange and terrifying things - like cry so many tears or have the emotional pain hurt so bad that indeed, we do feel like we're going to die or that death would be a relieving alternative.

I am lucky to have a person in my life who helps me with this sort of thing. I am frustrated with myself that I am still functionally "broken" but I know I can't dwell on that if I want to get better. I'm glad you found me.

Don't be frustrated with yourself. We are all broken and find ways to patch, heal, break, and patch again. You're a talented writer. My therapist told me there's a lot of healing that happens through the process of writing. I've found my love of writing again as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60270.38
ETH 3307.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40