You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Write?

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

I enjoyed the post. I feel in touch with what your saying. I chose a different profession, but I have always been attracted to writing. It helps me as you said convert thoughts to words, to organize the creative chaos of my mind which is filled with stories pressing against the doors to my fingertips, because they wish to become real, as the written word.
Take Care,
@shortsegments

P.S.
I love the idea of an English translation of Japanese folktales. It sounds like an amazing project in cross cultural writing and understanding. I think it will test your translation skills like never before. 👍

Sort:  

Would you be more interested in reading typical forlktales written in the third person and beginning with Once upon a time, or Long, long ago...

Or would you rather read a more contemporary type of story that remains true to the folk tale story it is retelling?

I think the later. I like to read stories written in the language and style of the era it is from. That makes the stories interesting from the point of view of the story what I learn about how language was used at the time.
Thanks

P.S.
https://steemit.com/mindset/@shortsegments/why-do-we-write

Keeping language historical is difficult. That’s not something I’ve spent much time trying to do. My fear is that using antiquated language will effect the reading experience in a negative way.

I think that is possible and if it gets in the way of conveying the story then I suggest you replace it with modern and easier to understand prose. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67405.50
ETH 3119.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73