I Want to Write with YOU!

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This morning I found an email in my inbox from the director of the Ivy Tech Center for Lifelong Learning. I teach locally through the CLL and love it. My classes are all nonfiction and cover memoir, narrative techniques, blogging and writing after war for veterans. Most of you aren't local to Bloomington, IN. No worries. I also teach online.

woman-2937216_640.jpg

My class for the Center for Creative Writing is a 5 week customized course called Writing through Trauma to Truth. My next session begins January 16. I only have two spots left, so if you have some difficult topics you want to write through safely (or if you just want to learn more about how people engage trauma in writing), now is the time to get signed up. You can do that here.

I do not come to you without qualifications. I mentioned the letter from the CLL director because it included this gem from a memoir student of mine:

“My class exceeded expectations. The instructor is an exceptional teacher and her experience both as a professional and as a human being makes her an ideal writing instructor... The brief 5 weeks I spent as her student have profoundly changed my writing, my goals, and my sense of hope that maybe, just maybe, I can write this memoir.”

I have been teaching Creative Writing one-on-one and in groups for 11 years. I specialize is supporting the release of hard stories, but that can also mean breaking through blocks and finding your voice. I am so happy to be able to teach through the many venues that have hosted me, including the Spring #Write2theEnd WriteAway Retreat. This year I have already taught my first home-based workshop with a co-facilitator. I have a retreat coming up in October, and two others tentatively scheduled.

pencil-1486278_640.jpg

Basically, I love to write with people. I would love to write with you. If you have a story to tell, find me in one of my online homes. Let's build castles out of paragraphs.

Connect with me at The Honeyed Quill.

Take classes (or coaching!) with me online at the Center for Creative Writing.

If you are local, join one of my classes at Ivy Tech in Bloomington.

I can't wait to write with you!

images from pixabay.com

Recent Posts

APP.png
CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Writing can be extremely cathartic and healing; I often recommend it to counseling clients as "homework," but mostly as way to get people in touch with some of the innermost thoughts.

Thank you for what you do, and Bright Blessings to you!

It is deeply therapeutic for me. I love seeing the weight lifted off clients when they work with expressive writing. A couple of local therapists send me clients regularly specifically to support them in creating safe writing habits around trauma. Writing is wonderful. Thank you for counseling people to write!

Useful for Steemit articles, no doubt :) Has any of your student published or printed his/her memoirs? Is that the goal they set to themselves when starting?

I have had several students publish (and be compensated for) essays from the overall memoir they are working with. I mostly focus on safe, generative writing and structure. A couple of clients are approaching the end of their manuscripts and we will be talking about next steps for publishing books versus excerpts.

Oh! I only answered part of your question. Yes, the goal is often a full-blown memoir, but I just as often have clients working on a single story that becomes an essay. They release it, shape it and publish it, and find healing in the process of owning their personal narratives. I think it would be fantastic for people who are writing on difficult topics here. Opening the dam releases a torrent of creativity. :)

With 11 years of experience at your back, you need no further explanation to justify your competency... You must have so much diverse kind of experience teaching all these years...

It's been wonderful to have so much opportunity.

That sounds like it could be helpful for a lot of people. Writing can be a safe way to approach difficult topics. I studied psychology in school, so I find all of this very intriguing. Being creative can certainly be cathartic, so I assume it could be therapeutic as well!

Absolutely! There is evidence to show that expressive writing can be just as or more effective than traditional therapies. We are capable of controlling our narratives on the page. To do so, we accept and own our stories. Then comes the release and recovery. It’s an amazing process. I am always always always grateful to those who trust me to support them in the process.

oh my, i could sense you have great ability to string words together so as to pass on information.

Thank you! That’s such a lovely compliment. 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47