The Night Gods II- Chapter XXI: The Head Of The Snake

in #writing7 years ago

010.jpg
Artwork by @marty-art on Steemit... With many thanks!

Lockhart's funeral was an extravagant affair, attended by everybody who was anybody; including the Mayor, captains of industry and heads of state... a veritable who's who of corruption and megalomania. The sky was ashen, black as sackcloth to add a biblical dimension- it was as if the Night Gods themselves were mourning the passing of one of their own.

The earthly mourners were crammed into tents provided by the funeral home and cemetery, amid a forest of flowers. The Mayor spoke first, followed by the Doctor, then Przybysz... The President, Alan Denning, who was represented by his Press Secretary, Sean Welbourne, who expressed his condolences to all who attended. Maryellen Sullivan sat in the front row next to Lockhart's wife, both clad in black, tearful faces obscured behind veils. It was a ceremony befitting a coronation... a coronation in Hell.

The Council was far better prepared to deal with the death of Lockhart than Denning... he had lost his only powerful ally- but he was still President, Lockhart's funeral was over, he was dead and buried. it had been a week since he had a diversion, although it seemed more like an eternity. Denning called Przybysz...

"Przybysz," he said, "I need you to fetch me a new friend... Someone young, blonde this time, I think."

"No," came the terse reply. "No more, it's over Denning. You've killed your last kid on my watch."

"Who the fuck do you think you are?" Denning spat. "You work for me- Lockhart or no Lockhart."

"No, Mr. President," Przybysz replied sarcastically, smiling. "You work for me now."

Denning's face dropped... he looked like he'd been slugged in the gut. It took him a moment, but he regained most of his composure. "You listen to me you fuck," his eyes narrowed to slits. "You're talking to the President of the fucking United fucking States of America... the most powerful man in the world- When I tell you to jump, you say yes Sir, Mr. President... How fucking high?"

"Are you finished?" Przybysz asked calmly.

"No, I'm not finished," Denning went on. Przybysz' calm demeanor was really pissing him off. "I want a girl- a young girl- blonde... Fuck it, in fact, bring me two."

"Now you listen to me you sick fuck," Przybysz looked Denning straight in the eye, and went on as calmly as before. "Just so there's no misunderstanding here... The Council has met and they've decided- Lockhart's gone and I'm in charge now. No more girls- not now, not ever."

Fuck you and fuck your Council- I'm the President," Denning shouted. "You will do what the fuck I tell you."

Przybysz got up and calmly walked toward the door. "Have a nice day... Mr. President," he said casually.

Przybysz, Przybysz," Denning shouted after him as he walked out, "You're dead you motherfucker- dead... do you hear me."

Przybysz was no sooner gone when Denning picked up his private cellphone and dialed the number of a rundown rooming house in one of Washington's less affluent neighborhoods. He had bigger fish to fry at the moment... there was still the problem of Shoemaker and that cunt girlfriend of his.

"I need to speak with the gentleman in room 9," he told the woman who answered.

"I'll see if he's in. Can I say who's calling?" She asked.

"Yeah, tell him it's the President," Denning laughed into the phone.

"Smart-ass," came the reply. "Hold the line.'

A few minutes a man's voice came onto the line: "This is Eddie," it said.

"Eddie,"said Denning, "you know who this is?"

"The landlady said the president," he laughed.

"Ok then," Denning replied. "I have something for you to do for me. Something right up your alley- something you'll really enjoy."

"Ok. Just tell me when and where," Eddie said back.

Denning gave him Bret's name. After Eddie assured him he knew who Bret was, he gave him the address of the cable station, instructing the killer to follow him home and do his dirty work there. Denning made certain to inform Eddie about Bret's attractive fiancee. Eddie readily agreed, accepting only a minimal payment for Bret... the girlfriend he would do for free. Then Eddie set about doing what he did best- becoming invisible.

Przybysz called Dick and made arrangements to come by the townhouse later that evening- there was much to discuss. Bret, Lena and the Senator were also there at Przybysz' request. The Womacks had flown back to Phoenix for a couple of days to attend to some private affairs.

After telling them he had been fired, there was only so much he could discuss in front of the Senator, who was bound by his oath to report any misdeeds, so the discussion began with legal remedies- the rest would have to wait until he could get Dick by himself... He did, however, briefly describe his encounter with Denning.

"I have several colleagues," the Senator began, "that wish to pursue impeachment proceedings, but they have to begin in the House of Representatives... But the will to bring Denning down doesn't seem to be there- that damned phony war of his."

"Doesn't the letter from Melissa make any difference?" Ann asked.

"Fake news," the Senator said sadly. "The public has the attention span of a gnat... 5 minutes out of the public eye and it's forgotten."

"What about the police?" Jim wanted to know.

"Best police force money can buy," Przybysz scoffed. "All bought and paid for, I'm afraid."

Then came the subject of Lockhart's demise and it's effect on Denning. "That's really why I wanted you all here," Przybysz told the group. "What I told you before, about the children... it's over. I can't go into a lot of detail, but unless he can find another chump... It's over."

"Thank God," Ann said, the relief visible on her face.

"How does it affect us?" Bret asked. "You know what I mean..."

"You can relax a little- at least for now. Not too much- you still need to stay aware, but he's not going to move without my finding out... and even if he does, his options are extremely limited. You still need to stay alert, but if I see or hear anything, I'll let you know."

"Thanks," Bret was relieved.

He and Lena excused them and went to their house, the Senator in tow. Dick, a dog lover at heart, had begun taking Jim and Ann's dog Bart for nightly walks around the neighborhood- it was fun for Bart and gave Dick a chance to survey his perimeter before turning in. On this night, Przybysz decided to come along.

"I've been waiting for this chance for us to talk," he said. "That's the real reason I wanted to come by."

"Yeah," Dick replied. "There's a couple of things I wanted to ask you about."

"The head of the snake?" Przybysz laughed.

"Something like that," Dick said. "Heart attack, huh?"

"Yeah, massive coronary the ME said," Przybysz replied, "tragic huh?"

"Nicotine?" Dick asked.

"Aconite,"Przybysz said. "Amazing stuff- almost untraceable. Looks like a massive coronary... and almost penetrates on it's own- barely need a scratch."

"I'll have to remember that," Dick smiled. "By the way, if you ever get pissed at me..."

"I'm surprised you didn't know- but then..." Przybysz stopped.

"Then what?" Dick asked.

"Metzger," Przybysz replied.

"Metzger... How did..." Dick was s more than a little surprised.

"That had your name all over it," Przybysz laughed. "He was wearing one of these," Przybysz held out his hand to show Dick his ring, before taking it off and replacing it in his pocket.

"I was kinda far away," Dick said.

"Yeah, I know. .308 Lapua boattail... from almost 1000 meters, I heard. Not bad for an old fuck." They both laughed.

"Look Prz," Dick began, "I'm still worried about Denning- Shoe and his girl. They're planning to get married and I don't want to see anything happen to them."

"Neither do I," Przybysz said back. "I told you I'd keep my eyes and ears open... I didn't want to say anything in front of the others, but I'm a little worried too. You keep your eyes open around here and I'll start riding around a little at night- just to help you out."

"I appreciate it," Dick said gratefully. "Jim and David are good with computers and stuff like that but when it comes to..."

"Yeah," Przybysz replied. "I kinda got that feeling. Don't worry, I got your back pal."

"You don't know how good it feels to be on the same side again," Dick patted his old friend on the back.

"Don't go all fag on me now," Przybysz laughed.

"Fuck you."

Przybysz got into his car and drove away in the direction of DC. A man of his word, he kept a nightly vigil, driving unnoticed around Bret and Lena's neighborhood. Often he would encounter Dick and Bart on their evening strolls... driving by unobtrusively, certain that Dick had spotted him. Przybysz and Dick weren't the only ones interested in Bret and Lena's house... they had another observer as well.

Eddie would crouch in the bushes unseen outside one of the rear windows of the Georgetown townhouse. bret and Lean had a hot tub on the ground floor where Lena liked to soak after a long day at the Senator's office. She would get out, towel off and walk nude to the kitchen, for a drink or snack confident the bushes outside shielded her from the neighbor's prying eyes, before going upstairs to Bret. He liked seeing her nude figure coming into the bedroom... she was so pretty. Eddie had her evenings timed almost to the second. He could barely wait until he had the opportunity to sink his knife into her soft bronze skin.

His fingers opened and closed on the handle of his knife as he watched... it was the night he had been waiting for. Bret had been called back to the office that night and the meddling neighbor with the dog had accompanied him. The girl and her beautiful tanned body were all alone just waiting for Eddie and his knife. He was almost beside himself with anticipation. He watched intently as Lena got out of the tub, droplets of water glistening on her golden flesh... The time was almost right for him to burst in on her. He would deal with the boyfriend later- quickly. As he watched he didn't see the figure emerge from the shadows. Before he could react, a hand covered his mouth, pinching his nose. The last thing he felt was the thin blade enter the base of his skull... just before the lights went out.

(For links to previous chapters- go to Chapter XV)

https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-ii-chapter-xv-the-boogeyman
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-ii-chapter-xvi-wars-and-rumors-of-wars
https://steemit.com/writing/@richq11/the-night-gods-ii-chapter-xvii-blood-of-the-innocent
https://steemit.com/writing/@richq11/the-night-gods-ii-chapter-xviii-connecting-the-dots
https://steemit.com/writing/@richq11/the-night-gods-ii-chapter-xix-the-night-the-lights-went-out-in-georgia
https://steemit.com/writing/@richq11/the-night-gods-ii-chapter-xx-a-dangerous-man-part-1
https://steemit.com/writing/@richq11/the-night-gods-ii-chapter-xx-a-dangerous-man-part-2

GIF by @papa-pepper

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gif

Sort:  

great story and amazing artwork, Rich.

Thank you my friend! Marty's art seems perfect for this!

amazing artwork friend it suites with the story.Ill watch out for the next chapter :)

Thank you! He's a tremendously talented artist and we're collaborating on a book!

I was filled with satisfaction when Eddie was killed. If your book can make me feel emotion, then it's a good book.

It's all ok... I was up all night freaking out and I don't do well on no sleep. At this point, I have 2 options- Steemit or a state funded nursing home. If I don't make at least $25 a day, I'm screwed.

Eddie may be gone, but rest assured there's always someone to take his place... And this is a horror story, so you never know when somebody might get resurrected ;-}

dark magic? oooh

Dang, here comes another plot twist, got any more in store? :)

Yup, but you'll have to wait until Sat! I did get another chapter rewritten in part 1 today too!

Denning Killed Lockhart yeah?

It was Przybysz! Just wait... bigger stuff ahead... Also, the guy that did the art and I are goint to put this and part 1 together in a book!!!

Wow!...i cant wait...

And the story continues! And you leave us at critical moment...

Gotta keep you coming back!!!

Yesterday I was too sleepy to read the chapter, so I read it just today, but I have to say that is great to read also in the morning! The suspence at the end leave me without breath ;) Excellent as usual!

It's almost over..., I can't keep this up making $5.00 a post. I can make as much working 15 minutes and pumping out bullshit. I have two more chapters done, so I'll post them. Then I'll go back to posting crap for $$$. That way I can pay my bills while Marty and I focus on the book.

I'm so sorry, dear friend. It's frustrating :(

I'm still going to do the book with Marty. I can make as much doing 15-20 minute posts to pay the bills as I can putting over 8 hours into each chapter. This has turned into the wrong format for my story. I guess nobody's reading it anymore... I only got about 30 votes yesterday.

Great story my friend :) richq11 :)

Thank you!

bro when will you finish this story you are too far to reach if i start reading from the beginning...... so i am waiting for you new story.

You are on a roll these days !

Not any more! Read my last post!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97