The Night Gods II- Chapter XVI: Wars And Rumors Of Wars

in #fiction7 years ago

010.jpg
Artwork by @marty-art on Steemit... With many thanks!

[To everyone that enjoys these stories: I posted yesterday about being in excruciating pain and I sincerely hope that this chapter is up to your expectations. I know I'm no great writer, but I do take a lot of pride in the effort that I put forth in every chapter... I only hope I can continue to put them out with the same regularity- the pain has become nearly unbearable. This is my only means of support, so if you enjoy reading the story, PLEASE consider an upvote & resteem and I'll continue to try to get the chapters out on time. Thank You!]

At the insistence of his advisors, President Imad evacuated the presidential residence and moved to a safe house away from the capital. The air strikes had begun and according to American news outlets, they were overwhelmingly successful, targeting military installations and supporting industries. There were also claims of the IFF training centers throughout the small country being mostly taken out. The reality was that the bombings had decimated two hospitals, both clearly marked with red crosses on their roofs. Also hit in the capital city were several schools, the television and communications center, the buildings housing the seats of government and the presidential residence. Outside the city, the "training facilities" of the IFF included an oil refinery, several mosques and the construction facility for the Chinese pipeline.

President Denning, while addressing the nation, assured victory although the radical insurgents that had murdered the ambassador were dug in and it would likely be a long drawn out process that would take time to complete. He further assured the American people that many key military targets had been taken out by the air strikes. He said that the Orani radicals had evacuated hospitals and schools and were using them as shields for their bases of operation, as well as facilities for storing arms and ammunition. That would effectively counteract videos that had begun surfacing on Islamic television unmasking American atrocities... in other words- for the mainstream media, it was business as usual.

Ground troops had begun a mop-up operation killing anyone that protested. The Orani Army had been decimated during the air campaign and the ground troops, needing justification for being there, began focusing on civilians, beginning with males of military age. People were being rounded up indiscriminately and interrogated as to the whereabouts of President Imad. None knew, of course, anymore than any American citizen could pinpoint the whereabouts of their own president at any given time. In short, it was a slaughter- a near genocide, all to divert attention away from the American president's crimes.

The mainstream media outlets, of course, told a different story... the nightly news were full of gruesome images of the dead ambassador and his entire entourage as well as Attache Lewis. There were daily images of the successes of the American military. The satellite imagery of the "training facilities" in the desert had finally been released. There were also satellite photos of the successful air campaign- the destroyed hospitals neatly edited out... proving the old maxim that the first casualty of any war is the truth.

The alternative media, however, told a much different story. The narrative put forth from alternative sources told of a different war... a war on the truth- one in which Melissa Womack, Maureen Denning and perhaps Ambassador John Stillwell and his entourage were the victims- along with Attache C. Raymond Lewis.

At a small cable news outlet in greater Washington D.C., investigative journalist Bret Shoemaker was in danger of losing another job.

"Bret, you can't go on the air with this, they'll sue us out of existence... we're not talking about some mechanic in Virginia somewhere- Denning is the President of the United States," shouted station manager Leo Rosen.

"And, he's a murderer," Bret said emphatically. "Anyways, I'm not accusing anybody... I'm just asking the question. Besides, when I signed on here, I was given full autonomy."

"Look Bret, I'm not trying to tell you what to broadcast... I'm just asking you to consider the station. If we come out with this the ramifications will put us out of business- and it will come back on you personally. The powers that be will insist that we let you go... I don't want to do that, Bret- we all like you here. It was a big coup getting a journalist of your caliber here. Our ratings have tripled since you've been here. Please Bret, think about the station."

"I'll hold off for now Leo," Bret told the nervous man. "But, this story will come out and I'm going to be the guy that breaks it."

"I'm just asking that you wait until you have the evidence," Leo said. "Something we won't get sued over."

"This is already all over social media Leo... it's just a matter of time before somebody picks it up."

"Social media," Rosen said disdainfully, "nothing but conspiracy theories."

"Just because something's a conspiracy theory, Leo, doesn't mean there's no conspiracy," Bret smiled. "Besides, I have more evidence than you think."

"What do you mean?" Leo asked. "What kind of evidence?"

"I can't go into that right now," Bret said mysteriously. It was working... before ling he would have his boss on board, he had already nibbled at the bait. Leo was a newsman and Bret had piqued his curiosity. "lets just say I have a few sources I haven't told you about."

"Who is it?" Leo asked. "Someone in government?"

"Maybe," Bert winked. "Who said it was one person... it may be a small army."

Meanwhile in a Georgetown townhouse, a small army was hard at work.

"David," Dick said. "I need you to check something. See id our old pal Eddie Phillips has gone back to Boston yet. Check the busses, airlines, hell, check trains too."

"What's up?" David asked. "You still think he was behind Maureen Denning's death?"

"The pattern fits his M.O.... so does this Attache, Lewis." Dick told him.

"I thought that was that Islamic Front," David said perplexed.

"That's what somebody wants people to think," Dick said. "Allahu Akbar on the walls... give me a break. They don't do shit like that except in bad movies. If they had cut off his head, I might buy it... but he was gutted like a mackerel. This sounds a lot more like our buddy Eddie than Muslim fundamentalists."

"Hmmm," David was thinking. "You're right... it doesn't make sense- the IFF hasn't been around long enough to have followers in the United States."

"If there even is an IFF," Dick replied.

"What do you mean?" David asked.

"Ever hear of Smedley Butler?" Dick went on without waiting for an answer. "He wrote a book called War is a Racket. Think about it- this war is just a tad too convenient for Denning. Do you seriously believe Imad is a terrorist? His people love him... Oran has almost no poverty to speak of. Health care for the whole country is paid for out of oil revenues. Does that sound like the work of a terrorist to you? This isn't some dictator with palaces all over the place. Imad owns a modest home and lives in the presidential residence. He isn't trying to get rich at the people's expense... he just doesn't fit the radical profile."

"So you think this war is a scam?" David asked.

"They all are- that was Butler's point," Dick said. "If I had to bet, Imad's hiding out somewhere in the hinterland shaking in his boots."

"If I were him," David said, "I'd split the country."

"He isn't the type," Dick said. "He'll go down with the ship."

Imad's ship was sinking fast. As he hid in the countryside, American troops were closing in rapidly. It was only a question of time before he was discovered... and time was running out.

(For links to previous chapters- go to Chapter XV)

https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-night-gods-ii-chapter-xv-the-boogeyman

GIF by @papa-pepper

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gif

Sort:  

We need more users like you with great, original content. Steem has been flooded with trash posts :/

Thank you... When I came here that's what I thought it was supposed to be. It was kind of back then but it keeps getting flooded with beggars that don't contribute any content at all

Yeah, and flooded with scammers each day too! Doh

I know! It's the beggars that get to me the most though. I've worked hard for my rep on here... I've got about 1200 followers which I don't put much stock in. Every time I post I get comments saying "Upvote and follow me." I've never asked anybody to upvote or follow- I like to think I've earned them!

And they don't even upvote you. When I see that I just write: "Did you know that you can upvote the posts on Steemit too?"
That is common for new users. They do not really understand how the platform works. To be honest, when I joined a year ago my first posts were complete trash and I had some retarded comments too. I just learnt within time what it is all about and what I should do.

What gets me on the most are sycophants who constantly lick spittle whales and dolphins by commenting under their posts or by creating posts that refer to them in the content by using tags hoping that they will read it and upvote them or start following them.

I know... I did a post awhile back about how to succeed on Steemit... Pick a few whales and start blowing smoke up their asses. Nothing like brown-nosing to get ahead!!!! I'll be a dolphin in about a week I hope- but I earned everything I've gotten on here!

woooow amazing story
folled and upvoted ... !!
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@younes31

Thank you!

good story on all thosre past time what do on that country and specially president imad and amaircan president good story sir

Thank you!

Take care & hang in there, brother :)

And a spot on chapter!

Thank you... I think it's coming along nicely. In the next few chapters though, I need to focus more on horror and less on politics.

really sorry to hear about the pain

I know you'll fix bayonets and slog through it tho!

I always do Brother!

I'm really sorry for your pain and I hope you'll be well soon, dear friend! The chapter is an excellent chapter as usual!!! Hugs ^_^

Thank you my dear... I'll be Ok in a couple of days, I'm sure!

So happy to see the great rewards you really deserve! Yeahhhh

Thank you... it's been how I've been paying my bills!

You are good and please don't stop. I got a bit sidetracked recently with too much "stuffy stuff " to take care off

Thank you!!! I'm working on tomorrow's episode right now!

Finally had time to read and reread the past 3 ones and the new one. You might have to be my ghostwriter for "my life" story hahha ....your will probably take it even more deeper and darker than it is already

Dark I can do! I'd be honored to ghostwrite your story!

Congratulations @richq11! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55