[Full Disclosure] I Created a Second Steemit Account - Introducing QuietDeluxe

in #writing7 years ago

I hadn't really considered creating an additional account. I thought this was something people "gaming Steemit" did to upvote their own stuff. 

Then I read this post from @jackmiller where he talks about creating an additional Steemit account for your business. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that I had already created my "business" account and this was it.

When I started this account, I tried a few different types of content, but my tutorials are my most popular contributions. I feel locked into sharing that kind of content that adds value to Steemit and helps my fellow Steemians.

It's not that I couldn't share my personal stories, fiction, or other types of content on my ProWebWRITER account...it just naturally evolved into a non-fiction, how-to kinda place, and I'm cool with that.

So, I went through the process of creating a second account where I can share more spontaneous content. (Because those tutorials take well over 4 hours to write EACH.)

Keeping Things Transparent

While I was waiting for my account to be approved, I originally thought that I might keep it anonymous. I deal with a moderate amount of depression from time to time and I desperately wanted a new place to rid myself of the darkness.

However, I want to be transparent with Steemit so that I can keep myself accountable to this community. 

In my opinion, this is an opportunity and a privilege. As a citizen of Steemit, it is my responsibility to provide value to this community in exchange for the rewards I receive.

I did do a little bit of initial commenting and upvoting between the two accounts, but that has stopped. I have also resteemed a post or two here which I feel fine about. I don't plan to resteem EVERYTHING obviously, but will share the "good stuff".

Writing is My Schtick

I write mostly non-fiction both personally and professionally, so this new account gives me a chance to hone my fiction pen. So, I will use this account to provide value and that one serves up the entertainment.

I'm doing some new-to-me things over there.

I've never entered writing contests before, and I've done two in the last week. Here and here if you're interested. 

I'm also doing a daily post called 13-Word Stories by QuietDeluxe. I'm hoping to turn that into a curated post with participants just like you. Here are the details on that if it sounds like something you'd like to check out.

Thanks for Reading

I follow a lot of writers on this account. I hope you will let me share both of these aspects of who I am as a writer. I don't expect you all to run over there and follow me, but I just wanted you to know I've multiplied. 

Thanks for being here.

Sort:  

I started Steemit with a different account, my fiction-writing persona. This one was for my economics posts. I found, though, that the diversification wasn't helping me grow in either account. Eventually I consolidated my work into one... you may experience something different though, which is the beauty of Steemit!

Interesting. Thanks for sharing your experience. I found myself kind of stifling things I wanted to share, and I felt the extra account would free me to do that. Everything on Steemit is an experiment. I appreciate you taking the time to comment. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65834.37
ETH 3292.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70