๐Ÿ–‹๐Ÿ–‹๐Ÿ–‹ Introducing 13-Word Stories with QuietDeluxe ๐Ÿ–‹๐Ÿ–‹๐Ÿ–‹

in #writing โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Hellooooo Steemit!ย 

As a member of various online writing communities for many years, the _____-Word Story is kind of a staple. I thought I would begin my own variation here on Steemit as a means and reason for creating a daily post.ย 

Why 13? You Know That's Bad Luck, Right?

Is it? Hmmm.ย 

I chose 13 because it's not too long or too short. Rather than something like a 55-word story where you might find yourself manually counting or using extraneous tools, you can count it simply.

As for meanings...I could have chosen 18. In the Hebrew, this is the number of life. Or 55^...which is some magical angel number.

What is the meaning of 13? Perhaps the bad luck comes from the number of people seated at the table for the Last Supper: the 12 Disciples + Jesus. As predicted, Jesus was betrayed by Judas Iscariot.

It just so happens that it's the 13th chapter of the book of Revelation that contains the number of the beast.ย 

More stuff on the number 13 can be found here.

Honestly, it just seemed like a good length. Period. Paragraph.

This Will Be A Work in Progress

Please bear with me, my friends. This is my first time doing a group thing like this.ย 

The way things work could change in the future.ย 

Starting out, I will try to include all of the stories submitted. It may run weekly or daily. I'm just not sure. We will have to play it by ear.

I just want you to know that I may have to switch it up or get more people involved to help if it is popular.

If not, expect my daily posts. I will go it alone.

How It Works

Finally. Writers are so long-winded..or worded. Whatever.

If you would like to participate and have your story appear in in the curated posts I will be putting out at a currently unknown consistent interval, fill out this form: ย <<<SO wordy ^^^

Submit Your Story

https://goo.gl/forms/gr01vKHbfwBrLLuv2

If you've posted your story to your Steemit blog, you can just copy/paste the link in lieu of your actual story in the form.

I'll be notified of your submissions and I'll put together either a daily or weekly post.

Rules and Requirements

Well, obviously, your 14, 10, 6, or 12-word stories will not be accepted. The total and complete number of words MUST be 13.

I'm not a stickler on profanity, but I will not tolerate lewd and crass references to genitalia, people, etc. Keep it general and stick to the old reliables....you know, sh*t, f*ck, *ss, d*mn...you get the idea.

Hate toward fellow humans will NOT be tolerated. Discerning this hatred will be at my sole discretion.

Rules and Requirements are subject to change at any time.

Getting Paid

I am interested in sharing the revenue from the posts with those who submitted and appeared in each post. I have no idea how to handle this part. Can anyone help? <<<<<<

Otherwise, I'll be doing math (which I'm terrible at), and manually sending out payments.ย 

EDIT: I decided the best way to do this is to make the reward a flat fee that will increase naturally should this become popular.ย 

Let's start with a reward of 10 SBD. That's a nice round figure that I should be able to split among participants. If I find a better way or you know a better way to do this. Please let me know!

Plagiarism

Just don't. I will check.

Look Out for My Daily Posts

Regardless of what happens with this, I plan to post a 13-Word Story everyday. If you want to participate, please tag your posts with "thirteenwordstories".ย 

I hope you will consider following me if this interests you. LOVE. โค


Sort: ย 

Where there is love there is life.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Congratulations @quietdeluxe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Interesting. I've put in a submission.

Cool. Thanks! I can't wait to check it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65753.03
ETH 3281.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68