[STACH Short Story Contest #2 Entry] - A Portrait

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I sat sleepily across the table from her in front of a bowl of Rice Krispies. I dug my spoon deep into the floating snap, crackle, and pop and took a bite of my cold breakfast. The familiar voices of Good Morning America chattered from the small color television behind me. 

She pulled a Salem Light 100 from her soft pack and fired it up. She shifted in her chair and grabbed the glass ashtray. She inhaled. Her lips formed the word, "blah" silently as she exhaled the choking smoke. 

I ate on half asleep until the cigarette smoke hung like a lilting fog in the air of the mid-century ranch-style dining room/kitchen. "Get dressed and brush your teeth. You don't want to be late for the carpool," she directed. 

I sank my feet into the vomit-colored shag carpet and disappeared down the hall to do as she'd said. I heard her light another. Six years later she would have to quit smoking due to adult-onset asthma. I can see her sitting there in her housecoat like it was yesterday nearly 35 years later in the rear view mirror of my mid-life crisis.

Would You Like to Participate in this Contest? 

Here are the details - https://steemit.com/stach/@stach/stach-short-story-contest-2-199-words-10usd-prize-pool

Sort:  

Wow. So vivid. You painted all the emotions perfectly. Horrible emotions. I know these too.

Too bad I can't resteem this one anymore. I did the other one.
But I really like this one!

Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. 🙂 I'm itching to write more, but life is busy at the moment. I hope the hibernation of winter will afford me more time.

I hear you. I spent last week setting up an etsy shop which I wanted to do for years. I see this period as setting up all sorts of new things that will then start really rolling in 2018.

Cool! I fired up a Deviant Art account this past week as I've taken to creating wallpapers for desktop and mobile devices. I'm also getting into t-shirts because why not? Actually, I have A LOT of irons in the fire. I'm just waiting for one to get hot. 🙂

Thank you for the re-steem. Good luck on the contest. You have a very nice short story there. I am still amazed how much can be said with so few words.

My pleasure. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56705.83
ETH 2400.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30