The Boy Whose Life Fell Apart: Chapter-2: The Boy with a Silver Spoon in His Mouth

in #writing6 years ago

debbie-pan-745877-unsplash.jpg

(Disclaimer: This book is my original work and this book is a pure fiction. None of the characters or incidents mentioned in this story has relation to any real person.)

The thing I loved most about him is that he used to write me frequently. He used to write back within two or three days of getting my letter. The other penpals I had used to reply me after a month or two. They also stopped writing to me after exchanging a few letters. So after sometime he was the only one I had left.

Slowly I became obsessed with his letters. It was wonderful to read about his life. I had a fascination for books since my childhood. But reading about his personal life was way more different from reading a novel. It was like taking a look at someone’s private diary that nobody has ever read before. I often feel myself lucky that he chose me to share some of the very special secrets of his life that he couldn’t share with anybody.

So this is the next letter he sent to me. In this letter he describes about his family, childhood and the people he grew up with.


My family and My Childhood

Dear Philip,

I spent my early childhood days in Spain. I was born in Germany but when I was about 2, my family moved there. We used to live in a village of the Valencia region of Spain. As far as I can remember, it was a wonderful life that we had there.

Other than my parents, there are some people whom I have seen to live with us, ever since I was born. My governess Natalie, my driver Ahmed and our Chef Enzo are some of them.

We used to live in a big white villa in Spain. It was located in a rural area, surrounded by the mountains and forest. There was a beautiful rose garden around that villa. I used to play there with my governess Natalie. She is Italian and she is the one who raised me. Even until now she takes care of me like I am a child. My driver Ahmed used to drive the car of my father but when I grew up and started to go to school, my father assigned him to me.

He is also some sort of bodyguard of mine. He always carries a gun with him. He comes from a family of French-Algerian descent. He is very tall and he looks strong. Ahmed has three very beautiful daughters. Our Chef Enzo is a man who loves to have fun all the time. He loves to tell jokes and make people laugh.

My mother has two siblings, a brother and a sister. My uncle, the brother of my mother is the eldest among his siblings. My mother was born after him and my aunt is the youngest among her siblings. I have been always very close to my mother’s family but I never heard or met anyone from the family of my father. I heard that my father had a big family. We never talk about my father’s family because he never does and doesn’t even like us to talk about his family.

Now I have something to tell you. I don’t like the way you mentioned me as “the boy born with a silver spoon in his mouth”. It is because I hear it all the time from the other people.

I am sorry to hear that you have a difficult time in your childhood. But to be honest I don’t think it was bad. There are many people whose childhood was even more difficult than you and I have heard their stories. Don’t be angry, I know that I wasn’t in your situation. But I think we need to be positive about our life, right? I hope you will agree with what I think.

So you don’t have a girlfriend and never been with a girl. I think you are pretty shy and don’t know how to talk to a girl. No, don’t be mad at me, I am not having fun of you. It is just what I think about you.

With Best Wishes
Frank

cqueline Thompson.png

Sort:  

interesting story @philipkavan, especially the letter from Frank, do you know about free writing community here on Steemit? maybe you should try it. the message in Frank's letter about being positive is quite interesting, hope that next time he would tell about how to be positive in difficult situation.

lo,the next story will be very positive.It will have a twist very soon.So far everything is normal.What is this free write community tell me.I want to join.

find it in the #freewrite , there is weekly challenge and daily challenge too, you can try to write something that the host asks you to write about. anyway.. I see you are not really engage with other.. do you want me to introduce you to a community that will enrich your experience on steemit? your vote indeed valuable but under-valued .. hehehe, you can find many great posts to vote for.. here the link to my entry Entry For Pay It Forward Curation Contest : Week 25

I featured you in the pay it forward contest this week and I hope you'll get more interesting posts to vote and read

@cicisaja, I was thinking about featuring him and participating in Pay It Forward for the first time, but you beat me to it hahaha! Anyway, I just hope he wins something! :)

😂 @aiyumi .. I wish he could win something..at least he'd found a community that will appreciate his work 😊 don't think too much, find someone with exceptional creativity and post your entry, I will support you with my full vp😉

Thanks a lot,you are very nice.I always get inspired to keep up writing just because of the people like you.

You are welcome @philipkavan😉 you can join the contest too.. you'll meet many people like me in the community

How to join? and thanks for replying.

Great writing. Well done!

PS: I have found your post because @cicisaja featured you in her entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Congratulations @philipkavan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Dear Philip look up @mariannewest for the freewrite ! I found your post through @pifc

Hola @philipkavan, bienvenido llegue a su publicación por @cicisaja , es su entrada al concurso organizado por @pifc

I love your story. You should definitely join up with some of the writing communities here.
I found your post because you were featured by @cicisaja in this weeks pay it forward curation contest.

Thanks a lot for reading.

Dropping by and supporting your post @philipkavan. It has been featured by @cicisaja, as an entry into our Pay It Forward Community's weekly curation contest.

As part of the @pifc community, we would encourage you to check into it!

”Slowly I became obsessed with his letters. It was wonderful to read about his life. I had a fascination for books since my childhood. But reading about his personal life was way more different from reading a novel. It was like taking a look at someone’s private diary that nobody has ever read before.“

You have a nice, natural way of storytelling. I thought this was a very interesting and effective way to lead us in to reading of the letter ...

”I write because you read “

Very good. Did my part! 👍 I hope you will "keep it coming!!"

Thank you for your effort here to add value to our Steem blockchain!

Hello,my dear.It is very nice to know that you read my story with carefully.I write for people like you.

Very good @philipkavan ...

"I write for people like you."

To do what I can to encourage you, please consider today there are tens of thousands of our fellow Steemians, for whom you are writing.

While not all may fully appreciate (or even know about!) your contribution - or mine, or anyone else's ... - collectively we are all adding value, each in our own way ...

And that is to the benefit of every single one of us!

So ... Today, tens of thousands. Tomorrow, hundred of thousands. In the future, millions ... Reflect on that and enjoy your Steem "journey" along the way!

Don't ever give up!! 👍


P.S. If the above were not so, you and I would have never "met," as that is why I am here - investing in my future, putting in the work alongside you and others, for a better tomorrow ...

P.P.S. I know my "team mate" @tryskele would get to it (reading comments below), but to help out, here is a link to our Week 25 - Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

I would encourage you to look into it and see if it is for you ... No obligation, but your "free will" choice! 😉

Thanks a lot.I don't give up but I have lately met a group of writers.I have decided that maybe Steemit is not worth of my energy and effort.Here I barely get noticed by people.This time i was lucky that people like you found me.But it doesn't always happen like that.I want to improve my writing.I need to learn a lot and read a lot.

So I have decided from now I will spend less time on Steemit and focus more on my writing.I will always share my story here for you.Still,I think I won't be posting frequently for steemit anymore as I am doing now.

Thank you once again for sharing your valuable opinion about my blogs and writing.

Talk to @viking-ventures on that, before you decide.

Thanks for tagging me, @tryskele.
@philipkavan, you only joined in August... so, you've been here maybe a month. That's not enough time to develop a good following here.

I actually started with posting my photographs and participating in contests. I didn't even post the first part of my books until I'd been here almost three months.

The advice I read when I first started is that it takes 4-6 months to develop a good account here on Steemit, and I agree with that. I posted every day 2-4 posts daily whether I felt like it or not. I also worked on commenting on other people's posts, building friendships. Finally I joined Discord and started sharing my posts in groups there (this is really important - I wish I'd done it earlier!)

Importantly, I kept on writing in the background, realizing that's what I wanted to do with Steemit in the long run. I have now been producing a chapter a day, six days a week for about six months and I love it.

I'm lucky in that I'm at home full time, so able to put a lot of time into my writing, so I do produce faster than many people - though I also have the disadvantages of having two school-aged children at home to demand my time. So, I try to write 1200-1500 words daily to keep up with my daily posts.

I've scored five curie upvotes now - all on my writing - and each one of those gives enough reward to make me want to keep going. I'm terrible at self-marketing, so I've never sold a lot of ebooks, but the upvotes here on Steemit more than make up for it.

My vote is to give it a fighting chance. :-)

Great story @philipkavan. I have to admit there are so many great writers, I can't keep up. I defnitely want to get the time to go back and read the first part.

As you know @cicisaja featured you in this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. If you get a chance please check us out and consider in joining in. Keep up the great writing.

Hello.my dear,how to join in there?Thanks for reading my post and leaving a comment.

If you want we have a Discord page, but ultimately follow @pifc each week usually Monday or Tuesday the post goes out for that week. Sometimes we do themes but mostly you find people either that you know or don't know and do a curation style posting. I recommend looking at a few entries @viking-ventures, @roleerob, @bengy, and @delishtreats just to get an idea of what we're looking for.

He's in Bangladesh, apparently, so it will generally be Wednesday morning or something like that for him with the results being posted the day after. Occasionally it is early/late, but it's pretty reliable.

That works out very well. The features should have more than enough time for us to judge.

Hi Philip. I couldn't feature you in the Pay It Forward Contest (@cicisaja did it first :P ), but I mentioned you in my last post:

@aiyumi you feature who you want, it doesn't matter if there are duplicates. Week 25 ended Saturday night. What I would do is change yours to Week 26 and make sure you put your link in the Week 26 comments so you get counted.

Oh, I didn't know duplicates were allowed. But the other steemian's post fell a little short on the word count, too, so I guess I can't reuse my feature post for week 26, after all...

Anyway, thank you for the clarification!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60745.98
ETH 2342.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52