Blabbering of mind - Steemit original series | Outside the broadway, it's cold and blue

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

231cr0p7fg.jpg
Image source - digital art created from the author's personal photo

November is not generally very cold here in my city. But tonight is misty and unusually wintry. Generally I can see the city landscape very clear from my balcony in the night but it looks blurred now. Oh! it is really quite dark. Is it a 'No Moon Day'? Not sure! We used to have a 'Panjika' in our home in my childhood. It was basically a Hindu astronomical almanac. My grandmother used to warn us on 'Amavasya' or 'No Moon Day' as she believed that no auspicious work should be performed on that day. I do not have 'Panjika' in my home nowadays but I googled to discover that weather would be remaining cloudy and foggy tonight. Google did not tell me about the moon. Possibly I did not type proper keywords.

It is Sunday night. My neighbour is partying with loud music. Someone is playing guitar chords of Harry Belafonte's 'Jamaica Fairwell'. It is one of my favourites but the party singer here is focused on spreading terror to the listeners with his horrifying voice. Neither I am immuned to such awful singing, nor I am a panglossian to expect that the party would be ending very soon. I come out of my house for a short walk to catch the breeze and the winter chills. Some stray dogs are resting on the empty road, which remained crowded on the week days. It seemed that they were observing my foot steps closely but it was a lazy weekend for them. I did not expect them to bark and they did not.
There was a tall 'Gulmohar' tree a few miles away from home. I did not pass by it since years may be. It used to be covered with flame-red flowers in spring and stood elegantly like a patch of untouched nature. In my childhood, I used to go there along with my friends and collected flowers gingerly. Those were fun days! I walked past the nearest road side tea counter. They kept it open till midnight generally but tonight it was closed. I drove in this road many times but hardly I walked like this. I entered into a narrow lane. The 'Gulmohar' should not be far away. When did I come here last time? Years back...but how many years? Oh no! My memory has become weak. I stumbled near the gate of a long building. This is the end of the blind lane. The place has changed a lot with time. I did not put on my pullover and I the cold breeze was shivering my body. I had to come back.

I could not reach the 'Gulmohar' tree. Does it still exist there? May be, may not be. What was I looking for? It was not supposed to bloom flowers in November! My neighbour's party was over. His guests were leaving the place. I have sleep in my eyes and I do not have miles to go before I sleep. I puffed the last cigarette of the day, sitting in the balcony. It was not a 'No Moon Day'. The pale moon arrived behind the dark clouds in the sky. I had an empty mind. Outside the broadway, it was still cold and blue.

Disclaimer by the author: This is an original writing series. All thoughts are mine and I do not intend to hurt anybody or any sentiment.
Here is the link to my earlier write ups of Blabbering of mind - Steemit original series:
Diwali is coming

Sort:  

I like the stream-of-consciousness feel of this, and the fact that you mention Harry Belafonte.

Many thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Those night walks can really trigger a flow of unfinished thoughts lol, thanks for sharing

Thanks for appreciation

Posted using Partiko Android

Taking a stroll through areas you have not walked in years, triggering memories long forgotten. Pity you did not make the tree @paragism perhaps next time and under a full moon.

Hope so

Posted using Partiko Android

You successfully took me on a cold walk with you in this series. I could also relate to the horrible singing, here in our country it comes in the form or videoke. If there is a party you will be terrorized by your neighbor until dawn.

Thanks. I am happy that people still like freewrite

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting! Going for walks clears the mind. However, living in a busy city, I have not had much relaxing walks. 😉👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Hardly I get it too ☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Congratulations @paragism! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Many thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Many thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been upvoted by @steemindian 👌

Discord

https://discord.gg/r4m3Zkb

Telegram

https://t.me/stemindia


This curation bot is powered by witness @untersatz.
Current VP: 78.76%

Many thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54