Blabbering of mind - Steemit original series | Diwali is coming

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

3lr75fcr9r.jpg
Image source - digital art created from the author's personal photo

Diwali celebration is upcoming. Lights will glitter today evening. Merriment will be expressed by brightness. Thanks to our ancient king Rama who returned to his home Ayodhya this day after being victorious in war with Ravana and established Ram Rajya. My tired soul got a three days block holiday. What else could I expect? It is October and winter is supposed to begin here. Use of AC in my home was stopped a few days back due to cooler weather. Summer is to hot here. I like winter more. I woke up today extremely late in the morning after a sound sleep. I am a lazy guy and the holiday mood made me lazier may be.

Some people were playing Diwali songs in my vicinity. I never heard many of these before. One was completely unheard of and seemed to be a Diwali rap song. World is changing fast and people experiment too much! My whatsapp was full with Diwali wishes from friends and relatives. Numerous Diwali JPEGs and animated GIFs kept on flowing upon my smartphone screen. People hardly send sms texts nowdays. Phone calls to wish during festivals are also rare. I switched on the idiot box to surf news. All news channels were more or less busy to cover Diwali related news. The politicians, saints and actors started to pop up in the news channels to wish all. It seems that nobody wanted to miss the limelight. Diwali is big! News is dull without debates nowadays. So some news channels were airing debates on whether Ram was being politicised in modern India to promote angry Hindutva and war cry. Oh! too hot debates. I had to switch off the TV.

Enough of lazy morning. My child is too active today to push me outside home. She needs crackers. I remembered my childhood when we bursted terrible sound crackers whole evening to celebrate a noisy diwali. Sound crackers are banned today. Green crackers are on sale mainly nowadays. I managed to buy some from the nearest street shop. It is 5 PM in the afternoon. The sun is already chromatic gold. Diwali celebrations will start soon. My wife has started to prepare row of lamps in the balcony of my home. She is placing those far back from the shelf so that their flame do not get killed by the breeze easily and thrust the house into untoward darkness. She still prefers clay lamps rather than using electric lamps on this day. Today's evening should be bright. Very bright! Night should burst with joy. Some guests will be coming. Sweets and dry fruits are already arranged for them. Festivity has arrived. Happy Diwali!

Disclaimer by the author: This is an original writing series. All thoughts are mine and I do not intend to hurt anybody or any sentiment.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Oh nice

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @paragism, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Nice. Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55