Dear Diary: I was on stage for #ElementNight10

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I am not a singer, but my voice could grab your attention.
I am not a performer, but I could make sure you will notice me on the stage.
I am your female host for today! A gentle reminder, please keep all your distractions away and enjoy reading!

Acknowledgment

I am aware that I am an introvert. I am not good with jokes and puns. I like to stick with scripts and notes. I am not flexible with my thoughts. By God grace, I was blessed with this opportunity. Secondly, I would like to thank my partner in crime and my friends who gave me all the encouragement, phone calls and the guidance I need before standing at the best stage in campus. Lastly, I would like to express my gratitude to the committee for their support and trust.

PhotoGrid_1512719313331.jpg

It all started here,

To be frank, I always get to see the posters, banners and fundraising booths in campus, but I wasn't sensitive to it. Its like we were strangers, we walked past each other in the crowd.

From a stranger to an acquaintance, opportunity came to me and said hello.

I would say it's a last minute thing. Five days before the event, my friend gave me a phone call to ask that am I available to replace him in his position be the narrator/host for Element Night event. I was told that the event's performances are all linked with story lines. Plus point, they will provide me the story line script. I said yes to opportunity.

After two days of uncertainty, Assurance gave me a call.

She said there will be a rehearsal in the evening and she would like to meet me in person. When we met, she was super thankful that I was available for the event. She gave me what I needed such as the script, the agenda, and most importantly, the microphone.

We became friends.

The rehearsal was pretty strict. I was slightly scared although the detention session wasn't meant for me. I went there to watch the dance performance rehearsal. Besides, they all need to know who's the soon to be the narrator for this event (winks).

PhotoGrid_1510818286410.jpg

Maintaining this Friendship

Easy to have, but hard to maintain. This friendship requires the commitment of time, energy, and fast learning skills.

Time.

I had to make myself available for rehearsals till late night, even though their main focus was only the performers. The one thing I could do was to sit there to memorize the flow for the performance. At least, my presence gave this friendship the ample amount of security. Moreover, on the actual day of the event itself, I have to be present in the morning to be there for the final rehearsal. I think I did not get enough sleep, but I still gave my time to maintain this friendship.

Energy and Fast Learning Skills

I need to fill myself with positive vibes and energy to prevent myself from throwing tantrum and being a big baby. I knew I wasn't good enough with my vocal variety and dealing my anxiety. I was stiff with my words. My partner in crime saw my flaws, he dragged me out from the hall and gave me a simple training and useful advice so I would loosen up myself, at least a little.

"Answer me, do you actually memorize your answer before starting a conversation?"
"It's the same while you're up there on stage, you don't memorize word by word while you're interacting with the audience."

I manage to get my sleep in wee hours of the morning (1am). I consider myself lucky because I manage to sleepover in my friend's hostel for two nights alone. To be honest, I was physically and mentally exhausted during the rehearsals. Before I call it a day, I wept. I allowed my tears to flow out from my heart because it was heartbreaking to know that I couldn't be as good as I wish to be. Second, I miss Starboy, I miss the one that encourages me to be an emcee for events because he knew I could. I wish I could share this joy with him.

22894389_1940059346232956_2038011243199163499_n.jpg

Heroes or Villains ?

I wore my friend's black long dress and my new heels for this event. I think I looked elegant and in style because of my blue highlights. And why everyone wore like Harley Quin? The reason lies in the theme itself, Heroes. Tell me, what do you expect from a superhero movie? Heroes and Villains. So the storyline goes like this.

My partner in crime (Joker) was the "mastermind" of his evil plans and the performers will be either the heroes or the villains. First, the villains started a war, then the heroes went to defend, the evil plans became stronger, heroes fell, citizens had to work together and save their city, and they succeed, lastly Mastermind was caught and hereby they celebrate the victory.

PhotoGrid_1512718775283-horz.jpg

On the stage Moment

The narration part was taken place behind the curtains. So there is nothing much to talk about. I would say I did a great job for reading them out and the timing is enough for the performers to do their changing and preparations for whats next.

And look, I'm on the big screen! I remembered that I was full of confidence while stepping out from the curtains to the stage. I have no stage fright but I was pretty quiet because I was the submissive one (oops). I just can't think of a joke within a split second. I am very thankful that I get to partner with someone who is well experienced with this. While standing there, I was like a copy machine, learning all his skills and tactics such as how he speaks, what humor he can add into his speech, how to do an announcement with humor and etc.

cats.jpg

Backstage Photos

I think I took a lot of photos with the performers because it is inconvenient for them to carry along their phones. As for ushers, they are pretty busy too with their task. Don't even mention about the committees, they couldn't even take a rest for the whole event. So I honestly felt that being an emcee was the best thing ever. I actually have the freedom to go around and ask for photos.

PhotoGrid_1512719265327.jpg

Goodbye, and Thank You.

I am grateful to have you as one part of my life, a great memory. I will never forget all the things that I learned during the whole week with you. Till we meet again, opportunity and experience. Thank you for adding one of the best values I ever wanted into my 2017.


Shoutout Section

ice-cream.gif

Travel and Lifestyle Blog
No-time-to-space because we haven't explore the whole earth yet.
Thank you @pinstory for this Doodle Avatar of me!
Feel Free to visit her blog and enjoy her artwork!
IMG-20171023-WA0023(size samall).jpg

Recent Posts

  1. (CN) Dear Diary: 他失去了心爱他的我,我失去了不专一的他
  2. (ENG) Dear Diary: A little Death
  3. (ENG) Haraju Cube Sunway Piramid : Grab and Go Style

Sort:  

Jom makan cookies 😀!

Congrats! Maybe I'll catch you on a stage sometime soon?!?

If you'll be performing on stage, maybe there's a chance 😀

fingers crossed

Sounds like you did pretty well. Everything comes with experience, you’ll be a pro with spontaneous jokes in no time. Btw love you hair especially the highlights!

Hello @ladylei! Yea, I think I'm happy with my performance up there. Cant wait for more opportunities so I'll know how to be as funny and entertaining.

I really admire people who can do emceeing. Great job @notimetospace :)

I admire them too, that's why I wanted to have their skills! So I made myself available for the opportunity. Thank you @coloringiship

Wow. That seems like a great experience that brought you a lot of personal growth. How awesome! “...and the most importantly, the microphone.” LOL.

Yes, yes it is! So much experience gained within a week!

Great post!

Thank you so much for reading :)

Great Experience through the year coming toward to see great thing u share over steemitz! Keep on !Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51