5 REASONS FOR PRACTICING DETACHMENT - My original writing and photos for the new weeksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I promised myself to stop giving objects as gifts, for good. Or to buy them. I confess that today, my sole weakness is the photographic gear, although I don't buy it without giving it a lot of thinking first, and never buy the most expensive ones, always trying to get the best value for the money. As for gifts, I will only offer experiences and consumables from now on. The kind of things that get wasted but we hold within us forever.

buganvilias 29 best macro.jpg

So here are 5 reasons to practice detachment:

1st: Objects are not what we get from this life, what we take from this life are the experiences and love bonds. And consumables, goods we can eat, drink, or smell. They are the best gifts we can give and get. Because we carry them, and they don't weigh on us, They're not a load... and even bring us lightness.

estrelicia dezembro 2017 7.jpg

2nd: Eventually, objects are junk. Or they will become junk... if not in the moment we get them (and sometimes they are junk already!), sooner or later they will become useless and have no use at all. And the world doesn't need any more trash, it has enough of it already.

flor encarnada 3.jpg

3rd. The so-called luxury items, the ones everyone dreams about, like bags, shoes, jewelry, watches, cars... they mean nothing to me anymore. I can't even give a second thought about them when I realize all the problems in the world. How can anyone be fascinated by an object at all? And how much better it is to spend the same amount of money in a trip, with a backpack and a wearing comfortable footwear that can take us to the top of a mountain and, once there, look at the stars?

flor roxa 4.jpg

4th: Objects stuff our lives and hold us attached to them. How often do we stop doing something we love just because we have to pay an installment, or get a bigger house, with basements and so on (to store the stuff!)? All of these representing a financial burden, only to have a bunch of things that literally are of no use at all, to the point we even forget we have them?

palms 3 macro.jpg

5th: Last, but not least: having too many stuff becomes an overdose, it's intoxicating. It's like the kids who get dozens of Christmas presents and end up not valuing them properly, they just stay abandoned after a while. This ends up raising some indifference for what really matters in life. And make us forget the fact that not everyone in this world is as privileged as we are. We all know about it, but we keep forgetting that.

leaf 1 macro.jpg

That we should think about the others, about the people in need in this two speeds' world whenever we look at the shop-windows.
That, could we afford it, we should give and get, yes, but things that we can eat and drink. And experiences and love.
The kind of things we keep and hold forever.

Isabel
www.isabelnolasco.com

Photos: The best gifts of nature.
Taken with my Canon EOS 5D MKIII, edited with Lightroom.

​Have a wonderful week ahead, my friends :)

​If you liked this post you may like these also:

https://steemit.com/writing/@nolasco/slow-life-my-original-writing-and-photos-for-the-weekend

https://steemit.com/writing/@nolasco/write-down-your-thoughts-always-my-writing-and-photos-for-the-mid-week

https://steemit.com/writing/@nolasco/the-owners-of-the-truth-my-writing-and-photos-for-the-new-week

Sort:  

I love the photo quality and couldn't agree more about the waste of consumerism gone mad. So a great post upvoted and resteemed

Thanks, my dear @sallybeth23, I'm happy you liked it and pay it attention. Cheers, my friend!

Lindas fotografias :) Um beijinho e boa semana!

Muito obrigada, querida Cris! Um beijinho e boa semana para si!

This is sooo true, especially p.3 and 4 - that is what I am talk about to my daughter. Human don't have to be an object's slave.

Oh, I'm happy you agree and try to influence your daughter. I did it with my kids also when they were young, and they have learned it well!

The difference between what we do and what we are capable of doing would suffice to solve most of the world's problems.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Great Gandhi. Thanks for bringing him here!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thanks, my dear Pix!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55