Galera, Spain

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Galera Spain


Galera, Spain

I spent a few days in the Spanish 'outback' at a town called Galera, in the southern province of Andalusia. It's in a very rugged and wild landscape. It very much reminded me of parts of Australia, except in a land that has a European style history going back thousands of years. Galera itself is a very traditional style pueblo, with the difference being the hills on the edge of town are full of cave houses.

Ten years ago most of these were unreformed, but there is a lot more interest in the area these days so the number of cave houses that are completed and inhabited is quite high. Yet this area is so quiet compared to the 'tourist ghettos' of the coast (I read this description in a book about Spain recently, and it is quite apt).

enter image description here
Town houses overlooking the town square in Galera

Where I am living now has so much going for it, but it isn't the traditional or typical Spain. It's more like little England, with pockets of other European nationalities here. You actually could live here without knowing, or speaking, any Spanish. That doesn't interest me.

enter image description here
View from the Hotel in Galera

I loved being in Galera. So quiet, peaceful, and traditional. And the local Spanish are very friendly. The fact that my wife speaks enough Spanish to converse certainly helps. If they see you making an effort then they welcome you like friends. I can greet people in Spanish, and say a few other basic things, but that is about it. I will be getting back into Spanish lessons asap.

enter image description here

enter image description here
Two views of the different styles of cave houses in Galera. The beauty of these type of houses is that temperature inside is always a consistent 20 -22 degrees Celsius all year round.

One thing that I have noticed about the Spanish people and their culture that really intrigues me - and I noticed this last time I was here also - is how they handle emotions. They can seem abrupt, loud, passionate and expressive. That is them speaking their mind. Yet once it is expressed they move on. There is no bottling up, or suppressing of emotions. It has got me wondering about the percentage of Spanish people that suffer serious illnesses like cancer. I know one of my core issues is bottled up and unexpressed emotions. It's a very Anglo culture thing. And all that does is breed resentment. So I will try to be more Spanish in that regard. Express, move on. No ill feelings. Not as easy as it sounds.

I read that the Spanish never resort to fist fights to settle things, such as road rage. They certainly have road rage - horns, swearing, and the like. But that is it. Express, move on. Where I am from it often turns to fights, weapons, etc. It breeds resentments, leads to a feeling of needing to 'settle the score', and other unhealthy emotional states.

enter image description here
Overlooking Galera, with the mountains in the background.

There is an expression here that I hear a lot - tranquillo. Literally be calm or quiet. Chill out, in other words. From the word tranquil. As well as the expression no pase nada which literally translates as nothing happens, but in most contexts is more like no problem, or - very similarly to the Australian expression - no worries. It's often abbreviated to nada.



All images are my own.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

#@naquoya



Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge
The Man In The Mirror
The End of the World [Part 1] [Part 2]
The Locked Room
The Gods of Love and War [Part 1] [Part 2] [Part 3]
Blasphemous
Jonathan and the Dance of the Leaves

Songlines - Short stories inspired by songs.

When the Levee Breaks
Crossroads
Heart's a Mess
It's So Easy

Sort:  

Oh mate this looks wonderful! To this day, I still believe that the Philippines would've been better off if we were still under Spain. Of the many invaders, I truly believe our country would've thrived with them. No offense to the other conquerors.

Spain remains one of my Top 3 places to retire in, and scenes like this only strengthens that. One of these days I'm going to make my way there. That kind of express and release mentality is what I strive for as well. You know that we're similar in terms of bottling up negativity, so it's great if we would be able to adapt that kind of attitude towards resentment.

I read that the Spanish never resort to fist fights to settle things, such as road rage.

What an apt time for you to mention this ;) Tranquillo indeed, mi amigo. Tranquillo indeed!

I guess you can't choose your conquerors. But I think Spanish culture has a lot of things going for it. Is there much Spanish influence left in the Philippines?

As a place to retire it has so much to offer. It is actually a reasonably cheap place to live, by western standards. And I have seen a lot of good quality real estate here for between 100,000 Euro and 150,000. For a two bedroom apartment. A beach house near me for under 500,000 (some a lot under). In Melbourne I would have paid over 650,000 just for a two bedroom apartment. The prices are out of control.

Here I can get a beer for 30 cents at the Supermarket, compared to $5 at home. Or $1.50 out at a bar, compared to over $7.

I hope to learn a lot from the Spanish about how to be. Tranquillo is a favourite expression of mine. A very good reminder.

Oh, there are tons! From the language to the architecture to the food. We're like Spanish meets Asia, much like how Indochina countries are French meets Asia.

It is actually a reasonably cheap place to live, by western standards.

So what you're saying is that it's still expensive for me? Hahahaha!

G'day. I'm sharing this with my Daughter who is backpacking around Spain.
Thanks for the post.

G'day, yes share away. I hope she gets to see it. It's about half ways between Granada and Murcia, if that helps her in anyway.

I'm sure she will know straight away. She seems to be right at home over there. Thanks for the post.
Rhiannon should really start her own travel blog on Steemit - it would be very cool!!

She should start a travel blog (if that's her thing). There are a lot of hidden areas people don't normally see in countries like this, and being on the ground and exploring puts you right there in the midst of it all. I hope she continues to have a great time.

Which part in Spain is this place? What is the nearest airport? It looks awesome. I can almost imagine it's regular market days.

This is in eastern Andalusia (southern province of Spain), about halfway between Granada and Murcia (each of these cities have airports). The markets here in the traditional Spanish towns are great. So much life and produce.

I know. Got a colleague from Grenada. Ive only visited Barcelona and need to visit a few more. Will u be on steemfest in Lisbon? Ryanair got cheap flights from Spain or easyjet.

I'm hoping to get to Steemfest. Not 100% certain yet, but working towards it. How about you?

Flight is sorted, buy my work leave needs approval as we speak. Then registration after hopefully. It's a 6 days off so I can't register till everything is sorted. I hope there's no deadline to register.
Hope ure well and to see u in Lisbon.

Gorgeous! I'd love to visit Spain one day. Knowing me though, I'd probably spend the whole time in flamenco classes lol.

That phrase "no worries" is so common in so many cultures that I'm starting to wonder just how old it is... perhaps it's ancient. ^_^

It is a gorgeous town. Lots of flamenco around. Even down at our local shopping centre.

The no worries phrase is universal, isn't it. I wonder if anyone has traced it back to some sort of origin?

Ooo, the origin... I'm curious now... might actually have to look into it. ^_^;

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Looks like a beautiful place.

It really is. Both the surrounding landscape and the town.

The cave houses are fascinating, and very clever! The rest of the town looks quite crowded and built up? It looks very lovely.

The old part of town is very compact, more so than crowded. The houses are small, but built up, and the streets are very narrow. But there would only be a population of 500 or so. Then there are the cave houses, and newer part of town. But it all has so much character.

The cave houses are my favourite though. Especially the internal climate and comfort. Even in winter, where it does snow in the town for a few weeks, one log on the fire is all that is needed. Whereas in Ireland where my wife is from, she tells me a fire is needed all winter, and sometimes on many evenings the rest of the year.

Sounds awesome. It's only a couple of weeks into spring and it is 34C here. Places like Ireland would not suit me as I can't stand overcast cold weather! Sun and cold is perfect!!!

Its still very warm here at the moment, but inland Spain can get cold in winter (later in the year). But yes, sunny almost all year round.

Bienvenido/a a Steemit! El mayordomo de la comunidad Hispanohablante te saluda!!

No te olvides de poner el tag spanish en tus posts.

Si tienes dudas acerca del funcionamiento te invito a que leas las Steemit FAQ:
Steemit FAQ #1
Steemit FAQ #2

Hemos creado tambien un chat en discord donde interactuamos los unos con los otros y nos promocionamos.

Chat @cervantes en Discord !!!
Y no te pierdas los audioconferencias entre los miembros cervantiles y los canales de promocion por categorias

https://discord.gg/pDDKJ92

Tambien estamos en Steemitchat https://steemit.chat/channel/HispanoHablantes

CONCURSO CERVANTES: Regalamos un viaje al SteemFest2 al finalista
valorado en 2000 SBD!!!

https://steemit.com/spanish/@cervantes/concurso-cervantes-4a-semana-paco-de-lucia



No te olvides de votar @cervantes como witness en esta pagina:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses


Este bot de bienvenida fue creado por @moisesmcardona para el equipo @cervantes basado en el script original de @felixxx

Hi @naquoya, I haven't been on Steemit as much as I used to for a while, life seems to have overtaken my Steemit obsession :-)

You sound as though you are having a great time, are you staying in Spain for a while or just travelling through?

Hiya, sorry to take so long to get back to you. Haven't been on the internet so much lately. Yes, I have moved to Spain, with my wife, to be nearer to her family (they are spread out, both in Spain, and Scotland).

How have you been doing? I hope to settle into a routine one of these days, then perhaps back to regular Steemit posts. One of these days.

Great to hear from you, I hope you are enjoying your adventures ☺️

I Haven't been on Steemit as much as I used to be, it is hard to keep that intensity going.

Looking forward to reading intermittent posts.

Take it easy and don't leave Steemit, I think that there would be a lot of people that would miss you!

nice

followbcak me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51